We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of Castle Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fittleworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Cottage B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Fittleworth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room one sunny weekend in May but it would have been great whatever the weather as it had heating and a sense of warmth & cosiness. It was really lovely. It was clean, modern and rustic at the same time. It had all mod cons and a small walled terrace outside the double doors at the rear of the bedroom. There were velux windows above the enormous bed,in the bathroom and the lounge area and it was so peaceful, such an antidote to living in the suburbs. I am known in my family to be ultra fussy when staying anywhere but I felt really relaxed in this rural retreat. It felt as if you were in the middle of nowhere, which you sort of are but within a 20 minute drive of Chichester with a fine theatre, restaurants and historic buildings.
Ron and Alison were on hand if you wanted any help or advice but discreet enough to let you just 'get on with it'. Breakfast was great and the 'communal table ' meant you got to talk to other guests...if you got up in time!! We have booked the Treehouse for next year and look forward to returning as there is still so much for us to do and see in the area. Try it and see for yourselves!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    13
    1
    5
    10
See reviews for
2
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in the treehouse during what has to be the wettest weekend in a year. It rained pretty much non-stop all weekend, but this didn't stop us enjoying the charm and unique character of the place.

The hosts are extremely friendly, give great advice on where to eat out and the breakfast is excellent.

I have to say that I think that some of the reviews of Castle Cottage are very unfair. If you're looking for a standard of cleaning and decor that you find in a 5 star hotel then my advice would be to go to a 5 star hotel. If, like us, you enjoy the different experience that an independently run B&B offers, then we'd thoroughly recommend Castle Cottage as a place to visit. If you like the idea of sitting out on a balcony of a treehouse in a hanging chair, watching a woodpecker 20ft away, surrounded by stunning trees then this is a place to visit. If you can put up with the odd cobweb here and there, and you like meeting interesting people, then we'd recommend it.

So, if you're the type that likes to find things to pick holes in, then our advice would be to stay away from Castle Cottage. However, if you like to try something different, and you have a little sense of adventure, then give this place a try, and enjoy something out of the ordinary!

Room Tip: Treehouse is a totally unique experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coasttripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I never thought I'd write a review of anywhere we'd stayed but our experience of the Barn has forced me to. We booked two nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary but were so disappointed we left without even staying for one! The photos make it look fresh and airy but it's extremely tired and far from the romantic retreat we had hoped for. There was clutter all over the place and it looked like a dumping ground for the owners' old magazines, clothes, photos, shell collection and suitcases which they hadn't got round to actually throwing out! There was mould growing on the outside of the glass roof, cobwebs in the bathroom, ripped newspaper lining the drawers, and the waste paper bin hadn't been emptied. To top it all, the owner told us that these were all 'minor' complaints and that most people loved it there! We usually look at Trip Advisor reviews before we book somewhere but didn't this time. If we had read the previous reviews we would never have booked, and I wish we hadn't. I'm only glad it was our wedding anniversary that was ruined, not our wedding night as previous reviews have said!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed in the treehouse which is tucked away amongst the grounds of Castle Cottage. Ron, our host, was friendly and welcoming. He had built the treehouse himself and it seems to have been a labour of love. The detail was extraordinary. Every fixture, fitting and detail was either animal or nature in some way. For example, the door handle was a dragonfly, the bathroom cup holder was a leaf, the blind pulls were natural shaped wood pieces. The light in the bathroom was a leopard head. This is a unique place, not for your average person. If you want pristine decor, shining surfaces and 5* luxury, don't bother. What you will get is a secluded,quirky,natural environment, made with love. There is so much to take in within the treehouse. Always something to catch the eye. I love wood and nature so it was ideal, however, you will encounter the odd cobweb, the creaking of the trees and the rough finish on things. You still get underfloor heating in the bathroom, a good quality shower, tv and tea/coffee making facilities. There are swing seats outside, upstairs and down by the pond. All in all, if you love alternative, slightly hippie and out of the ordinary, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its_angie_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a very secluded spot, a few miles from Petworth. We stayed in the barn. It affords a high degree of privacy, is appealingly laid out, and is an unusual and interesting spot.

There have previously been comments about the standard of cleanliness. It's fair to say that this place is not for the squeamish. I certainly wouldn't describe it as dirty. But neither is it spotless. You will find a few areas of dust, some imperfect finishes on walls and surfaces, a bit of dirt on windows, and probably the odd spider too. If you're easily fazed by such things, look elsewhere. But realistically, this is what you're going to get in a property this tucked away in the countryside - especially one that's run by plant-lovers who have a somewhat hippie sensibility.

Castle Cottage makes a nice change from deodorized city living. It's also a good location for someone looking to explore this part of Sussex. The interior of the property is a little tired compared with the very well taken photos on the website, and it's not cheap to stay here, but it beats a hotel if you're looking for space, seclusion, a real proximity to nature, and a rather English (idiosyncratic) approach to hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoothtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our one night stay at Garden Room allowed us to slow down, chill out, and forget about the stress and pace of modern life. We arrived late on a school night, pampered ourselves in the spacious bed and roomy shower, and enjoyed a lazy and very organic breakfast in the conservatory.

True, there is no satellite TV or 3G phone signal, and maybe could have had more mod cons, but you know what, that's why it worked !

We look back at our evening and lazy morning (we checked out late) of relaxtion and mindfulness with great warmth, and will be back.

Room Tip: Garden Room where we stayed was stunning. Warn, beautiful decor, huge comfy bed and shower for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This place was so awful! We could not understand how this place had any good reviews! If you like dirt, horrible rooms, cobwebs and a feeling of your not going to survive the night then this place is for you! This place was a massive let down to what they advertise it as! We stayed in the cottage, upon arrival we was shown inside which was like walking through their cloakroom and past the divder (a sheet hanging down!) between their part of the house and ours! We were presented with our accommodation, me and my wife was in a state of shock! We could not believe the state of it! My wife was very tearful. We gave it ago and tryed to get comfy but it was impossible! The place was filthy, the t.v was a thing from the stone age. There was no towels, no soap, no drinking water. There was also not a shop for miles. We had to get out, so we left and found a premier-in, which was 100% better that this place! You would have a better night in a tent!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmbatty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fittleworth
5.6 km away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
11.3 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
162 reviews
3.3 km away
The Welldiggers Arms
The Welldiggers Arms
#6 of 17 in Petworth
36 reviews
3.2 km away
Badgers B&B
Badgers B&B
#5 of 17 in Petworth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cottage B&B

Property: Castle Cottage B&B
Address: Castle Cottage Coates Castle | Coates Castle, Fittleworth RH20 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fittleworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fittleworth
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castle Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Castle Cottage Hotel Fittleworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing