We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Waterfoot Cottage

Waterfoot Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Waterfoot Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Waterfoot Cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Magherafelt, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen D
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Everything you could possibly need for a tranquil holiday.
The cottage has all amenities.
It was very clean and beautifully presented.
Kathleen is extremely thoughtful and supplied maps for walks, local shops and nearest Tesco.
Kathleen also has the number for the nearest doctor on the wall!!! Such attention to detail made this a wonderful place to stay.
The beds are comfortable with high end bedding.
The walk to Loch Neagh is a private trail taking about 5 minutes. Holly ( the horse) happily roams free in this area and walked with us for some of the way.
If you love nature, this is THE place to stay.
A herd of cows walk around the adjacent field and literally come up to the fence around the bungalow.
We would definitely recommend this bungalow and want to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Karen you are very welcome to return at any time. It was lovely to meet your family and I enjoyed their art work! I appreciate you taking the time to review us and how perfectly you left the cottage. Regards Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denise l
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We are four sisters who wanted a trip to Northern Ireland for the first time to take in some sights of our ancestor.
The cottage was in a central location for Armagh (grand-mother married in the cathedral), the Mountains of Mourne, the Giant's Causeway and Causeway coastal drive and Belfast. This meant that we were never that far away from where we wanted to visit and managed to make the most of our 4 days here.
The cottage is well equipped, very clean and comfortable. Kathleen is a very thoughtful host and we appreciated the welcome pack on arrival.
Lough Neagh is just a stone's throw away and the local village a few miles away. A car is essential as the cottage is up a lane and quite a distance from amenities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Denise thank you very much for taking the time to review the cottage.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it a convenient spot to explore from. Thank you for looking after it so well. Regards Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eriskay17
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just the warmest welcome...”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for a trip over to the Cookstown 100 and Kathleen and her husband couldn't have been more welcoming. The cottage was fab, private and quiet with a lovely walk on the doorstep. There were freshly baked scones with butter and jam waiting for us on arrival and fresh farm eggs and bacon. The cottage was spotless and the old mistress stove was well cool. Great value for money and well delighted with our stay, highly recommended! Superb people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Very much appreciated.
It was a pleasure to have you stay and that you enjoyed your trip. Thankyou you looked after the cottage so well and you are welcome anytime.
Best regards Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril W
1 review
“Couldn't recommend more highly”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely two week stay in a very comfortable cottage in a great location , we were within an hour from all the tourist attractions. Kathleen gave us a really warm welcome and the welcome pack was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure to have you.
Best regards to everyone Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpdonnel...
Hoylake, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we wanted plus more!”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Probably the most tranquil place that we've ever been. Lovely location with a cottage that had everything you would expect plus more thanks to the kindness and generosity of Kathleen (the owner) and her family.
We used the cottage as a base to explore and revisit other places in Ireland such as the Giants Causeway, Belfast and Newgrange.
Thoroughly recommend the cottage and would certainly use it again if we holidayed in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
We really appreciate you taking the time to review, many thanks. It was lovely to meet you both and glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday. Regards Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
big_Paul...
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by Kathleen the owner who showed us quickly around the cottage facilities, and explained the various walks around the cottage and down to the lough.

We found the cottage very comfortable and warm, the quiet location and surrounding land meant the children could run around all day without us having to worry about traffic. There is also quite a selection of books and games to keep them entertained in the evening.

The welcome pack was indeed very welcome as it meant we didn't have to race out shopping straight away, and we could explore the surrounding countryside and nearby towns.

Given its location we found it a perfect place to explore the North Coast, Derry and other attractions such as the Ulster American Folk Park.

We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
I am very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and you certainly made the best of the central location and great weather.
It was lovely to meet your family and thankyou for looking after the cottage and the window boxes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_of_Ess...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful old farm house with great polish and homeliness”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a great place to stay. Two bathrooms, three bedrooms, lovely well appointed kitchen and superb location on a working farm close to a large lake with pretty lakeside walks.
The kitchen has everything needed for self-catering including farm produce and baked items as well. Cosy and homely. Attention from owners is detailed and caring but not intrusive. beds comfortable and the whole place very clean. All appliances worked well and were straightforward to use. Set fireplace was a nice touch when we arrived late.
The only problem was finding the place; it is off the beaten track and better directions need to be supplied.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness
Liked least: Getting there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Thank you Jo and Marell for your kind review it is very much appreciated.
I do have a map which I can e mail and I apologise not to have forwarded it. We have been spoiled lately with sat nav.
Best regards Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing