We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$56
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Parkside Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brettons Retreat(Brightwater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 34 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our family were fortunate enough to stay at the Last Straw Cottage for 7 nights. We needed a peaceful place away from Christchurch where we live. When we drove up the drive towards the cottage we were overwhelmed with the beauty, serenity and peaceful surroundings. Our daughter immediately fell in love with the horses in the paddocks surrounding the cottage. We continued through to the last gate and arrived at the cottage. We were literally speechless as we approached the cottage it was like something out of a fairy tale story! Having had the opportunity to travel to Europe we had never come across anything like this in our travels. As we entered the cottage we were greeted with the most outstanding vase of roses, fresh muffins and a sense of how on earth were we ever going to be able to leave this place. From the kitchen to the dining and living areas, it simply felt like home. Beautiful decor, immaculately presented and inviting in every way. Upstairs was an extension of homeliness and exquisite taste. Every detail had been taken care of and nothing had been overlooked. There was so much to do, magazines to read, the daily newspaper was dropped off, outdoor games, lazing in the deck chairs. We also had fresh towels supplied which we never used, the owners went far beyond the call of duty to make our stay unforgettable. We can assure anyone who wants to experience pure serenity and exquisite accommodation, that you will not be disappointed staying at the Last Straw Cottage, in fact you will be working on how to get back!! We can not recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the last straw cottage for a week last winter. It was a fabulous place with pleanty of breakfast provisions with 3 bedrooms (2 queens), a large kitchen, very comfortable loungeroom with TV, DVD, CD player etc, bathroom and laudry together with plenty of breakfast provisions (milk, juice, cereal, fresh eggs and muffins) provided by the loviliest of hosts. We watched Pukekos and bunny rabbits frolic on the lawn in the mornings and stocked the fire at night with plenty of firewood provided. We had the whole run of the place and found the bed in the southern bedroom the most comfortable. The house is very nicely appointed to almost 5 star level, and the price is most reasonable considering you have three bedrooms in total. The bedding is changed every few days and if you need more breakfast provisions just ask. From memory they even provide a daily newspaper.There are loads of magazines to read, games to play with and there are some nice horses on the adjacent paddock who are very friendly. If you want a break away from the ratrace this is the place to come. You are only 20 minutes drive or less to Nelson, with Richmond only about 10 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: We found the Queen bed in the room on the southern side of the house the most comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have tried to book Last Straw Cottage a number of times over the years but it has always been full so I was thrilled to finally book a 2 night stay here in March. It was all I expected and more. A beautiful property in stunning countryside with everything you could want.

The kitchen is really well stocked, with full breakfast provisions provided as well, including bacon. There is a barbie, a herb garden, a laundry, 3 beatifully decorated and ultra-comfortable bedrooms, TV in the living room and the main bedroom, a claw-foot bath and walk in shower in the bathroom and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The bathroom has big fluffy towels, robes, slippers and lovely New Zealand made shower gel, shampoo etc.

We had visits from Pukeko and saw rabbits in the paddocks next door. Lynn left us blueberry muffins on arrival and popped in the next day with two delicious passionfruit custard slices. There was also a box of chocolates for us. Everything has been thought of here, it is all beautifully and tastefully done and we absolutely loved our two days here. Whilst it is very rural and off the beaten track, you are only a 20 minute drive from Richmond and a little further on to Nelson itself where there are supermarkets and restaurants. However, we loved the cottage so much we ate in both nights so we could enjoy the peaceful, beautiful surroundings. A gem of a place. Fabulous hosts. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms, two doubles and one with two single beds. All beautifully decorated with good quality bedlinens.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our family stayed at The Last Straw Cottage in March 2012. We had traveled around NZ for two months and felt so lucky to land at Lynn and Jon's very special cottage for eight nights (was supposed to be 7 but we luckily were able to extend it one day). It was by far our most comfortable stay in all of NZ...from the luxury linens and perfect beds, soaking bathtub, thoughtful local art and design ...it was just perfect. Nothing was pretentious here but we did feel spoiled, with an overwhelming feeling of being taken care of while away from home. We made two day trips with our kids, one to Abel Tasman and one to Golden Bay. Local galleries, cafes, wineries, breweries and just hanging out at the cottage filled our days. We need to come back!!!!! Did we mention the neighbors puppies we got to visit and the visiting horse our girls got to groom with Lynn? That was totally unexpected and genuinely appreciated. Everything was so up-to-date too - easy internet access, spotless inside and out, laundry, BBQ, the list goes on. The Straw Cottage is a gem tucked into the hills of Brightwater. We can't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeanneKHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2012

January 2012 was our third visit to the Last Straw Cottage and the third time we have been charmed by our hosts Lynne and John and delighted by this 'home from home' cottage. If you seek a sense of solitude and relaxation whilst being a short drive from local amenities, sandy beaches, crystal clear rivers and impressive mountain ranges then the Last Straw Cottage is for you. Located in a secluded valley, the cottage is fully self contained and provides everything you are likely to need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Ideal for families and couples alike, extensive lawns provide a place to sit and listen to birdsong or for the active, run around and play one of the several outdoor games provided. Abel Tasman and other national parks are within an hours drive with Nelson lakes stunning scenery a little further afield. Lynne and John are the consummate hosts living nearby, never intrusive but on hand if needed. Little touches such as provisions on arrival to flowers and a daily local paper make all the difference. We have got to know Lynne and John quite well and enjoy their company on a regular meal out and walking expedition on each visit. We will be regular visitors to this stunning country and expect to return to the Last Straw Cottage.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews