We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

There is a reason why Jakes have so many repeat visitors, this place is full of charm.
Book a room facing the sea (their website has lots of info on the rooms). Dougie does the best fruit juice cocktails ever and the food is outstanding.
This place is just fabulous, please go and do yourself a favour.

Room Tip: Book a sea facing room with balcony. The top floors have more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicureanpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    124
    28
    18
    19
See reviews for
97
320
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Cotswolds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a charming establishment. A great welcome, upgraded room for part of the holiday but our booked room with no air conditioning was charming and comfortable, they were clean and pretty with fans and tea and coffee facilities. There were out door loungers and tiny private terraces. The out door shower was surprisingly comfortable. There is a Spa. The eating areas are pretty, the table staff mostly very helpful, delicious menus with home cooked ingredients. Then there is jolly Jack Spratts for pizzas at the beach next door. It is a fun arty place, snorkel and swim just to hand with a beach very nearby. In spite of nets, creams and coils the mosquitos did bite me and ants too! Jakes is in a beautiful setting and the families seemed to really enjoy it too. It was a bit noisy on our last night and I could not identify the source.

Room Tip: The sea views are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I spent 6 nights at Jakes from March 11-17 for a yoga retreat taught by Alyssa Cohen.The yoga retreat was an amazing experience! I have travelled to a few warm destinations and Jakes is a unique property. The 2.5 hour ride from the Montego Bay airport is challenging with many winding roads. However, once you get there it is all worth it. There is a real charm to being in an unspoiled area and integrated into the local community.
I stayed in a gardenview room and found it to be comfortable. No phone, tv, basic washroom and not great lighting made for a rustic, but pleasant stay.
I really enjoyed lounging by the pool and ocean in the comfortable loungers. The food served by the pool at the main restaurant was outstanding. I most enjoyed the callaloo and porridge.
Every meal I had was very enjoyable. The food was prepared with care and fresh, local flavour.
The whole environment of Jakes was super relaxed and I found myself unwinding with ease. I would highly recommend it as a place to go unwind and recharge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

As frequent visitors to Jamaica (this was our seventh trip), we were pretty sure we could imagine the full range of accommodations the island has to offer. That is, until we came to Jake's...

Treasure Beach itself is a gem, with its beautiful beaches, stately acacia trees, and fertile farmland, but most of all, because of the people who call it home. There is a true feeling of community everywhere you go, which makes it easy to feel safe and at home when wandering.

This community vibe was particularly obvious at Jake's itself, where the goal is to have guests "feel like they are staying with good friends." In our case, they succeeded. The little touches - a ride down the way in the rain, a crib with an extra mosquito net for our son, taking care of all the details for our excursions - made a big difference.

Perhaps most importantly, we never felt like we were putting anyone out by asking. The staff were universally polite, responsive, and timely in their service. Jake's employment practices may have something to do with that: happy staff make for happy guests! Jake's has also kept up the maintenance on their property, invested in a functional computerized billing system, and established good connections with local businesses. 

Jake's arranged an air transfer from Monetgo Bay to the Lionel Densham airstrip, which was great. It's an amazing way to see the area, and saves a two-and-a-half hour car trip.

We stayed one week in the Calabash cottage, a basic but very functional two-bedroom cottage down the road from Jake's. The main drawback was a fair hike to the hotel and Jack Sprat restaurant, as well as the occasional unwanted insect visitor. This was more than made up for by the amazing location (right on the beach), and relative privacy of the cottage. If staying for a long time, cooking is possible in the kitchenette. There is a small grocery store, cash machine, and Internet cafe just a short block away at Kingfisher Plaza.

We traveled with two parents, a two-year old, and grandmother. There was plenty to appeal to everyone, especially the food - which at both Jake's and Jack Sprat was amazing - the spa, and the childcare (ask for nanny Peaches). All in all, this was our most enjoyable Jamaican holiday, and a truly memorable family vacation. We recommend Jake's without hesitation.

One love! The Kelly Family

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyFriends747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Jake's during our orund trip op jamaica. After a 2,5 hour drive form Montego Bay we arrived at Jake's and where taken by the tranquility of the place. The food was excellent and the staff very very friendly. Hired some bikes to cycle around the village and did some good birding on the nearby lakes.

The place is a little bit difficult to find even with the GPS navigation set we rented with the Hertz car.

Room Tip: we had the basic room which for us was more than fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

An absolute paradise very rustic and charming. Far from the typical all-incl resorts in other part of the island.
Rooms are charming and very basic. Much better those fronting the sea: those closer to the Spa area are the quitest and most secluded
If you are looking for a pure beach holiday probably is not the best option but for a taste of real jamiaca with all the comforts that's the place
Close to great excursions: YS Falls 1 hour and Pellican Bar, 30 mins by boat
Perfect for couples and friends

Room Tip: Ask for those fronting the sea. Those near the SPA are the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giamma879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My Wife and I were looking for a relaxing getaway at a very laid-back off beat boutique hotel in the islands with out the kids. Didn't want an all exclusive mega resort. We found Jakes through Compass Point. And it was incredible. We flew direct to Montego Bay from PHL.

O'Neal from Jakes picked us up and drove us down to Treasure beach (About 2 hours) The ride is a little crazy.

The hotel is really a collection of funky villas and guest rooms spread out on the edge of the ocean. In the middle is the reception office, a small sandy beach area, a small salt water pool, Dougies bar and the out side cafe. Dougie and Lacia made great drinks. Although we mostly drank rum and ginger beer.

The pool was better than I had expected.

The food at the cafe was very simple and fresh. The chef cooks at an out door grill. They use fresh local produce and fish. Everything we had was delicious. Grilled Kingfish with rice and peas, grilled lamb, Jerk Chicken. etc.

Everyone was very friendly. Nikki, Shawna, Christopher and the whole staff always had a big smile on their face and were happy to offer suggestions or arrange excursions for us.

We stayed in Octopus. One of three very private villas right on the water. The first floor is the bedroom. The shower and tub are out side. The double doors open to a tiled patio with a few chairs overlooking the water. Stairs lead up to the roof top with couches, pillows and a table. Great views of the sunset every night and a million stars. We had our dinner delivered up to the roof one night. The room is new and very clean. The windows all had screens and we had no problems with mosquitos.

Jack Sprats is a laid back cafe connected to the hotel grounds. Great music all day. Saturday night a reggae band performed for a decent crowed of locals and tourists. The food was very good. Try the conch in curry and the shrimp in coconut.

The sandy beach in front of Jack Sprats is good for a quick swim.

Highly recommend the trip to YS Falls and Zip Lining. Deron drove us up to the falls about an hour away. The falls are nice and the water crystal clear. Great swimming. the zip line was a lot of fun.

the best part of the trip was the day that Captain Joseph took us to a private beach in his fishing boat. When we arrived his son and the chef met us on the beach.They had a table, chairs and an umbrella set up with a fire going on the beach. The chef cooked up an incredible lunch of lobster and snapper with rice and peas of course. Joseph mixed up a few rum drinks and we had the best meal of our lives on the beach.

Later he took us to the Pelican Bar. It is more a work of art than a bar. It can not be properly described but imagine a man made giant birds nest in the middle of the sea that serves red stripe. It was an incredible trip.

We have nothing but great memories and want to thank the whole Jakes staff for making our vacation perfect.

Room Tip: Get the Octopus rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
76.5 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
147.2 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
93.7 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.8 km away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Property: Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Address: Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chicest shack in the Caribbean" – Vogue Magazine. --- "Welcome to one of Caribbean's funkiest resorts, where reggae and rock stars, doctors and lawyers, writers and artists come to taste the real Jamaica." - Island Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jake`s Hotel, Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Jake`s Hotel, Villa And Spa
Jakes St Elizabeth
Jakes Hotel St Elizabeth
Jakes Jamaica
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing