We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free & Dog Friendly”
Review of The Cocoa Tree

The Cocoa Tree
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small family owned cafe/coffee shop serving a wide selection of light lunches,snacks,cakes,waffles,cream tea's,award winning ice cream and milkshakes.A specials board is also available along side a varied menu. We also have a good selection of gifts. All dogs are welcome inside the cafe.Muddy paws are not a problem. Entrance is wheelchair friendly. In the hot weather we have air conditioning for your comfort. Myself (Julie) and Mark are the new owners of THE COCOA TREE and since taking over a year ago 2014. We would like to thank all of our customers old and new for all the lovely comments and support. We aim to provide good quality local produce with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. At the moment payment is cash only but we will be looking into payment by card in the near future.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small family owned cafe/coffee shop serving a wide selection of light lunches,snacks,cakes,waffles,cream tea's,award winning ice cream and milkshakes.A specials board is also available along side a varied menu. We also have a good selection of gifts. All dogs are welcome inside the cafe.Muddy paws are not a problem. Entrance is wheelchair friendly. In the hot weather we have air conditioning for your comfort. Myself (Julie) and Mark are the new owners of THE COCOA TREE and since taking over a year ago 2014. We would like to thank all of our customers old and new for all the lovely comments and support. We aim to provide good quality local produce with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. At the moment payment is cash only but we will be looking into payment by card in the near future.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn’t recommend this place more, excellent toasted sandwiches, dog friends and plenty of Gluten after Options.
The owner was lovely and even fed bacon to our pup!
Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was at the end of a walk today from Coxwold to Helmsley, as part of a cross-country walk. I had the best part of two hours before the York bus came. I saw this cafe and went in. A Norman Rossington lookalike (Mark) was serving and he was very friendly. He was engaging all the customers in conversation. There were a few others in the cafe, and two of them had a very quiet spaniel with them. The cafe is dog-friendly. I had a leek and potato soup plus brown bread (with no garlic in the bread; great as just the smell of garlic puts me off). I also had an Americano with hot milk. Mark's wife Julie kept mostly behind the shop as she has lost her voice, and had had a recent fall causing an injury.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely friendly home cooked food and dog friendly. I had homemade mushroom and bacon soup with croutons and bread roll which was delicious! Also tried the homemade cake and white chocolate and cranberry tiffin which were also delicious. We will return again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank karen57Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Popped into Helmsley late afternoon for a few bits and decided to have coffee before heading back to Allerston (20 miles away.) Dog friendly sign in the door so thought we’d try it. Greeted by a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome ( 2 adults, 2kids, 1dog) coffee was lovely and there was a nice selection of cakes on the counter. Small but well laid out : comfy, cosy and homely. Small selection on homewares/ gift items for sale at a fair price. Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Whilst having a break enroute to our hotel we stopped in Helmsley for just a coffee.
But the Cocoa Tree was very inviting and the iwner so friendly that we decided to look at the menu and just have some comfort food to keep us going. Great atmosphere as everyone seemed happy and were all enjoying their food. My wife just fancied a cheese & tomato sandwich and I ordered a cheese & onion toastie which was delicious. My wife just couldn’t finish her sandwich as we were also eating early evening so it was wrapped up and we took it with us. We would definitely visit again as it had a great varied menu especially for the sort of comfort food we love. Good coffee also.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank davidrX7555BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cocoa Tree also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cocoa Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing