We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Heather's Lodge(Cheshunt)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Chesnut Lodge(Cheshunt)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
237
288
203
136
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
288
203
136
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmansion housefree tea and coffeelovely groundsthe main hotelbuffet breakfastbar foodenjoyable stayplenty of parkinggood nights sleepweddingtheobaldsenfielddiscostablesteasmotorway
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 944 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

From reception to room a very good experience
The grounds are a pleasure so why is the restaurant in a cave like room
Only window looks out on the bins
Come on De Vere use what you have
And make dining a better experience

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theobalds E, General Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Peter S,

Many thanks for your feedback. Whilst we cannot relocate the restaurant your feedback has been useful in us looking at ways we can improve the dining experience and this is being looked at by our operations manger and food and beverage manager who are in the process of launching a new menu for the spring and summer season.

Many thanks for taking the time in proving your feedback.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Our room on the 1st floor was spacious, quiet and the largest bed I have ever slept on! Very comfortable and clean. I never managed to work the shower, that was a mystery to me how you can manage to switch the shower off without washing your hair, which I didn't want to do. Unfortunately our lights could not be switched on at night as a fuse must have blown and groping around in the bathroom wasn't ideal either at night or the next morning when my hubby was trying to shave and I was trying to put make up on. In all fairness once we told reception they got it working as soon as the maintenance man arrived while we were in breakfast. These things happen. A very corporate feeling to the hotel, and did not see any families at all.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank maggie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theobalds E, General Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Maggie G,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay and thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your experience.

Apologies for the issues you experienced in your room although I am delighted that this was seen to promptly by a member of our maintenance team.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

A nice hotel but not quite 5/5. The rooms are comfortable and most of the staff are really good. Overall we enjoyed our stay but there were a couple of hitches. I could not find a disabled parking space and had to park quite a distance from the hotel. I don’t know if there is another entrance but there are a few stairs leading down to the main reception. Staff were outstanding until breakfast. We waited to be seated while a member of staff gazed off into the distance. Eventually he was told by another member of staff to deal with us. He then told us (wrongly) that we were having the continental breakfast. I asked how much extra for a full English and he did not know!! I spoke to another member of staff who told us to help ourselves from the hot buffet. There were problems with where to sit as most of the tables were reserved. We mentioned this to a member of staff who just took all of the signs down. The only other problem at breakfast was a fork had a tone bent back in such a way it actually cut my mouth.
Overall we had a good stay but some of these things did spoil it for us.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tubeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theobalds E, General Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear tubeway,

Many thanks for your response and for taking the time out to let us know about your recent stay with us.

Your comments are valuable in ensuring we can strive to achieve the best in customer service and our operations manager is looking into the issues you experienced at breakfast.

Sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and rest assured that this feedback has been useful to further improve our offering.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Booked this for an overnight business trip. Room was nice but a little tired in places, needs a re paint, corroded shower fittings and damaged scuffed furniture. Nice touch of water, hot choc and kit Kat. Bed comfortable but very poor sound insulation. I couple everything the person in the room above was doing in their bathroom!
Dinner was ok, an average burger and a frozen lemon tart. Service was very attentive In restaurant.
Would be better if breakfast started earlier, 7am is a little late.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theobalds E, General Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Vanessa W,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with feedback the details of which have been discussed with our management team. We are currently reviewing our opening times for breakfast and our room care plan for the maintenance and upkeep of bedrooms has been prioritized to the room that you were staying in to avoid similar comments from other guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Found this hotel very good value for money. Free parking, quiet countryside location. The building and common areas are beautiful and full of history. I stayed in a single room which was clean, very well equipped and bed was very comfortable. They have free coffee and tea available at coffee points dotted around the hotel and a decent restaurant. The only negative feedback I would have is that there was a massive gap underneath the room door and breakfast which was very ample with a lot of healthy choices only began at 7am at which stage there were quite a few people waiting to go in. Please cater for the business traveler and start 6 or 6:30. Staff very very polite and at £69.00 per night was a steal. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Girl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theobalds E, General Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Girl36,

Thank you so much for your response and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We will take your feedback and recommendations on board and they will be discussed by the senior management team who review all feedback on a daily basis.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soo.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews