We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
522
206
25
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
206
25
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el yunque pasta y pueblo hot breakfast puerto rico beach towels and chairs each morning balcony overlooking the ocean min drive restaurants within walking distance off the beaten path rental car old san juan surf kioskos beaches pr island
Filter
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 764 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Let me start with Damien and Suzy are awesome!! They are two of the most helpful people you will ever meet at a B&B, hotel, resort etc... The Luquillo Sunrise is directly across the street from the beach. This is not a swimming beach, it is more for surfing and boogie boarding. It is an easy walk up the beach (several hundred feet) to a nice place to swim. The hotel has two parts, a new building with 14 (I think) units and an older building in the front that was part of the original structure. Most people stay in the new building, which seems VERY nice. We wanted a two bedroom unit (3 kids) so we stayed in A2 (the old building). It was definitely not new! The kitchen was OLD and had ALOT of ants. The furniture was not very comfortable. It only had one A/C in the living room area, bedrooms got kind of hot. Very little water pressure in the bathroom shower and NO exhaust fan or window. It can get pretty stinky with 5 people and no bathroom fan or window. Damien tried to fix the water pressure, but it was still very low. The old exhaust fan was in the shower so I guess it had to be disconnected for safety reasons. The mattress in the main bedroom was VERY uncomfortable. They need a new one. NOW the positives!! Did I mention Damien and Suzy are excellent hosts. They go out of their way to make your stay nice. Believe me, they outweigh any negatives in regards to our room. The morning breakfast is awesome. The view is spectacular. The beach is beautiful. The new units looked very nice. Don't confuse A2 with the new units. I WOULD (and probably will) DEFINITELY stay there again, just not in the old unit.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank phillytraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2007

The hotel was superb. Breakfasts in the mornings are a highlight (Tropical pancakes were so good that syrup was not needed) Rooms were clean and comfortable. Not a stuffy resort, but the staff treats you like family. Susy was so accomadating - She set up a massage for my wife on the balcony and followed up on my reservations for activities when they were rained out. Also, Damian was very helpful and friendly. The beach is clean, beautiful and swimable - It was choppy for us during our stay, but lots of fun fighting the waves. I would recommend the balneario publico for families with small children (5 minutes away and so calm) . Damian reccommended Kiosko #2 "La Parilla". This place was soo good and looks out to the beach. The Kioskos look scary, but are definitely ok. La Parilla, though, is the cream of the crop. If you are looking for a good restaurant, go to "Las Vegas" which is on the road to el Yunque only about 15 minutes away. Very classy fine dinning restaurant with awesome cuisine. (My wife's a flan expert and said the homemade flan and ice cream -called mantecado- were the best ever).

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank danora78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2007

This is a jewel on the east side of the island. Not a stuffy hotel, not a dumpy little place, this place shines. Very clean, tiled throughout, spacious view of the dramatic beach, helpful and friendly staff. It s 20 miles from the airport, close to the Yunque. Luquillo itself does not have much and the neighborhood has seen better days,but the beach is great and the location is convenient. dont even think of staying in fajardo=nothing there anymore excpt the ferry and few exclusive overpriced isolated resorts

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank Wondcerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Found this site on the internet.
Simply gorgeous deserted beaches, excellent breakfast, marvelous hosts, spacious room with a private porch.
We slept all night to the sound of the waves.
Very peaceful.

Location is superb to travel to the El Yunque Rainforest.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deerslayer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2007

There are a lot of places within 45 minutes of San Juan but you will not find a more resonable price for what you get. You get a very clean, great view of the ocean with the beach 50 yards away. They also give you a really good free breakfest. We will be staying there when in Puert Rico every time.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank billfish4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews