We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“restful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“restful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have stayed at santa barbara once before and this time was just as good. I always look at trip advisor first for a few tips and was glad i did, A good tip was ask for a high floor, sea view, south or west wing, so we rang 2 weeks spoke to a lovely lady called victoria on reception and did just that and, we had a lovely apartment on the 6th floor, 605, it was light and airy, spacious, bright, had a flat screen tv, dvd and cd player, all the rooms were spotless, had plenty of crockery, cutlery, pots and pans, microwave, toaster and so on, bedroom had plenty of drawers, hangers, and space to put things, bathroom had plenty of towels, hair dryer, and the complimentary toiletries. Had a long balcony, didn,t get the sun until the middle afternoon but, we were out everyday in the mornings so it didn,t matter to us, the sea view wasn,t the best
as it was in the distance but it was still a nice view. It was the last room on the corridor away from the lift but that was good for us as it was quiet. All in all it was a lovely apartment and would stay it again. The check in was effortless, victoria arranged the transfer bus for us 14 euros, it was waiting for us so we were at the resort in no time, We arrived at about 13.00 and we checked in straight away as our apartment was ready. No hassle at all. Santa barbara is a lovely resort, very clean, plenty of water if you like to swim, there are a few bars and restaurants about but not many, san blas which is a nice 15 min walk or 5 mins in a taxi has plenty of nice bars and restaurants, and a night club, and souvenir shops, bank, jeweller etc, and for those sports mad people don,t worry there are some sports bars, there is also nightly entertainment at san blas. The bus service i don,t think is very good but, there is one so be patient. We had cause to ring reception twice while we were there, re: broken iron and light and both times they were fixed straight away. All in all i would recommend both santa barbara and sunset view, we have never stayed in the country club so can,t comment on that resort.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor, seaview south or west side, try to stay away from the north side lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chelsea46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    611
    151
    56
    32
See reviews for
627
768
36
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelynt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the Santa Barbara In march 2012,it was very close to the airport we paided £12 each for transfers (both ways) and arrived at the hotel about 4pm, we were in room 816 and wasnt told about lifts so dragged our cases up to the top floor but once we saw our room the walk was soon laughed about and forgotton. Our room was clean spacious and well equipted with everything we could need and had a fantastic sea view. other reviews had advised us not to shop in the hotel supermarket as it was cheaper to go to the supermarket up the road but for a week and just for the two us we found it fine, cartons of wine and sangria for 1.33euros were a bargain and tasted lovely. The area is quite quiet but still plenty of lovely restuarants to eat in. If your wanting to travel out from Golf Del sur use the buses they are so cheap you will pay alot more for a taxi. Overall we had a fantastic time couldnt fault the hotel and its staff would deffinatly go back again and you MUST GO to Siam park great fun for all ages.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were delighted with the reception area, hotel decor and friendliness of the Reception staff. Our appt was very spacious, with a large balcony, and well equipped. The first problem we had was with our rental car - I was asked to pay extra to use the hotel car park (not detailed as an extra), then had to manoeuvre my car through a tiny underground car park.
We raised concerns about an infestation of ants in the bathroom, that appeared to be spreading throughout the appt, yet nothing was done until the 4th day when my wife marched up to Reception, and sat our 11 month old baby on the desk to show the staff the ant bites he had suffered. Even though the Duty Manager argued that there wasn't a problem (!), we were given 20 mins notice to get out of the appt while they fumigated it. That sorted the problem so we did have 3 days ant-free.
The biggest problem I had was with money being stolen from my wallet that I'd left in the wardrobe. It was not locked in the safe (again charged extra, not detailed on itinerary), but given that we didn't have many valuables that we left in the room during the day, we didn't take the option - big mistake! I reported the cash stolen to the manager, who was apologetic, but quite defensive. I narrowed down the timescale to a few hours, so they could check the system for which housekeeping/janatorial keys were used during that time & reasolve the matter. I was promised a response within 24 hrs. No response was forthcoming, and the manager was "in a meeting" each time I asked for an update. The only update I got was that they were still investigating (when I checked out). Not best pleased.
My advise would be to avoid this hotel at all costs, but if you're unfortunate enough to have already booked, pay the extra for the safe and inventory-check your personal belongings every day...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kieran Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
We are sorry to read that there were aspects of your recent stay that did not meet with your expectations.

We are concerned that you were not aware of the car-park charges at this resort prior to your arrival, although we must advise that this information is available on the Fact Sheet for the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, which can be found on our website.

It concerns us greatly when our guests feel they have cause for complaint about the standard of service they have received, and we sincerely apologise for any unhelpful behaviour that may have been shown by the resort staff in connection with the issues you experienced during your stay.

We are sorry to read of the situation you encountered with ants in your accommodation. The resort does take preventative measures to reduce the appearance of these insects, and while this is something that is very difficult to completely eradicate, we would like to reassure you that the situation is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff. Ants found within the apartments are usually eradicated by the use of a spray; however more extensive measures were unfortunately needed for your particular apartment, which meant the involvement of the external fumigating company. We are very sorry for any disruption caused to your holiday by this incident.

We are also extremely sorry to read of the disappearance of money from your accommodation during your stay. We would explain that incidents of this nature do unfortunately occur within holiday resort complexes as they do within domestic housing. We feel that adequate measures are being taken to ensure that all guests are provided with suitable protection against these sort of incidents, such as the facility of safe rental, security patrols and an alarm system. It is regrettable that the security facilities which were available to you were not used on this occasion - we are confident that had they been used as recommended, it would have prevented this incident from occurring.

We are very sorry for any disappointment you experienced during your holiday. We do hope that you will choose to return to the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, however, and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
163 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Highly recommended for a transit night to or from the airport. But stay here for a few days and enjoy high comfort for a reasonable rate. Large, very comfortable and well equipped apartments with balcony and sea view. Pool facilities superb. An ideal place for families.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just returned from a week at this lovely resort, and already want to go back! The apartment (see photos) was modern, had a beautiful sea view as requested (759), and was absolutely spotless.

We ate at the hotel on a number of occasions and the food was excellent (my partner is a chef and extremely critical of food but he loved it!), and on the one occasion that something had to be altered, the staff couldn't do enough.

Overall, the restaurant and pool bar staff were wonderful. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, which really made our stay great.

The resort is pretty quiet, but not boring! We are a young couple and really enjoyed our stay, and it seemed others like us did too. Las Americas and Los Cristianos are easily accessible by bus or reasonably priced taxis if you fancy visiting somewhere a bit more lively.

There's a lovely coastal walk behind the hotel, with great views. Also, in our opinion, there is a slight smell at the front of the hotel occasionally, but it's not normally noticeable.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday, can't wait to return!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

bought one week in a self catering apartment (which had absolutely everything one need to live) and when with my teenager daughter and her friend as well as with my friend. We spend the second week in January there, which was a perfect scape from the cold winter here. the weather is lovely, but the review in here is about Santa Barbara, yes? So, fantastic place, with the most welcome stuff ever! great nigh entertainment on the hotel. Easy access to the bus service that can take you anywhere in the island. the restaurants around the resort are not great (British- like, nothing against but as you are in Tenerife, you expect to eat local food) but you get a real sense of canarian food with just 20 minutes walking away from the resort, in a village called Los Abrigos. If you fancy night clubs, easy too! jump in the bus or take a taxi and in 15-20 minutes your are in Las Americas! lots of nice restaurants and parties!

Room Tip: almost all rooms have balcony and the sun visits all of them at some point in the day! if you like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gislene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We are a young couple and just back from 1 week staying at the Santa Barbara. I had read some mixed reviews about this resort. However, I do not have anything bad to say about it. Excellent location if your looking for quiet a relaxing, with or without kids (not for the young and lively)
So the resort: Clean comfortable, great facilities (laundary, gym,sauna and all the information you need) there was a great restaurant and staff were very accommodating. I did see some comments that there was a smell from the left hand side of the resort, yes this is true but not enough to turn your stomach.

There were decent bus links into main areas such as Los Cristianos and Las Americas. Golf on the doorstep and a great Irish bar with entertainment just 2 mins away, there were a selection of italian, indian and mexican restaurants close by overlooking the see.

Room Tip: Right hand side if you are fussy about smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are really pleased that you decided to visit the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that you enjoyed your stay. We have a constant program of improvement at the resort and our aim is to keep getting better and better.

We hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
29.8 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
61.0 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
1.1 km away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
12.6 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
15.2 km away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#28 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing