We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We arrived Friday October 14th, 2011. The lady at the desk was very pleasant and our event was in lights at the check in . We were very pleased. We found all staff to be very accomodating and our two breakfasts were excellent. The dinner on Saturday night was excellent and the service at the pub was great. Our Room (king size bed was great ,) Very clean room with great amenities. Modern with fireplace and a newer tv. We had several People at our event and the staff were very accomodating, and looked after our hospitality room ,supplying our basic needs, glasses tables, table cloths and extra chairs. We had a great weekend and enjoyed the comforts of the inn. (class reunion.)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    135
    72
    51
    18
See reviews for
144
117
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed her in August with my 3 kids on the recommendation of a friend. While it's by far the best hotel in Grand Bend, it was not ideal for a number of reasons. The breakfast buffet was mediocre at best (few food choices & no real fresh fruit). It was one of the skimpiest buffets I have ever been to. Kids activities were virtually non existent even though they advertised smores at 7:30 PM each night. The AC in the room was difficult to operate & blow dryer smoked & then stopped working on day 2 of our trip. We tried to book spa treatments but were told that reservations should be made 1-2 weeks in advance!!!The main attraction in Grand Bend (jet ski/water trampoline) was closed down the entire time we were there which was a huge disappointment to the kids.We eventually drove to nearby Bayfield & wished we had discovered the shopping & restaurants sooner. Not sure we will ever return to either Grand Bend or the Oakwood Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Every year it is a pleasure for our family to book into the Oakwood Resort for a long weekend visit. We always look forward to the drive and staying at this resort and enjoying the amenities of the Grand Bend strip and beach. This year was a serious disappointment. We booked reservations to celebrate a parents 65th birthday and stayed in the Pine Lodge. Imagine our surprise when every railing was in need of serious repair, missing spindles, wobbly railings, etc. My mother found old kleenex in a dresser drawer and coffee supplies were never replenished during our visit, however there a Tim Hortons down the road! My husband, son and father always enjoy a round of golf - this is the second year in a row there was no cart service. Imagine playing on a hot day with no water or snacks available unless you had thought to bring your own. Perhaps the most disappointing service was the Clubhouse restaurant. On both evenings where we attempted to dine, the first evening we sat in the bar waiting for a table and were told it would be at least an hour before anyone could serve us or take a food order. We were fortunate enough to secure a round table in the corner of the bar and the bar tender, a terrific young university student, looked after us and took our order and made sure we were comfortable. The next evening on a return visit, we stood at the podium wating for someone to acknowledge us - finally after 10 minutes or more a young waitress came and said sorry we're full even though they had empty tables. She explained that the tables were for people waiting in the bar. When we asked if we could take their seats we were informed that it would still be at least a hour to an hour and a half before they could deal with us. By this time, it was well after 8:00 p.m. We ended up leaving and driving to a little burger/hot dog stand (excellent food and friendly service) not what we had planned for birthday celebration!! There is another dining room on the resort, however, it was closed and when we asked the waitress could not answer any questions. We have always enjoyed this resort and the area, however, service and accomodations were just not what they used to be. We'll be looking elsewhere next year for a mini family vacation. The highlight of our trip was a return visit to Aunt Gussie's a great family restaurant in Grand Bend where food and service are always exceptional, give it a try if you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Director of Sales at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you have enjoyed staying at Oakwood Resort in the past, and hope that, despite this negative experience, you will continue to do so in the future.

Unfortunately, we were having a hard time obtaining the spindles to fix the railings in Pine Lodge as they were on back order and custom made. In the meantime, for safety purposes, we did reinforce the bigger gaps with 2x4s. The railings have now been repaired by a licensed contractor.
We are sorry that you have missed out on the bar cart during your most recent visits. During the months of June, July and August we do have our snack cart service available Thursday through Sunday only, as the course is too slow at the beginning of the week to warrant one.
The best way to ensure timely seating and service in the Clubhouse is to make reservations in advance if it is for a table of four or more, especially on a Friday or Saturday of a long weekend, since we are always busy!
We do strive for superior service and cleanliness, however we obviously did not obtain that for your stay and we do apologize and hope that you will not be disappointed should you decide to stay again.

David Bartlam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Bend hotels

Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Oakwood Inn for another weekend getaway to Grand Bend while visiting family in the area and although the rooms were renovated we still think the hotel could do so much better. The bathrooms claim to be renovated but basically only a new counter and mirror was added (no glass or upgraded shower/tub). The continental breakfast was not good at all .... by the time I got there at 9:30 there were only a few fruit in a basket left and some muffins. For $200 a night you would expect to have access to the breakfast buffet but apparently this is an upgrade. The fitness centre is mediocre at best and the property altogether could use some upgrading. The main attraction of this hotel is its location on the beach.

I should also mention that we had some service issues - I had called Thursday night last week and the person at the front desk said they were sold out. I decided to try again Friday morning and sure enough a bunch of rooms came available. Either someone made a mistake on Thursday night or a great deal of people cancelled on the Thursday night - not sure. The other issue was when we requested a better hair dryer for our room they did not have anything better than the small compact dryers - so remember to bring your own!!

On another note - we also noticed that our shower was not properly cleaned before the room was provided.

Room Tip: Request an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Director of Sales at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your comments.

The rooms for that weekend did become available very last minute and we could not have predicted that this would happen. We did have 6-10 cancellations Thursday night due to the weather forecast being poor. We also had rooms come available that had been previously blocked off for the first response police officers that were helping with the Goderich disaster; it was not until Friday morning that we were informed that they were not going to be needing the rooms as they were cutting back the number of first responders needed.

We greatly appreciate your comments - I hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you again in the very near future.

David Bartlam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Oakwood Resort is a fabulous place for couples and families. The resort is a short distance from the heart of Grand Bend, but located in a secluded section. Staff is extremely helpful, rooms are spacious. Overall a great value!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling11549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesrock
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Short walk to the beach. About 1 mile from the downtown area ($8. cab ride). Beautiful golf course. There is a restaurant on site. The rooms were very nice and absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

My husband and I would not normally stay at a place like Oakwood, but the location was right for a family reunion in Forest. In any case, this seemed like a reasonable option based on what we read on the website and we did appropriately set our expectations. Even then, Oakwood seemed to disappoint on all dimensions. OK, the grounds are lovely and well maintained. And I am sure the Golf Course is a good one (we didn't have time to play). The private beach is very nice and just a few minutes walk. The wrist bands for the beach were provided as we checked in, so we did not have the access problem other reviewers referenced. It would have been nice if beach towels were provided. The pool towels that are provided do not suffice.
We were given what seemed to be a reasonable room on the first floor of the Oak Lodge. It was clean and must have been recently refurbished, except for a few things like the hole that someone must have kicked in the bathroom door. The decor in the room was very woodsy - dark green and brown, and with the dim compact flourescent lighting, it was always dark in the room except when we had the curtains fully opened - and then we had no privacy since we were on the first floor. The room was air-conditioned but there were no instructions on how to use the remote controlled unit and, of course, no one answers the phone for service (even though the guest guide in the room says you can call for anything you need). After a half hour of fiddling around, and switching the batteries around with the remote from the fireplace, we did get the AC to work.
And then there is the noise transfer from the hallway and the room upstairs. I am sure there were not a family of elephants staying above us, but it sure sounded like it. And why they needed to walk the length of the room several times each night at 4 AM is a mystery - but it happened all 4 nights we were there. Since the golfers were all up early each morning, we didn't get a lot of sleep.
As far as the food goes, it is poor to average at best. The included Continental breakfast is paltry, and the upgraded full buffet is not a lot better. We also had dinner in the Oak Dining Room one evening and the food was not bad, but average at best as was the service. The lunch we had at the Pub was also average. Service in the pub, however, was very good.
OK, and then the final issue, parking. Basically there is not enough. So if you come back after dinner in the evening, you pretty much have to create your own parking, because unless you want to make the long walk from the parking lot at the entrance, there is none.
Bottom line is that we will likely find someplace else to stay next time we need to go to Forest for a reunion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Director of Sales at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your comments.

We do not charge for parking at Oakwood Resort, and while we do have 1.5 parking spots per room at the Resort, they can sometimes be full if there is a conference or wedding, since these events result in extra guests at the time. While there may not be parking available in the lot most adjacent to your room, there is almost always space somewhere else on the Resort, and there are loading and unloading areas in front of each lodge.
The front desk staff does their best to answer the phones in a timely manner 24 hours/day, however, if they are on the other line or with a guest at the counter and unable to answer your call at that time, we encourage you to leave a message and your call will be returned as soon as possible.
We do realize that the energy efficient bulbs we were using in the rooms, while better for the environment, are quite dim when they are first turned on. For this reason, we are in the process of replacing them with a sharper, brighter bulb.
This year, during the high season, we tried out a continental breakfast for the first time. It is a new endeavor, and as such, we are still working out the kinks. We do welcome feedback in this area so we can improve.
If you do have any issues with noise from other rooms we would suggest calling the front desk immediately. We are a large property, and while we do have security on site, they are not always aware of every problem or issue at a given time. By calling the front desk, the staff is able to make security aware so they can then deal with the problems. If we are not informed, then we do not know there is a problem that needs to be handled.
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

David Bartlam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
12.0 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
28.8 km away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.5 km away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#6 of 8 in Grand Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
16.8 km away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
40.1 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing