We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, tasty food, very accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, tasty food, very accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in a Market Square double just under the hotel entrance where all the smokers hung out so had to close the window until closing time (room 4). Suggest smokers are moved to the back of the building. We were worried about the negative reviews but we found our market square view double very adequate. It had obviously been decorated recently but has a fewminor snags to sort out. They are obviously decorating other rooms as we speak there was a strong smell of paint. We had an early morning wake up call from the workman who started their drills at 8.30am just opposite our room. This room wasnt noisy but it was Sunday and Monday night and we found the bar was empty by closing time. We had a good nights sleep and a large bath with piping hot water in a room that was clean throughout. The waiting staff were friendly, lots of choice for breakfast and very hearty. The car park was inadequate for the amount of rooms they have however, it was possible to park the car free of charge in the public car park overnight from early evening. The staff were very accommodating and allowed us to leave our mountain bikes in an unused room overnight. Would stay there again as the location was great for our needs and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    255
    74
    25
    12
See reviews for
103
371
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed here for one night before a wedding and was very disappointed. Spent £70 for a twin and got some thing more like a £30 twin from Blackpool. I had friends who were staying also who had paid the same as me and there rooms were soo much better compared to mine, was like they were staying in a different hotel. I feel the rooms should all be of the same standard, if not then the price should reflect this. The bathroom door was faulty and you had kick it open. The bathroom itself was like steeping back in time to the 60s

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

4 single women, booked 2 twin rooms, told we'd booked 1 twin, 1 double. when booked in ,got up-graded to 1 twin, 2 doubles but 1 had to go into a single on last night, ok. On last day got told they'd double booked the single room.Told the double room had a day bed for her use, it was in a window-less room outside bathroom! Twin room had a day bed so friend slept there, not great. BUT got a huge discount on total bill. Noisy, town centre pub, rooms nice, if you got 1! Residents lounge would have been great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friends61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in a Market Square double. Despite warnings on The Featers website we didn't find the room noisy; but it was a tuesday night. The bathroom was small with just a shower but it was clean and the water was pipping hot. The mattress was a little soft for our liking but again the room was clean. The evening meals were hearty and the breakfast was lovely! We would stay here again. Just to note, although parking is free the car park is tiny so we parked in the long stay car park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Helmsley is a lovely market town and the Feathers is an excellent base for touring. It is not the most expensive hotel, being a 3 star ,it is clean but needing a little TLC in places.
However, we cannot fault the staff who were so friendly and helpful and the service in the restaurant and bar was excellent.
The food was also very good
Overall good value for money and would recommend this place

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed in the feathers in march,when we got there we went straight to the room,it was small and a little dated with no shower just a out dated bath I did not mind that but my wife did as she did not want a bath after a long trip but the worst thing about room was the tv on the wall u could not lay in bed and watch it as it was at the wrong angle.breakfast was nice full english can't get that wrong,the food on the night was a plus very nice game pie,and the bar at night was good the staff all chatty

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philcerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and 6 year old daughter stayed here, whilst attending a wedding at the Black Swan, which was a lot more expensive.
Lovely room, nice and clean!
Really good breakfast and polite service.
It's a beautiful part of the country and its a well priced place for a base.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMJohnson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.2 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
9.9 km away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
8.8 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 5-6 Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Feathers hotel part of the Coaching inn Group, is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality. Its 25 bedrooms are all equipped with televisions, tea trays and toiletries. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is limited private parking at the rear of the hotel. Rooms and food are available all year round including Christmas day its self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Helmsley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing