We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
533
152
34
20
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
152
34
20
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jack sprat abalone pelican bar pizza mussels ys falls outdoor shower the salt water pool laid back yoga retreat black river seafood hope house captain joseph rum punch hour drive montego bay
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 762 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a charming establishment. A great welcome, upgraded room for part of the holiday but our booked room with no air conditioning was charming and comfortable, they were clean and pretty with fans and tea and coffee facilities. There were out door loungers and tiny private terraces. The out door shower was surprisingly comfortable. There is a Spa. The eating areas are pretty, the table staff mostly very helpful, delicious menus with home cooked ingredients. Then there is jolly Jack Spratts for pizzas at the beach next door. It is a fun arty place, snorkel and swim just to hand with a beach very nearby. In spite of nets, creams and coils the mosquitos did bite me and ants too! Jakes is in a beautiful setting and the families seemed to really enjoy it too. It was a bit noisy on our last night and I could not identify the source.

Room Tip: The sea views are delightful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I spent 6 nights at Jakes from March 11-17 for a yoga retreat taught by Alyssa Cohen.The yoga retreat was an amazing experience! I have travelled to a few warm destinations and Jakes is a unique property. The 2.5 hour ride from the Montego Bay airport is challenging with many winding roads. However, once you get there it is all worth it. There is a real charm to being in an unspoiled area and integrated into the local community.
I stayed in a gardenview room and found it to be comfortable. No phone, tv, basic washroom and not great lighting made for a rustic, but pleasant stay.
I really enjoyed lounging by the pool and ocean in the comfortable loungers. The food served by the pool at the main restaurant was outstanding. I most enjoyed the callaloo and porridge.
Every meal I had was very enjoyable. The food was prepared with care and fresh, local flavour.
The whole environment of Jakes was super relaxed and I found myself unwinding with ease. I would highly recommend it as a place to go unwind and recharge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

As frequent visitors to Jamaica (this was our seventh trip), we were pretty sure we could imagine the full range of accommodations the island has to offer. That is, until we came to Jake's...

Treasure Beach itself is a gem, with its beautiful beaches, stately acacia trees, and fertile farmland, but most of all, because of the people who call it home. There is a true feeling of community everywhere you go, which makes it easy to feel safe and at home when wandering.

This community vibe was particularly obvious at Jake's itself, where the goal is to have guests "feel like they are staying with good friends." In our case, they succeeded. The little touches - a ride down the way in the rain, a crib with an extra mosquito net for our son, taking care of all the details for our excursions - made a big difference.

Perhaps most importantly, we never felt like we were putting anyone out by asking. The staff were universally polite, responsive, and timely in their service. Jake's employment practices may have something to do with that: happy staff make for happy guests! Jake's has also kept up the maintenance on their property, invested in a functional computerized billing system, and established good connections with local businesses. 

Jake's arranged an air transfer from Monetgo Bay to the Lionel Densham airstrip, which was great. It's an amazing way to see the area, and saves a two-and-a-half hour car trip.

We stayed one week in the Calabash cottage, a basic but very functional two-bedroom cottage down the road from Jake's. The main drawback was a fair hike to the hotel and Jack Sprat restaurant, as well as the occasional unwanted insect visitor. This was more than made up for by the amazing location (right on the beach), and relative privacy of the cottage. If staying for a long time, cooking is possible in the kitchenette. There is a small grocery store, cash machine, and Internet cafe just a short block away at Kingfisher Plaza.

We traveled with two parents, a two-year old, and grandmother. There was plenty to appeal to everyone, especially the food - which at both Jake's and Jack Sprat was amazing - the spa, and the childcare (ask for nanny Peaches). All in all, this was our most enjoyable Jamaican holiday, and a truly memorable family vacation. We recommend Jake's without hesitation.

One love! The Kelly Family

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyFriends747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Jake's during our orund trip op jamaica. After a 2,5 hour drive form Montego Bay we arrived at Jake's and where taken by the tranquility of the place. The food was excellent and the staff very very friendly. Hired some bikes to cycle around the village and did some good birding on the nearby lakes.

The place is a little bit difficult to find even with the GPS navigation set we rented with the Hertz car.

Room Tip: we had the basic room which for us was more than fine
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2012

An absolute paradise very rustic and charming. Far from the typical all-incl resorts in other part of the island.
Rooms are charming and very basic. Much better those fronting the sea: those closer to the Spa area are the quitest and most secluded
If you are looking for a pure beach holiday probably is not the best option but for a taste of real jamiaca with all the comforts that's the place
Close to great excursions: YS Falls 1 hour and Pellican Bar, 30 mins by boat
Perfect for couples and friends

Room Tip: Ask for those fronting the sea. Those near the SPA are the most private
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giamma879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews