We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
13
30
38
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
30
38
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attached restaurant reasonable pricing thanksgiving weekend fish and chips indoor pool one night stay watch tv country kitchen restaurant room was spacious pleasant stay hearthstone halifax pillows server chantelle desk province
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 126 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Was one of the worst places I have every stayed at. The room was o.k. but the toilet would bang agaisnt the wall everytime you sat down, tiles in the bathroom floor were loose and moved, walls are VERY thin (I could hear my neighbors full convo on his cell phone his side and the recipent even with the t.v. on). I was charged more than the price I was given thru the booking site and food in the resturant was over priced and rubbery (hot hamburger,2 small scoops of mashed potatos and about 6 small pieces of broccoli and a glass of ice water $15).. For a first time visit it will also be my last.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Stacee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for sharing your recent experience however I believe you may have reviewed the wrong hotel - we don't serve Broccoli as a side vegetable in our restaurant although we have been considering adding it to our selections..

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

This hotel was a dump compared to its appearance on its website. The first room we were given was tiny with inadequate lighting (we arrived after sunset). A request got us an larger but still inadequate room. No table for laptop usage, tired and run down furnishings. Restaurant for hotel is across a busy 4 lane highway. We found this place to be so bad that we couldn't recommend it to anyone - even if it were the only hotel in town. Definitely not worth the price paid.

Room tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room in the 300's. At least you will be on the same side of the highway as the restaurant.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobY5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to offer the best of experiences for all of our guests.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

My husband and I found this place without reservations. We were in the side across the street from their restaurant. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The hotel and the rooms looked a bit worn but the beds were comfortable and it had an ac unit. The ac unit was extremely loud and you had to have the curtains open to use it? As it was quite hot and humid out we left it on all night so could not shut the curtains. There was a fridge in the guestrooms and also a pool on site.

Passing through and needing a comfortable place to sleep it was fine.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bleuberrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

VERY comfortable bed with very nice bedding and a quiet air conditioner made for the best sleep I've had in ages!! Very impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of our room. Always love a place that provides sitting areas or furniture. It's hard to sit on beds and watch tv, etc. Everything worked and the wifi was excellent. Stayed on the older side of the business, where the rooms have been renovated. Excellent job. Have stayed all around Cape Breton for years and must say that this place is one of the best!! The Hearthstone has a restaurant onsite with a very good menu offering something for everyone at reasonable pricing. Service was good and food was great. They also offer a $5.99 breakfast ( with 4 choices). Like this option better than the so-called "free" continental breakfasts, as keeps the rates lower! If you want a comfortable stay, this is it.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thank you for taking time to reflect on your recent stay, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

About ten years ago, on our way to the East Coast, we stayed at the Econo-Lodge at this location and were impressed by the cleanliness, laundry facilities, pool, and great restaurant across the street. So impressed in fact, that we decided to stay here again. I booked well in advance.
On our arrival at the former Econo-Lodge we checked in, but were then advised that our room was actually in the ancient Motel on the south side of the Highway, and were further advised that our room was the end unit on the left side. We soon discovered that our neighbors to the east were two garbage dumpsters, an oil tank and a utility shed. Nice. (BTW- the truck came to pick up the garbage at 7:15 a.m. the next morning)
Our room was clean enough, and the bathroom had seen a reno in the past, but the colours in the room were reminiscent of a Wild West Bordello-deep reds and pinks with a wonky trim and bedspread and dark flooring to bring it all together-not.
The noisy old a/c unit chugged along if you kept the drapes open, but how was it supposed to operate with the drapes closed ? (see photo)
This Motel looked to be at about 20 % capacity for the night, and the more modern former Econo-Lodge on the north side looked to be far- far less than that, but for reasons unknown they decided to place two seniors in their worst room on the property.
Of our eleven days on the road, this was by far the worst experience, and certainly not the cheapest. Old Canadians don't complain, they just don't come back.

Room tip: Avoid the room by the garbage dumpsters.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback, sorry we weren't what you were looking for.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews