We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
13
29
38
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
29
38
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attached restaurant reasonable pricing fish and chips thanksgiving weekend indoor pool watch tv room was spacious pleasant stay hearthstone halifax chantelle desk server linens
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 125 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018

VERY comfortable bed with very nice bedding and a quiet air conditioner made for the best sleep I've had in ages!! Very impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of our room. Always love a place that provides sitting areas or furniture. It's hard to sit on beds and watch tv, etc. Everything worked and the wifi was excellent. Stayed on the older side of the business, where the rooms have been renovated. Excellent job. Have stayed all around Cape Breton for years and must say that this place is one of the best!! The Hearthstone has a restaurant onsite with a very good menu offering something for everyone at reasonable pricing. Service was good and food was great. They also offer a $5.99 breakfast ( with 4 choices). Like this option better than the so-called "free" continental breakfasts, as keeps the rates lower! If you want a comfortable stay, this is it.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thank you for taking time to reflect on your recent stay, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

About ten years ago, on our way to the East Coast, we stayed at the Econo-Lodge at this location and were impressed by the cleanliness, laundry facilities, pool, and great restaurant across the street. So impressed in fact, that we decided to stay here again. I booked well in advance.
On our arrival at the former Econo-Lodge we checked in, but were then advised that our room was actually in the ancient Motel on the south side of the Highway, and were further advised that our room was the end unit on the left side. We soon discovered that our neighbors to the east were two garbage dumpsters, an oil tank and a utility shed. Nice. (BTW- the truck came to pick up the garbage at 7:15 a.m. the next morning)
Our room was clean enough, and the bathroom had seen a reno in the past, but the colours in the room were reminiscent of a Wild West Bordello-deep reds and pinks with a wonky trim and bedspread and dark flooring to bring it all together-not.
The noisy old a/c unit chugged along if you kept the drapes open, but how was it supposed to operate with the drapes closed ? (see photo)
This Motel looked to be at about 20 % capacity for the night, and the more modern former Econo-Lodge on the north side looked to be far- far less than that, but for reasons unknown they decided to place two seniors in their worst room on the property.
Of our eleven days on the road, this was by far the worst experience, and certainly not the cheapest. Old Canadians don't complain, they just don't come back.

Room Tip: Avoid the room by the garbage dumpsters.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback, sorry we weren't what you were looking for.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We loved this hotel, it's decor,it's staff, and it's amenities. The rooms were super quiet and amazingly comfortable. We really didn't want to leave the comfy beds and pillows. The indoor pool was great as well.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Raina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We stayed here after doing 2 days of the Cabot Trail on our way to Halifax. Great location for a stop. We were across the street from the main hotel in the older motel style rooms. Very basic, but clean rooms. Diner was very good for breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dmkmHamilton_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you for reflecting on your recent stay and thank you for making Cape Breton your vacation destination this summer. safe travels and tell all your friends about your Cape Breton adventure.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

No frills motel, pretty clean. Easy to find, has on sight diner. Breakfast at diner was good and a good price. Room needed a few things repaired, outlet under ac was wire mold that was coming off the wall, shower faucet has screws coming out.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let me know your concerns, we will have them addressed right away.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews