We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chippy”
Review of The Golden Chip

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Golden Chip
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 18, 2017 via mobile

Firstly this chip shop is in Moneymore, not Magherafelt as indicated in your location. Called in here today and their chips are to die for. If your ever passing through Moneymore give them a call. I myself travel from Magherafelt to here as there are none of the chip shops in Magherafelt would compare with this one in Moneymore. Best chip shop in Mid-Ulster by far. Definitely highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank eileenp560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2017

The food is really good although the staff could make more of an effort to smile to the customers. They do take telephone orders. Best chip shop in the area.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theorangeeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Firstly...this is in Moneymore, not Magherafelt as the 'location' suggests just so no one is confused.

Now, about the chippy......

The Golden Chip is the best chip shop I have ever ate in. The only one that even comes close is about 20+ miles away. Portion sizes are good, chips are perfect......actually, everything I've tried on the menu is perfect. The best chicken fillet burgers an battered goujons you'll ever eat and the kebab sauce is brilliant.

Anyone who claims there is a better chippy anywhere local is wrong.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank TomTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Customer service was very good from the moment i entered to the moment I left. The waiting time for a busy chip shop was outstanding, I only had to wait 5 mins for my order. The chips were actually really nice and I will be back again. Im from Magherafelt and I would travel to moneymore Golden Chip before I would go to may of the chip shops in Magherafelt.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank megangordon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

Been eating from the golden chip for years. Nothing out of the ordinary on the menu but the chips are the best within 20 miles and the kebab sauce is amazing. Everything else is good and tasty but fairly standard chippy food. Overall hard to beat.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank blueface74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Chip also viewed

Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Castledawson, Magherafelt
 
Tobermore, Magherafelt
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Draperstown, Magherafelt
 

Been to The Golden Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing