We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Theatre, Spectacular show”

Huron Country Playhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in a picturesque country setting, the Huron Country Playhouse is just minutes from the shores of sparkling Lake Huron in the heart of Ontario's West Coast. This popular vacation destination is full of charm and endless possibilities to discover breathtaking beaches, culinary delights, outstanding accommodations, unique shopping and countless recreational pursuits. In 2011 the Huron Country Playhouse celebrated its landmark 40th Anniversary with an ambitious $4.0 million capital infrastructure expansion and improvement project. Visitors to the theatre can see the upgrades to the front-of-house including new washrooms, lobby, refreshment bar, box office, and gift shop operated by the Huron Country Playhouse Guild, a community-based organization comprised of 90 volunteers.There are 650 brand new theatre seats in the mainstage, and the Playhouse II has been completely renovated, increasing from 150 chairs to a fully raked 300 seat auditorium. Infrared hearing and wheelchair access are available to patrons who require special assistance. A visit to the Huron Country Playhouse takes less than an hour from Stratford, London and Sarnia.
Reviewed 24 June 2016

I have been to this theatre numerous times and I always enjoy the amazing performances. The theatre itself is comfortable, the seats are all good, don't shy away from the balcony, the seats are great. Most recently we attended Sister Act and were in awe at the fabulous performance. A must experience theatre, hight caliber, easy parking, great theatre layout, no complaints.

Thank klandd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at Huron Country Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the Huron Country Playhouse and our latest production of "Sister Act". We are so happy you enjoyed your experience from start to finish. We look forward to seeing you out in Grand Bend for another great year of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment
1-855-DRAYTON (372-9866)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Huron Country Playhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2016

Saw a show, Sister Act, Amazing show, nothing like the movie but a quality production. Tremendous voices in entire cast. Very funny show the reaction of the audience was almost non stop applause and laughter.
The Playhouse is a wonderful venue with lots of parking and picnic areas. There is an on-site bar and gift shop. All the staff were friendy, helpful and knowledgeable.

Thank leasideToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at Huron Country Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the Huron Country Playhouse and our latest production of "Sister Act". We are so happy your experience was full of laughter! We look forward to seeing you out in Grand Bend for another great year of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment
1-855-DRAYTON (372-9866)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

I have been going to Huron Country Playhouse for years. They never disappoint in their productions. They are top notch and reasonable in ticket prices. I would highly recommend Drayton Entertainment in Grand Bend. It's worth the drive!

Thank SherriLynn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at Huron Country Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the Huron Country Playhouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience at our theater over the years. We look forward to seeing you out in Grand Bend for another great summer of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment
1-855-DRAYTON (372-9866)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We stopped in to see a dance contest that travels around Canada. Lots of kids, lots of parents, and lots of everything in general but they handled it well. Great parking and accommodation for the event. Local talent as well as from out of town.

Thank DougNemeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at Huron Country Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the Huron Country Playhouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience at the dance competition last weekend. We look forward to seeing you out in Grand Bend for another great year of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I have been enjoying the productions at the Huron Country Playhouse for many years. In the year 2000 the theatre joined forces with Drayton Entertainment and the quality of productions increased dramatically. The shows are run by true theatre professionals and the quality for your price of admission simply cannot be beat. The main stage has seating for 650 while the Playhouse II can seat 350.

The country setting is quite nice. As well, you will find a bar, snacks, gift shop, washrooms, and ample parking.

I consider this a must experience for anyone visiting the Grand Bend area (and for residents of the area who have not yet had the pleasure of seeing one of these great shows).

1  Thank gthombos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at Huron Country Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the Huron Country Playhouse. We are so happy you have enjoyed your experience at our theatre and appreciate your ongoing support. This June we are opening the theatre with Sister Act (HCP) and Unnecessary Farce (HCPII). We look forward to seeing you out in Grand Bend for another great year of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huron Country Playhouse also viewed

Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
 

Been to Huron Country Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing