We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside Delight”
Review of Oceanstone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanstone Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I stayed here for a conference and ended up having a delightful cottage to myself, tucked away in the trees but close enough to hear the lull of the Atlantic. Food supplied for us was good ,but, not extra ordinary. We found the restaurant expensive and the menu more upscale than some of our group wanted. Overall though the Resort was lovely with well stocked cutlery and such. Lovely place to kick back and relax and revel in the natural beauty that surrounds it.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Marlin121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us during your group visit and we are delighted you enjoyed your cottage by the ocean! We are pleased that you were able to kick back and relax while enjoying the beauty of the area. We hope to see you again when the group returns next year!


Your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

We were planning to stay in Halifax for two days and were not able to get a room. A marathon was going on. We were so fortunate for this, because we looked and booked the Oceanstone Resort and were able to enjoy the east coast feel. Our room was Rhubarb Rm 3 and was exceptional. There are many little and larger cottages than you could book, but our room was great for us. We walked around the property and felt so relaxed and sat at the waters edge and enjoyed the views of the sea. I had read about Polly's Cove hiking trails and the Oceanstone also suggested these trails. We only saw one or two people there in our three hours of hiking (we did kind of go off trail and found our way to the rocky islands. So enjoyable. Thank you forsuch a great two day stay

Room Tip: All rooms above the restaurant are good. Very quiet and share a common area with coffee, microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you Mayan50 for taking the time to share your great experience at Oceanstone- We are delighted that Rhubarb 3 was a perfect spot for you to have as your base for what seem like amazing adventures! Polly's cove is such a gem nearby and often as you pointed out, a low traffic trail system :)

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the entire property and sat by the waters edge and took in the sea during this lovely fall weather.

We hope to have you back with us again!

Your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Oceanstone Resort provides a stunning backdrop for a wedding.
Beautiful east coast vistas; could it get any better than this?
The ocean views are incredible and the famous Peggy's Cove is just a few minutes away.
The staff provides warm East coast hospitality and are clearly dedicated to making the wedding day special.
I was very touched to see how hard they worked to make my niece's wedding beautiful.
If you want a memorable wedding experience, this is it.
Most of the rooms and cabins are steps from the ocean.
They are uniquely decorated and well-equipped.
Ours was a bit dusty in corners. The dishwasher didn't seem to get things clean.
That would be our only complaint.
One tip: the Rhubarb rooms aren't Oceanside. They're near the road, above a busy restaurant. The food is great there though.
Also the weather can change on a dime--on this September visit it was freezing one day and then warmed up within hours. Pack accordingly and then enjoy this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sass02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you Sass02 for your review... and what a wonderful wedding day it was- despite all that changing weather! We are so very happy with the kind words that you shared about how memorable this experience was- and we will follow up on the dishwasher and the corners- feedback is a gift and I so glad that you shared. Our team spoke of how beautiful this wedding was and the incredible guests and the feeling on the resort- lots of love!

All the best and thank you again,

Yours in East Coast Hospitality- Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I had been longing to stay at Oceanstone after following their Instagram account. Our suite was over the restaurant, Rhubarb. The room was beautiful and comfortable and had a great view from the balcony. The balcony/deck seemed to need a bit of an update but it didn't impact our stay at all. The food at the restaurant was amazing, and we walked down to the beach after supper. Close to Peggy's Cove & just a beautiful location. Would love to go back with other families and rent a cottage.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank laulau9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We only booked 1 night and chose this location as it was only 5km from Peggy's Cove. I called the resort to let them know we would be arriving after 6pm and they said if we were later they would just leave the key for us, so it wasn't a problem.

We arrived just after 6pm and were greeted by Austin. He said that since the resort wasn't full he was going to offer us a free upgrade. We were give the Hollyhock #1 which was a fully efficient suite with a kitchenette and it had a view of the ocean.

Austin also called the Rhubarb restaurant for us and made reservations. He was very nice and helpful.

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

In the evening we went to the shared outdoor fireplace and enjoyed a nice evening by the fire listening to the waves crashing on the shore.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We were looking forward to staying at the Oceanstone Resort, but quickly became disappointed. We were not told that the room we booked was above the restaurant which is really on the roadside and not really in the complex (check out map). Then we were told to park down in the common parking area and follow the path up hill to the restaurant and you are on second floor which was more than a normal amount of stairs. Not an easy task for limited mobility seniors. The room was lavishly decorated but oh so small. Check out pic of Rhubarb 3. What you see is what you get for space. You could barely walk around the room. Just a large bed, bureau and two end tables, and the little space we had there was a large portable air conditioner there, this was placed to the right of the window just before bathroom. Not a sitting chair in the room. You can see how close the bed was to the wall and that footboard was so close to the bureau, you could not help but wack it on the way to the bathroom. So we had our options stand or go to bed. The tv did not work so at this point I was going to call the front office and no phone. My cell phone did not work nor did wifi. ( when you got close to the reservation office it worked) Oh and did I say that it was very noisy from the restaurant below? As pretty as it was it was. It was not comfortable at all. I did express my concern the next day at the desk that they need to explain the stair situation to people when they are making reservations. The woman at the desk sympathized with me and refunded 20%, but it would have been better if they were upfront about the room. I have learned something though I ask if there is an elevator if on second floor.

Room Tip: Noisy and small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linny7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Linny7272,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you were not informed of no elevator- Our Rhubarb Rooms do have stairs to access the units- we most certainly would have assisted with baggage for you. We do appreciate that Rhubarb 3 is one of our smaller rooms, we do have a variety of sizes on the property and accessible spaces as well. With regard to the wifi, we were not aware but had our system addressed as soon as we heard. The TV is sometimes confusing with the remote and we will investigate asap if the instructions are there which certainly come in handy. We are glad that you did enjoy the decor but certainly understand that the size was not what you were looking for.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly when you are returning to the area.

Take care,

Susan & your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Oceanstone Resort is just outside Peggy's Cove , Nova Scotia. The resort has several cottages with breathtaking views of the Cove and ocean. We were able to seat near the shore while having a glass of wine as the sunset on a beautiful day. The landscaping is wonderful and staff extremely helpful. The restaurant is just as wonderful and is award winning. The fish and chips were the best I have ever had outside of home.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Oceanstone and we are so happy that you had a relaxing time by the ocean and enjoying a glass of wine sounds like a perfect way to take it all in! We love hearing that are staff are helpful and we will pass on your comments to Rhubarb!

We look very forward to having you back with us!

Your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
31 km away
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
1,082 reviews
25 km away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
0.8 km away
Clifty Cove Motel
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
16.2 km away
Anchorage House & Cottages
14.7 km away
Surfside Inn
Surfside Inn
#1 of 1 in Queensland
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanstone Resort

Address: 8650 Peggys Cove Rd, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3P4, Canada (Formerly Oceanstone Inn & Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Indian Harbour
Price Range: C$90 - C$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanstone Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, comfortable and stunningly beautiful, Oceanstone provides a natural escape from a world stuck in fast forward. Weddings are our specialty, along with corporate retreats and getaways. Close to Halifax, Peggy's Cove and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanstone Inn & Cottages Hotel Nova Scotia
Oceanstone Inn And Cottages
Oceanstone Resort Nova Scotia/Indian Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing