We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and shocked !”
Review of Chlachain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chlachain Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprised and shocked !”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My partner and I took the train from Fort William to Mallaig and on the way we picked up a leaflet detailing all the eating places in Mallaig, and this was the only one that specifically mentioned prompt service. They said they knew people were pressed for time as they had a train to catch. The place looked attractive enough, so we put in our food order at the bar (at about 1.15pm), telling them that we had to be finished by 2pm. This would not be a problem, we were told. Twenty minutes later and when no food had come we cancelled the first course, and obtained a reluctant refund, and an indication that although the kitchen porter had had to leave we would not have to wait much longer. But we did. And waited and waited and waited. When no food had arrived and our train was just about to leave, we managed to get a further refund for the rest of the undelivered meal - although we had to pay for the drinks of course.

With little time left before the train depart, we nipped into the Mallaig Backpacker's lodge, explained our problem and told them we had less than 10 minutes waiting time. The service staff was so efficient and less than 5 mins, we had our food served. Don't ask me how they do it, but they did it ! What a STAR !!! we were so impressed with them - thank you guys !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovecoffee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    44
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
31
108
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here overnight before getting he boat to Knoydart. Pub lunch food in the bar was ok. The accommodation was very clean and reasonably comfortable - the mattress was a bit saggy though. The little balcony we had was lovely. Best thing was the breakfast - cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_leith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here for one night before catching the ferry to Skye. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty of hot water and soft towels. Our room had a small patio, but too many midgies about to use it. Breakfast was freshly cooked, and plentyful.

had our evening meal in the bar... everyone very friendly and made us feel welcome. Had the haddock and chips, BIG fish, fresh and tasty!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Some good points - the breakfast for which we could choose our time; nice fluffy large white towels in the bathroom; good open aspect view; and we did not have to miss the final episode of a thriller on BBC4 as the TV had freeview.( there is little else to do in Mallaig on a wet saturday night after dinner) BUT there was nowhere to sit - no chair no table - nowhere to place toiletries in the bathroom - coffee/tea facilities were underneath the open clothes rail so to make tea you had to move whatever was hanging up. The french windows did not open up to a timbered patio as per the website but a 3 metre drop on to various discarded bits of furniture and bric a brac. Fortunately the windows were locked and we did not have a key but this also meant that we had no fresh air as there were no other windows in the room. Did not sleep too well either as we had the cheap bouncy mattress and cheap foam bits pillows. - room was noisy at night from those smoking outside the pub. Light bulb in the corridor outisde our room was not working - OK for an overnight.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuisboroughJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The accommodation is good, simple and clean. The ensuite excellent with plenty of hot water. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. We wanted an early breakfast before catching the 7.30am ferry for Rùm and were given access to the breakfast room for hot drinks and cereals - no hot food avaialble (not surprisingly) at that time. Knowing we would be back at 9pm on the ferry and that last orders for the restaurant were 9pm, we booked ahead and it was agreed that we would be accommodated. Our food was excellent each of the 3 evenings.
Would we go again? Yes.
Would we recommend it? Yes
Are we easily pleased? No.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaddys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

v handy for station (we "did" the West Highland railway). Cold outside so roaring fire was great. Meal choice a bit limited (but it was March so there were only 6 diners) and plain. Service good. Bedrooms a bit "flimsy" - snorers and coughers in next room, and people in the passage outside the bedroom.
Morning - brekkers top notch for service and quality, delightful lady,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Wow!
First must be said that the "Road to the Isles" is now biker friendly! Safe, quality tarmac!
Have not travelled on the road from Fort William to Mallaig for years!!!!!!! Because it has always been such a trial.
Stayed at Chlachain Friday 24th September. Good service. Menu not to our taste.
Clean, fresh room. Breakfast OK.
Enjoyed choice of seafood restaurants!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pitters1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.1 km away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
571 reviews
4.0 km away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
138 reviews
10.5 km away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
27.5 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
29.4 km away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chlachain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chlachain Inn

Property: Chlachain Inn
Address: Davies Brae, Mallaig PH41 4QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chlachain Inn Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing