We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MycoMeditations Psilocybin-Assisted Retreats
Review Highlights
Amazing Experience

I have been to MycoMediaitions twice - in February 2023 and April 2024. Both times were in the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Greg G
Best experience of my life

For 30 years I have dealt with depression and anxiety. In the last 4 years, at times, it has been... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cruiser595678
via mobile
Read all 281 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Jamaica
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
274
2
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
274
2
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews life changing experience mental health profound experience blue marlin group setting support staff plant medicine meditation practice group sessions other guests supportive environment magic mushroom personal growth my entire life personal journey week long retreat rainbow tree
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 281 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2024

This was actually my second retreat with Myco, this time at the luxurious Treasure Beach accommodations. Both the location and the amenities, such as food for those with dietary restrictions, make this a wonderful opportunity for personal growth in a welcoming and peaceful environment.

As some other reviewers have mentioned, psychedelics by themselves are not a cure for one’s psychological problems. Rather, both the combination of psychedelic therapy and integration work can lead to tremendous breakthroughs and insights.

The facilitators and therapists do a wonderful job guiding visitors through what can be very challenging personal work. I believe the secret is true empathy on the part of the facilitators for what each individual may be going through. It is beyond just their professional training, rather it’s genuine caring for others that can’t be fabricated or counterfeited. At least this is what I encountered among the facilitators I received guidance from. The protocol involves three dosing days separated by group integration, involving a discussion by the whole cohort of guests and facilitators.

While I have always found the mushroom trips difficult to handle, they have sometimes given me glimpses into a reality of joy and gratitude that I have seldom experienced and even doubted the existence of. If you have gone through other therapeutic approaches without success Myco offers an experience I would highly recommend.

Date of experience: February 2024
2  Thank V8304FPphilipd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 3, 2024

Wonderful. Enlightening. Inspiring. Enjoyable. Caring.

These and many other words barely begin to describe my experience at Myco this past April 2024. I first applied and was accepted back in 2021, but due to some negative reviews I decided to wait. I have watched this group become more professional over the last 3 years, and watching reviews finally decided to attend in 2024. I have extreme anxiety and CPTSD and no travel was going to be “carefree.” This, however, was as close to carefree as could be achieved. The Myco group kept track of our travel itineraries and made arrangements to meet us quickly after landing. I enjoyed a quick meal before even leaving the airport, arranged by Myco. We did have a long ride to the retreat, but the driver was great, and we had a restroom/restaurant break half-way to the destination. We got to know each other during the ride and I was impressed with the range of issues that each visitor was coming to work on. Everyone seemed very dedicated to self-improvement.

Upon arriving at the retreat we were immediately shown to our rooms and given cool drinks. The room had all of the necessary comforts including ceiling fan, air-conditioning and adjoining bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, the mattress firm, and linens were clean and included extra beach towels. The room was attached to one of the 2 main buildings which housed all 9 guests.
The grounds at the retreat were terrific. There are so many areas for solitude and relaxation. I was still discovering new nooks on this relatively small property even half-way through the trip. The gardens are very well tended and I enjoyed all of the different native plants including the plumeria tree and “trees of life” throughout the retreat.

There are so many nice people working at Myco that I’m embarrassed to only be referencing them so far into my review. They were just the best and worked so very hard to make even the most anxious of us (me) feel welcome and included, which must not have been easy. If you have any of the following at your retreat, consider yourself lucky: Mike (one of the new owners), Sadi, Adaeze, Shanika, Shelly, Steve, Michael and an amazing kitchen and support staff who never made me feel that I was imposing on them. I felt so lucky to be with such a caring group, and they featured in my “trip” with the mushrooms as energetic and caring spectators urging us along to the finish line as if we (visitors/guests) we’re accomplishing some hard-fought race to being cured of our afflictions. I truly felt that each staff was there to help us achieve our own personal goals.
The counselors participated in group sessions which were daily, and they were all extremely caring. The other guests were well selected and respectful of each other, staff and the facilities. I’m certain I’ll value the friendships I made in such a short time.

The beach was very inviting and just a gate away from the grounds. I went swimming several mornings and had coffee at 6am most days, which was setup by Michael and others each day. The food was very appetizing and there were options for the guests with dietary restrictions.
The mushroom sessions were challenging, but the post-care/integration sessions were invaluable to process uncovered feelings and challenging emotions. 1 trip was particularly difficult for me, but the aftercare by the staff and shared experience by several of the guests turned the trip into one of my most memorable and I’ll be forever grateful.

Many of the guests had very emotional inward journeys and I’m in awe of their profound insights and was so humbled to be allowed to participate.
I didn’t overcome my debilitating anxiety, but I do think it has lessened and nearly every day I’m encountering an experience that I reflect back on and think “that wasn’t as bad as it used to be.” Improvement seems to continue after the “trips” and not just immediately afterwards but days and weeks later.

I miss “my group” and the warm Myco team. They are doing great work, one client at a time. I’m glad I went and trusted the process that Myco has laid out. Everything was so well scripted and arranged, that even a freak storm and brief power-outage didn’t interrupt, since the accommodations had backup generators. For an anxious person, this trip could not have been better planned and executed.

I’d recommend this group over any other, even in the US if it were to become possible/legalized. The mushrooms are only a part of the equation; the staff and the guests are equally important and I trust, having seen firsthand, the Myco team to facilitate life-changing growth and not just a meaningless psychedelic journey. Kudos to Mike, Steve, Abbie, Justin and everyone else at Myco, and thank you from the bottom of my heart for allowing me to come. I saw glimpses of my “normal” self I haven’t seen in decades and that gives me hope for the future. Thank you for everything you do.
-Aaron

Date of experience: April 2024
1  Thank Aaron Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 26, 2024

Just got back from Mycomeditations at the Blue Marlin ! From the moment of being greeted at the airport to our returning trip, I felt taken care of and at home . The 3 trips over the week were supported by therapeutic integration. It was amazing ! The team that supported our dosing and integration were incredible ( Steve, Sadie , Adaeze , Shelly , Shanicka and Mike ) ! The team at Mycomeditations took care of every detail with so much passion and love ( set and setting / support/ food )! I am so happy I gave myself this gift of introspection and with the team at Myco. Also a shout out to Beccy who kept us moving and entertained with great mushroom jokes .

Date of experience: April 2024
1  Thank MichaelLinda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 26, 2024

Amazing experience. Very hard to put into words though. Rainbow Tree was awesome, great food & staff & accommodations. But even better were the counselors and the sessions (both dosing and integration). We did some fun side trips plus you can just go walk right there on the beautiful beach. Overall accomplished a lot and left me with lots to think about and embrace some new tools to better my life on a daily basis!

Date of experience: March 2024
1  Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 24, 2024

Definitely ranks as one of the most positive experiences of my life. It has brought my wife and me closer together than I thought possible.

Date of experience: March 2024
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews