We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Full-Day Beach Day at Grand Bend
1

Book in advance
from
C$127.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Pinery Provincial Park
from C$127.00
More Info
from C$179.00
More Info
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
293
155
28
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
155
28
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poison ivy lake huron canoe rentals riverside area nature center nice beach sites trail campsite camping burley campers beaches privacy yurts channels sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 495 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2024

We winter camped twice at the pinery in 2024 with our 36 foot fifth wheel camper. What a lovely time of year to camp. The park is very empty at this time and you can explore the trails and beach without hardly running into anyone.

The section of the park that is open during the winter months is called Riverside #1. They have heated showers and heated washrooms in this area of the park only. The map and trailer size needs to updated. There are a lot of lots when booking online that say a trailer over 32 feet won't fit on certain sites which minimizes the spots available. This map/website information is not accurate and needs to be updated as larger trailers will fit on many but not all lots that are zoned out for over 32 feet. This is the case in many parts of the park. We walked through the park looking for sites in the summer, some lots said 32 and under and there lots that will fit a 40 foot trailer, so keep this in mind when booking. Also, take note of how far away the electrical is, some sites you need a lot of cord to reach, that part is accurate.

The dump station is open but there is no water available. We just brought a big water jug to flush out our toilet when dumping and then re-winterized immediately. We did not use water in our trailer otherwise, washrooms were close.

Lots of birds to be found in the park and the chickadees will eat out of your hand.

The visitor center is open on weekends. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Wood can be bought at the front gate and we found it to be nice and dry.

Overall, great stay, we wish they would open more of the park up to camping opportunities in the winter. Especially the sites along the river. It seems to be a popular spot.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Jamie_Canada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2023

This provincial park would be one of the gems of the Ontario provincial park system but sadly due to cattle ranching operations in the area the entire Beach is infested with stable flies.

Stable flies are one of the worst human pests because they are so well adapted to us that they seem almost intelligent.

They will bite your ankles and arms relentlessly and the bites are very painful. Deet is totally ineffective against them, and there is only one repellent that marginally repels them and I'm not telling you what it is.

At some times there may be 10 or 20 flies attacking you at the time and all you can do is run or suffer their intensely painful bites.

Their mode of biting is that like a mosquito so they can bite right through most clothing.

They are a nightmare that are Ontario provincial government is doing nothing about.

Pinery is one of my favorite places that I never visit anymore because you never know how bad it's going to be and the Ontario park system has no reporting system.

It is a mess of denial and incompetence

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2023

The Pinery is a fabulous Provincial Park with so much to see and do. The beaches are amazing and the sunsets are spectacular. The one issue that we had is tje condition of the roads. With the park being large and spread out there are many kilometers of roadways to traverse. The roads are so bad oin some spots due to gigantic pot holes you'd think you were in a third world country. This is one of tje most popular parks in the province with hundreds of camp sites, surely tje province can come up with the finds to fix this glaring problem. Drive very slow folks and keep your eyes on the road ahead or you may find yourself needing a front end alignment.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank ausisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2023

Right after our visit to Grand Bend beach we decided to visit the Pinery Provincial Park and check out their beach area.

There are 10 parking lots near the beach.Parking lots 1& 2 are pet friendly so you can walk your dogs here.We decided to park in Parking Lot 3 which has access to the beach thru wooden stairs.

The sand in this beach is much finer than the one in the Grand Bend beach.We collected some pebble stones from the shoreline to use as decor for our home. The drive to the beach area from the entrance is quite long.

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 9, 2023

We visited the Pinery on Easter weekend 2023, and we stayed in Riverside campground area 1, campsite 442. This campsite is full sun all day, which is really great for early spring or late fall camping. Our campsite had no privacy, was a pull-through site with lanes on both sides, open entirely. There was some light trees and bushes between us and the next campsites, but not enough to afford privacy. We were lookng straight in on the campsite next to us. The site was very sandy which is quite nice.

This area had high population density with numerous cabins and yurts in the area as well. The washrooms were very clean, and well-maintained while we were there.

In a prior review I mentioned that at the Pinery that time wardens did not patrol in our area at all. This time we saw them everyday which is both an improvement, and in keeping with our experiences at other provincial parks.

There is a lot to do at the Pinery with different activities all weekend (very important)! There are many trails, beautiful waterway (old Ausable Channel), and Lake Huron with beautiful sandy beaches. There are also canoe rentals, a visitor centre and a store.

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews