We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
136
44
17
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
44
17
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stoverhubarb restaurantpeggy's covefire pitwedding coordinatornova scotiathe cottagesentire weekendromantic weekenddeck overlooking the oceancozy roomlarge balconyfront officepots and pansbed framefew minutes drivehaddock
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 209 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We were planning to stay in Halifax for two days and were not able to get a room. A marathon was going on. We were so fortunate for this, because we looked and booked the Oceanstone Resort and were able to enjoy the east coast feel. Our room was Rhubarb Rm 3 and was exceptional. There are many little and larger cottages than you could book, but our room was great for us. We walked around the property and felt so relaxed and sat at the waters edge and enjoyed the views of the sea. I had read about Polly's Cove hiking trails and the Oceanstone also suggested these trails. We only saw one or two people there in our three hours of hiking (we did kind of go off trail and found our way to the rocky islands. So enjoyable. Thank you forsuch a great two day stay

Room Tip: All rooms above the restaurant are good. Very quiet and share a common area with coffee, microwave, fridge and even board games.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you Mayan50 for taking the time to share your great experience at Oceanstone- We are delighted that Rhubarb 3 was a perfect spot for you to have as your base for what seem like amazing adventures! Polly's cove is such a gem nearby and often as you pointed out, a low traffic trail system :)

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the entire property and sat by the waters edge and took in the sea during this lovely fall weather.

We hope to have you back with us again!

Your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Oceanstone Resort provides a stunning backdrop for a wedding.
Beautiful east coast vistas; could it get any better than this?
The ocean views are incredible and the famous Peggy's Cove is just a few minutes away.
The staff provides warm East coast hospitality and are clearly dedicated to making the wedding day special.
I was very touched to see how hard they worked to make my niece's wedding beautiful.
If you want a memorable wedding experience, this is it.
Most of the rooms and cabins are steps from the ocean.
They are uniquely decorated and well-equipped.
Ours was a bit dusty in corners. The dishwasher didn't seem to get things clean.
That would be our only complaint.
One tip: the Rhubarb rooms aren't Oceanside. They're near the road, above a busy restaurant. The food is great there though.
Also the weather can change on a dime--on this September visit it was freezing one day and then warmed up within hours. Pack accordingly and then enjoy this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sass02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thank you Sass02 for your review... and what a wonderful wedding day it was- despite all that changing weather! We are so very happy with the kind words that you shared about how memorable this experience was- and we will follow up on the dishwasher and the corners- feedback is a gift and I so glad that you shared. Our team spoke of how beautiful this wedding was and the incredible guests and the feeling on the resort- lots of love!

All the best and thank you again,

Yours in East Coast Hospitality- Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

I had been longing to stay at Oceanstone after following their Instagram account. Our suite was over the restaurant, Rhubarb. The room was beautiful and comfortable and had a great view from the balcony. The balcony/deck seemed to need a bit of an update but it didn't impact our stay at all. The food at the restaurant was amazing, and we walked down to the beach after supper. Close to Peggy's Cove & just a beautiful location. Would love to go back with other families and rent a cottage.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank laulau9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We only booked 1 night and chose this location as it was only 5km from Peggy's Cove. I called the resort to let them know we would be arriving after 6pm and they said if we were later they would just leave the key for us, so it wasn't a problem.

We arrived just after 6pm and were greeted by Austin. He said that since the resort wasn't full he was going to offer us a free upgrade. We were give the Hollyhock #1 which was a fully efficient suite with a kitchenette and it had a view of the ocean.

Austin also called the Rhubarb restaurant for us and made reservations. He was very nice and helpful.

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

In the evening we went to the shared outdoor fireplace and enjoyed a nice evening by the fire listening to the waves crashing on the shore.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017

We were looking forward to staying at the Oceanstone Resort, but quickly became disappointed. We were not told that the room we booked was above the restaurant which is really on the roadside and not really in the complex (check out map). Then we were told to park down in the common parking area and follow the path up hill to the restaurant and you are on second floor which was more than a normal amount of stairs. Not an easy task for limited mobility seniors. The room was lavishly decorated but oh so small. Check out pic of Rhubarb 3. What you see is what you get for space. You could barely walk around the room. Just a large bed, bureau and two end tables, and the little space we had there was a large portable air conditioner there, this was placed to the right of the window just before bathroom. Not a sitting chair in the room. You can see how close the bed was to the wall and that footboard was so close to the bureau, you could not help but wack it on the way to the bathroom. So we had our options stand or go to bed. The tv did not work so at this point I was going to call the front office and no phone. My cell phone did not work nor did wifi. ( when you got close to the reservation office it worked) Oh and did I say that it was very noisy from the restaurant below? As pretty as it was it was. It was not comfortable at all. I did express my concern the next day at the desk that they need to explain the stair situation to people when they are making reservations. The woman at the desk sympathized with me and refunded 20%, but it would have been better if they were upfront about the room. I have learned something though I ask if there is an elevator if on second floor.

Room Tip: Noisy and small rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linny7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, President at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Linny7272,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you were not informed of no elevator- Our Rhubarb Rooms do have stairs to access the units- we most certainly would have assisted with baggage for you. We do appreciate that Rhubarb 3 is one of our smaller rooms, we do have a variety of sizes on the property and accessible spaces as well. With regard to the wifi, we were not aware but had our system addressed as soon as we heard. The TV is sometimes confusing with the remote and we will investigate asap if the instructions are there which certainly come in handy. We are glad that you did enjoy the decor but certainly understand that the size was not what you were looking for.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly when you are returning to the area.

Take care,

Susan & your Oceanstone Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews