We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy inn in the heart of Port Hawkesbury ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at the Hearthstone Inn with my family, the rooms were very cozy, lighting a bit too dark, comfy beds, clean bathroom. The water pressure in the shower was not too great so it took longer than normal to shower. The breakfast was a perfect start on the day. Huge portions! Try their pancakes! Our waiter Cliff (Morrison?) was great and remembered our orders for each person (7) every day. He also gave recommendations of what to see and do in Port Hawkesbury, and Halifax too since we were going there next and he was originally from Halifax. This motel was perfect for a short vacation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amanda Å
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Amanda A,
thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback. I do agree, Cliff is great and we love having him as part of our team.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Room was spacious with water views, and was well maintained. Bathroom seemed very new. Wifi was weak at best. The king bed was very comfortable. Didn't have time to avail of the pool. Breakfast at the attached restaurant was very good, especially at $5.99 !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback. We hope you have an opportunity to visit with us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Its an average place but ok, clean normal size rooms. A/C was a bit noisy . No breakfast included but a restaurant on site offers one for 5.99 $ . You get what you paif for. they have a pool but we didnt have time to check it out!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJnMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay!
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Rooms were clean but nothing special. Walls needed some cleaning. For our next trip to Cape Breton, I would stay further into the island. Restaurant has a good breakfast. Strangely no clock radio in the room.

Room Tip: New section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear David K,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. As soon as I read your review I asked our housekeeping manager to check on the missing alarm clock! It appears someone needed it more than we did so we will call it our gift to them. We have replaced the clock :-)

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Ive been to this restaurant a couple of times and had great experiences....however saturday evening not the case....i dont think the server likes her job as that was the impression i got....we had the potato skins and i had special requests to add green and red pepper to half if the skins....all that came on them as a rule is onion cheese and bacon...we i got the green pepper and cheese but they eliminated the onion and no red pepper....i ordered mushrooms with my steak and never received them however was charged for them......the server didnt check to see how our neal was until we were finished.....there was another server on ...i think her name was chauntelle ...she was so friendly and got us steak knives the OUR server didn't give us with our STEAK DINNERS.......as well she offered us refills pn pur drinks that were empty when pur meal was served.....i am a food and beverage server as well and am pretty easy to please...i LOVE what i do or i wouldnt do IT....its NOT FOR EVERYONE.....and if this particular server doesnt LOVE her job she should fond some other career as people go put to dinner to relax and enjoy a pleasant experience......this was the last day of my vacation....sorry i didnt choose a different restaurant to have dinner and drinks....oh well ....LESSON LEARNED

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank donfras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Donfras1,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. Your experience is not the normal experience at our restaurant nor is it acceptable. I would love to discuss your experience in more detail. Please contact me at your leisure 902 625 2480.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Repeat customers .. This time across the road on the water side .. Newly renovated room with AC .. Very close to attached restaurant ..wifi "iffy " by times as it comes and goes .. Grateful for the AC . Didn't get into the pool ..used to be in room near the pool but none available .. Ok .. Clean and comfortable .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 154976judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your continued support.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Friendly, courteous great food in the restaurant. (Excellent chowder and fish and chips) room was clean. Took a chance with a last minute booking. No regrets. We recommend it highly. Slightly dated but well maintained.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angelajmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
4.3 km away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
196 reviews
106.2 km away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
107.8 km away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
71.1 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
42.9 km away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 388 Highway 4, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada (Formerly known as the Port Hawkesbury Motel)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range: C$133 - C$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the jewel of Canada, Cape Breton Island is one of the world's most visited spots. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, located at the entrance to the island, is the perfect place to start your adventure in this scenic Atlantic Canada masterpiece. Our newly-renovated hotel features 26 smoke-free guest rooms and a friendly staff dedicated to providing you a warm Maritime welcome. With tastefully decorated queen and king bed rooms featuring all the comforts of home, the Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury is the answer to your travelling needs. Enjoy the Convenience of Free Wi-Fi & Our On-Site Restaurant Whether you are taking the family on vacation or visiting on business, we offer a worry-free stay and a restful night's sleep. You will enjoy free Wi-Fi access, free in-room coffee, sleep-enhancing mattresses, complimentary morning newspaper and a range of other sought-after amenities. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury boasts the added convenience of an on-site restaurant and lounge. If you are in town for a conference at the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre or planning to check out some of the award-winning golf courses on the island, come home to the Hearthstone Inn. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing