We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mile House East

Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with views over Caldburgh Moor
Bedroom 2 overlooking the moorland
Bedroom 3 with vaulted ceiling, exposed brickwork and stunning views
Bathroom
Upstairs living area/ games room with log burning stove
Mile House East front view
Melmerby Moor
Winter sunshine in the Dales
Front garden view
Coverdale from Melmerby
View from front of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katmb1808...
Clayton-le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful house and location ”
Reviewed June 25, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Mile House East and I’m sure we will book again. We have had three generations staying in the house and it suits everyone. The house is extremely comfortable and always immaculate on arrival. The kitchen is really well equipped and there are plenty of books and board games if it’s rainy. There are walks from the doorstep and plenty of interesting places to visit nearby. The housekeeper is always very helpful and very quick to respond to any queries. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for a family get together.”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This place has everything ! A perfect location with fantastic views and numerous different walks on you door step. Our family of 8 have been going for the last 3 years and what a place it is for us all to meet up. We don't need to go out on an evening as it has such a large lounge we all drink, get merry and play games in front of the log burner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and I am delighted that you enjoy all this cosy home has to offer for your families. It is a pleasure to welcome you back to the house and I very much look forward to next time. With best wishes Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheila L
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picturesque Location”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely quiet location with brilliant views from the front garden & the rooms on the front of the property.
The house is fully equipped with everything you need & more for a family self catering holiday. The local über in the village is well worth a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location. We have had a wonderful weeks holiday at the cottage and have really enjoyed the beautiful views from the front of the property . The cottage is located approximately 10 - 15 minutes drive from Leyburn, which has all the amenities you could require. Supermarket, fish and chip shop, Chinese restaurant, bakers and butchers etc. The cottage was wonderfully warm and cozy. Lovely to come back to such a welcoming house after a day out in the cold. We had plenty of space and the children enjoyed the pool table. The beds were all very comfortable with nice new linen and it was handy to have the 2 bathrooms and 2 living rooms. We found the kitchen well equipped with every possible pot, pan and utensil you could possibly require. The cottage is well situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and we were in easy driving distance of so many attractions. Fountains Abbey, Aysgath Falls, Middleham Castle, Brimham Rocks, Wensleydale Creamery to name a few. We also enjoyed walks directly from the cottage with a handy pub in easy strolling distance. A great holiday. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic location and spacious accommodation”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Mile House East with family and thoroughly enjoyed the stay: the house is a great size and had enough room for everyone to seek out their own space if needed. The gardens were lovely and as the weather was fair we spent time enjoying the swings with the younger members of the family or eating on the patio at the rear of the house.
The house is well equipped, furnished with all you could need including well-stocked bookshelves. In short it was a great place to visit and we will most likely return in future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience, space, furnishing, books, gardens...
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from our family holiday in the Yorkshire Dales and to be honest, not one of my family members wanted to leave, even one of the dogs wouldn't get out of the car when we arived back home! This cottage has to be the most luxurious, comfortable and spacious accommodation we have ever stayed in. The cottage catered for all the family of all ages from the games room, with pool/snooker table to the library of books, DVD's, magazines etc available. The views are breathtaking from the front of the cottage. The cottage itself had everything you would expect from a 4* accommodation and had everything we needed, but it was the little additional touches from the housekeeper Rebecca and her attention to detail which made it extra special for us all. The cottage was also a great base for visiting the Forbidden Corner, Leybern, Richmond and Arsygarth Falls, totally breathtaking countryside. I do think we need though to add in this survey 'outstanding' as the highest rating is 'great' but this accommodation is more than great!!

Jordan Family July/August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of Mile House East
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing