We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Full-Day Beach Day at Grand Bend
1

Book in advance
from
C$127.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Pinery Provincial Park
from C$127.00
More Info
from C$179.00
More Info
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
293
155
28
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
155
28
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poison ivy lake huron canoe rentals riverside area nature center nice beach sites trail campsite camping burley campers beaches privacy yurts channels sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 495 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2014

We've never camped at the Pinery in peak season. We camp at the Pinery in April each year and the quietness and natural setting is amazing. We spent a great deal of time watching muskrats and ducks in the Ausable River, which was right beside our campsite.
Walking on the Riverside, Hickory and Bittersweet Trails are some of our favourite activities.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank ESmith583
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 1, 2014

We love the Pinery! I've been reading some of the negative reviews and want to speak to some of those. First of all, it's not Muskoka, it doesn't have the small lakes and rocky outcroppings, it's southern Lake Huron! Of course it has bugs, it's in the forest, lol. The river is not man made, it's a river that has been gradually filling in for many years because of the new cuts that have been made to the river. Google Old Ausable Channel and you'll get the info. It is one of the busiest parks in Ontario so it's hard to get a site, unfortunately, that's the way it is. They've been making changes to the reservation system for a while now to try and keep people from abusing the system but there's only so much they can do. It's definitely not a park you can decide to go to at the last minute.
Now to our stay in September. We camped in the Dunes as it's nice and close to the beach and Burley is closed, which is our area of choice. If you're wanting to walk to the beach, don't camp at Riverside. Staff drive the park, twice a day, it's pretty hard to be at all places at once to patrol for noise. They can't know of the noise if no one reports it. We had a great week even with the rain that we had. As usual, everything was great. September is a slower season for the park so make sure you pay attention to hours of operation of the store, visitor's centre etc. There are no programs going on in September, except I think on weekends. If you want to try the park at a quieter time of year, this is when to do it.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2014

beach, hiking trails, camping, bike and canoe rentals, dog friendly beach, gift shop, unique, rare ecological system of trees, tundra, dunes

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank JackandDianeandLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2014

We just came back from a beautiful, peaceful and scenic walk through some hiking trails at the Pinery Provincial Park. The water was too rough to swim today, but the beaches are sandy & pristine. We had hoped to bike through one of the long trails but the bike rental store was closed as it is considered off season now. I agree that off season with no ability to rent bikes, or peruse the Visitor Centre, $16 is a little steep for a park pass. This park is beautiful and the trails are great. We will go back on a weekend when we can go through the Visitor Centre and rent some bikes for some great exercise.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank KarnMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2014

Did 15 years straight of visiting this place for 1 summer weekend. It is a very family friendly park and offers terrific beaches for swimming. Lots of hiking trails and the potential to fish too. We usually were going as a group of aged 20 somethings. Alwyas had fun, definitely got some noise warnings over the years, but for the most part the park rangers were pretty cool about it as long as we turned it down a bit after the warning. Felt like lots of times if they saw a group of younger people they would just come give you a warning the first day they saw you to help ensure you don't bother others. Due to the size of this park and the closeness to London and the Bend there are lots of party/drinking campers that go here and so I realize they have to be vigilant.

Sites are good but definitely some are way better than others. If you want one that backs onto the dunes and is close to the water you need to book the day they become available (like 6 months in advance). Sites are a little close together sometimes and the ones with sand ground cover are literally all sand (gets into everything). We liked the dirt covered ones. Fire pits are good and lots of tress on the sites with SHADE for hanging tarps to protect from the rain we almost always seemed to get haha.

It can be a bit of a hike to the lake and or bathrooms. The bathrooms and showers are a little messier than some campgrounds I have been to, but have never seen ones I would say are clean. The dunes are my fav part of this park. Great place to lay back and look at the stars. Sunsets on the beac are fantastic too. Swimming is good and can be fun on days with big waves (be cautious of undertow and no lifeguards).

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank NateHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews