We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Feathers Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
449
361
87
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
361
87
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket squarefunction roomfriendly hotelthe pubcoaching innlarge roomsuperior roomlovely townshort breaksalmoncleveland waysunday lunchvisiting helmsleycouple of nightslovely foodevening meala lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 949 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed here for one night before a wedding and was very disappointed. Spent £70 for a twin and got some thing more like a £30 twin from Blackpool. I had friends who were staying also who had paid the same as me and there rooms were soo much better compared to mine, was like they were staying in a different hotel. I feel the rooms should all be of the same standard, if not then the price should reflect this. The bathroom door was faulty and you had kick it open. The bathroom itself was like steeping back in time to the 60s

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2011

4 single women, booked 2 twin rooms, told we'd booked 1 twin, 1 double. when booked in ,got up-graded to 1 twin, 2 doubles but 1 had to go into a single on last night, ok. On last day got told they'd double booked the single room.Told the double room had a day bed for her use, it was in a window-less room outside bathroom! Twin room had a day bed so friend slept there, not great. BUT got a huge discount on total bill. Noisy, town centre pub, rooms nice, if you got 1! Residents lounge would have been great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friends61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed in a Market Square double. Despite warnings on The Featers website we didn't find the room noisy; but it was a tuesday night. The bathroom was small with just a shower but it was clean and the water was pipping hot. The mattress was a little soft for our liking but again the room was clean. The evening meals were hearty and the breakfast was lovely! We would stay here again. Just to note, although parking is free the car park is tiny so we parked in the long stay car park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Helmsley is a lovely market town and the Feathers is an excellent base for touring. It is not the most expensive hotel, being a 3 star ,it is clean but needing a little TLC in places.
However, we cannot fault the staff who were so friendly and helpful and the service in the restaurant and bar was excellent.
The food was also very good
Overall good value for money and would recommend this place

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed in the feathers in march,when we got there we went straight to the room,it was small and a little dated with no shower just a out dated bath I did not mind that but my wife did as she did not want a bath after a long trip but the worst thing about room was the tv on the wall u could not lay in bed and watch it as it was at the wrong angle.breakfast was nice full english can't get that wrong,the food on the night was a plus very nice game pie,and the bar at night was good the staff all chatty

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philcerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews