We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A mixture of old and new.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Cottage

The Swallows Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Swallows Cottage
The kitchen looks on to our garden The lounge with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
The Swallows Cottage
The kitchen looks on to our garden
The lounge with open fireplace
The garden with picnic table
The bathroom
The main bedroom
Second bedroom
Looking out over the garden from the main bedroom
French doors open on to the garden
The garden from the fields behind
The cottage is in the infamous lane known as Shitterton
Swallows cottage looks out on to open fields to the rear
The Bere Stream, two hundred yards along the lane
Rope swing on Bere Stream
Man o' War Bay on the nearby Jurassic coast
Durdle Door is one of the closest coastal beauty spots
Swallows Cottage in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bere Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rayben1
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A mixture of old and new.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We recently stayed at Swallows Cottage for a week because we used to live in another part of Dorset and we wanted to sample a different part, more quiet.
The cottage itself is a mixture of new and ancient, the kitchen, bathroom and toilet are new and the rest is ancient, very much down to taste. The kitchen is large and well equipped with French doors out into a good sized garden with a solid well built sun room, and field views. The bathroom and toilet are good but I would have preferred a shower cubicle instead of a bath with a shower in it. It is a bit difficult getting in and out of the bath in the small space. In the old part of the cottage the most difficult thing is the stair case which is very steep and goes around through a low door frame in a half circle to upstairs, if anyone has any mobility issues they would not be able to get upstairs. I am 6ft 2ins tall and I had to duck under every doorway in the old part of the house. There is no toilet upstairs and so you have to go downstairs and through the house if you need one at night. The furniture although very quaint could do with some renovation or replacing, a few pounds spent on ebay would do wonders. (note to owner). Also a television large enough to view properly would not go amiss. There is B.T. wifi which is quite fast, we found ourselves watching programmes on our laptop as they were better, but really you go on holiday to get out, not watch telly.
There is a small store, a post office and two pubs in Bare Regis oh and a church. We found that the food prices in the area were high, all of the pubs charge restaurant prices and there are no fast food or take away venues. I say this because we live in an expensive part of the country but pub food does not cost as much as in this area. If you take your family out for lunch or dinner, expect to pay a lot for it. Lulworth Cove is the nearest place to visit but parking costs £3 for 2 hours.
There are places to visit like Sea Life in Weymouth but again expensive for what it is, you can get vouchers on line to get in cheaper but you need access to a printer to print them off, not very convenient when on holiday. We had a good half day at Monkey World, that is reasonably priced and well worth the visit, the television coverage has obviously done it good.
We had good weather whilst we were there, there are some good walks, we like walking and so it was ideal for us but we felt that there is not enough there for a second visit.
The big spiders are very friendly, one came and sat with me to watch television one evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark M
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Cottage in the perfect location”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A lovely looking cottage set amongst equally lovely thatched cottages in a quiet location away from traffic. For us the cottage was perfect. Ideal for our 2 Labradors with an enclosed garden easily accessed from the kitchen/diner. Whilst on the subject of the kitchen, it was very well equipped and in very good order. The kitchen is very roomy and ideal for the family to spread out and relax. A lovely bathroom with a second toilet downstairs. The living room is very spacious with a cracking old Inglenook open fire (We didn't have need to light it thankfully). For those who want a sing song, there's a piano though slightly in need of tune. The upstairs master bedroom is spacious but the second bedroom would require some good teamwork when manouvering, not a lot of space. Large wardrobe but no other storage space. Extra space available in the Summer Room outside which also has BBQ, tent, sun shield, a few rackets etc. The location was ideal. 17 miles south and you find fantastic beaches, many dog friendly (Check online as time of year alters your doggies freedom) There is so much to do and see with both the Monkey World and Tank Museum within 6 miles of the cottage. Places recommended - Compton Acres, Corfe Castle, Lulworth Cove & Durdle Door. So much more. The two pubs are both 5 minutes walk. We found the Royal Oak to have very nice food. For an upmarket meal, try Hambro Arms in Milton Abbas. 15-20 minutes north, fab food and menu! Our dogs loved it and so did we. This cottage could create a problem for people with disabilities. Very steep stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance of the cottage and location
Liked least: The rain on our last day!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryton on Dunsmore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Smelly sun room, fusty old books made it smell old. Could be a lovely play room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LambertCh...
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A sweet cottage within walking distance of two pubs and small supermarket. Modern bathroom and we particularly liked the kitchen/diner which was ideal for family and had doors to garden. All appliances worked well (we did not need the washing machine). Open fire in living room with plenty of wood outside. We were lucky with weather so ate outside some of the time, We had some lovely coastal walks - helpful maps were in the cottage for our use. This is an old cottage and storage space upstairs is very limited and stairs are awkward for anyone with a mobility problem. Whilst appreciating this is a holiday home and family and dog friendly we thought the living room carpets and sofas were due for a thorough cleaning - perhaps at the end of the season. We enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general location
Liked least: Living room which was a bit dirty
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great walk to Corfe Castle
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds and it's perfume
Liked least: Electric Hobs
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing