We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
136
44
17
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
44
17
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood stove rhubarb restaurant peggy's cove fire pit wedding coordinator nova scotia the cottages entire weekend romantic weekend deck overlooking the ocean cozy room large balcony front office pots and pans bed frame few minutes drive haddock
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 209 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Oceanstone Resort is just outside Peggy's Cove , Nova Scotia. The resort has several cottages with breathtaking views of the Cove and ocean. We were able to seat near the shore while having a glass of wine as the sunset on a beautiful day. The landscaping is wonderful and staff extremely helpful. The restaurant is just as wonderful and is award winning. The fish and chips were the best I have ever had outside of home.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Oceanstone and we are so happy that you had a relaxing time by the ocean and enjoying a glass of wine sounds like a perfect way to take it all in! We love hearing that are staff are helpful and we will pass on your comments to Rhubarb!

We look very forward to having you back with us!

Your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We were very disappointed with this resort. We stayed in three of there accommodations over 3 days. Our first 2 bedroom was dirty and had stained sheets on our bed. The shower was very small - you could not turn in the cubicle - but the worst was the dirty stained shower floor. We wore our beach shoes in the shower so we wouldn't catch anything! The love-seat covers were dirty and had sand and food debris between the cushions. There was no air conditioning. In general, we had a very poor sleep.I have no problem with shabby or rustic accommodations, however, I do want clean. This room cost $400.00 per night!!
The next accommodation was a cottage on the ocean - OMG. We were greeted with a freshly washed floor. The carpet was filthy, some windows had no screens ,someones potato chips were left on the window sills, stained sheets, not enough towels for the number of guests. We did not have room service to clean the cottage while we were there and had to ask for fresh towels.Again no air conditioning. The wedding rehearsal party was set up outside our cottage - directly outside our bedroom windows. The party went on until 5 am , but the real happy time was the 3 am fight. The loud speaker was placed outside our cottage and music played for the night. If we had had a choice we would have left. The next morning, the resort staff were picking up the debris from the party at 7:30 am. No opportunity for any sleep. The last day was no better - music started bright and early and then the after party of the wedding continuing outside our cottage. There were many other places for these parties - why they would choose outside a paying guests cottage is beyond me. The sewer was backing up and the smell permeated everywhere - however it is located about 20 feet from this cottage. A repair person was there trying to solve the issue. Our luck or did someone hate us? This experience cost us $1000.00
Under no circumstances would I recommend this place nor would I ever stay again.
The ocean setting is beautiful, however, it does not make up for our expensive experience.
We also had the pleasure of dining at Rhubarb restaurant and I would say the overall it was good except for one server who was very rude. Funnily enough she was not our server, however she made a point of coming to our table to tell us that the 10 month old baby would destroy the drink menu and grabbed it out of our hands - " these are expensive". Amazing!! Our server was lovely. I wish I had her name I would love to add it to the review.

party was set up outside our cottage

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelmontreaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at Oceanstone while you were attending a wedding on the property.

We apologize sincerely for any of the housekeeping issues that you experienced which was unacceptable. We are look at all matters that you listed. As a seaside property, some of our units do not have air conditioning and we apologize that you experienced a sleepless night due to the heat.

We unfortunately have no control over the wedding accommodations that the couple chooses to place guests in. They also chose where the gathering was going to be- the entire resort was booked by the wedding group and unfortunately the noise was from that party.

The septic tank was pumped on that day and unfortunately there is an unpleasant smell that is associated with that- we had it completed as quickly as possible.

Again, we apologize that you did not have a positive experience at Oceanstone, we truly appreciate your feedback and would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you personally.

Yours very sincerely,

Oceanstone Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Oceanstone is a beautiful resort. It is nestled amongst tall trees. Winding pathways take you to the various accommodations- Inn rooms and private cottages. We stayed in an Inn room which was lovely, clean and fresh. Oceanstone Resort as the name suggests, is located right on the Ocean and has stunning views. Our next stay, I would most definitely spring for a cottage right on the ocean, the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep at night would be well worth it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Thank you Kristen for taking the time to let us know about your seaside stay at Oceanstone!!

We are so happy that you enjoyed the Inn room and that next time you will be thinking about a cottage- it is true- you backdrop is the ocean and the waves will lull you to sleep!

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back again-

Susan & your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We chose to stay at Oceanstone last week based on previous positive reviews, but overall were disappointed. Three of us stayed in Dovekey cottage for two nights. The cottages, buildings and grounds are very quaint and charming, with winding roadways and paths through trees and gardens. Also, the oceanfront location is picturesque, including a small beach with views to islands, including a lighthouse. And of course, it's only minutes to Peggy's Cove. However, our stay fell short of expectations. Upon arrival we had 1 1/2 sets of towels for three people. We went to the front desk and had towels delivered shortly after. The next day we returned to the cottage to find housekeeping had again left us 1 1/2 sets of towels for three people. Unfortunately the office was closed, so we made do. One lamp had no light bulb, and a light fixture had 1 of 3 bulbs working. There were also utensils in a jar on the counter which had been used by previous guests and not washed. The bedframe squeaked so loud you couldn't move an inch without waking your partner. More disappointing was the smell of septic beside our cottage, where the entrance door was, the entire first day we were there. Most disappointing was the unorganized parking. We were travelling with an elderly person who needed to enter/exit our vehicle in close proximity to the cottage. Unfortunately, parking spaces near the last three cottages are unmarked, and the first two cottages took all three spaces. This left us to make pick ups and drop offs near our cottage and then do a 6-8 point turn in cramped quarters to turn around and park 'up the hill' ... what a pain, considering the price we were paying. It would be nice if each cottage had one designated parking space within close proximity. I wish I had brought our family member's disability parking permit to see how they could have possibly accommodated it.
I suspect Oceanstone part-owner/investor Jeanne Beker would never tolerate such deficiencies in a hotel/resort stay, and yet we did. Some of these issues were raised with the front desk upon checkout, and were met with an apology but nothing further. Upon arriving home, we decided that was an inadequate response; prompting this review with all our grievances. We have decided that should we wish to stay in the region in the future, we will seek accommodations in lovely Lunenburg instead.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank taag94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017


Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay, We do appreciate any and all feedback provided with regard to quality of service, cleanliness and your overall time at Oceanstone.

This is certainly not the impression that we wish to leave our guests with! The septic was pumped that day (never a nice incident) and we are following up on the towels, bed, and the parking.

I will be in touch directly to personally apologize for the issues that you experienced,

Yours sincerely,

Susan


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights in The Pines Cottage and just loved it. The cottage is deceivingly spacious; I was slightly worried when I saw it at first!! Very clean and comfortable inside. An air conditioning unit would be beneficial, but would 't deter me from going back. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ellkell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you elkell28 for you review of your stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in The Pines! Thank you for your feedback on the cleanliness and comfort- Things we strive for here- and the suggestion of the air conditioning- we have had humid weather in the past few weeks haven't we!!! We are consistently adding units to the property-

Thank you again and we would love to welcome you back to Oceanstone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews