We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 34 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Situated among beautiful rolling hills we were excited to drive up to this beautiful cottage. The lawns were immaculate and everything well landscaped and lovingly cared for. We arrived at dusk in early October and it was lovely and warm inside. Lynne and Jon knew that one of us had a significant birthday and to our amazement there was a lovely gift and card sitting on the coffee table for our birthday girl! We appreciated that thoughtfulness, and everything in the house looked great and was comfortable.
Louise C

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank minstrelbrownsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2012

It's hard not to relax here, even with our three VERY active young girls racing around, checking out the house and garden, racing down the long drive on the bikes, climbing the fields to see who could get closest to the sheep or going for a talk to the horses. They had a wonderful time busying themselves with the surrounds, while we could just sit back infront of the cosy fire and sip the wine Jon and Lynne had provided as a welcome. In addition, the morning papers, freshly baked bread, bouquet of fresh flowers and the sumptuous toiletries made us feel special and nutured. We didn't notice if we had forgotten anything we usually travel with because so much was provided. So much so, we forgot to take some of our own things home with us!! But the gorgeous Lynne was quick to post them back and no cost. See what I mean? You could just give yourself over to this place and not have to think about anything, except maybe whether it is too early to light the fire and indulge in a little tipple! Five stars from our family.

Room Tip: Fully equipped and stocked laundry also a godsend when travelling with children!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ausfan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our family were fortunate enough to stay at the Last Straw Cottage for 7 nights. We needed a peaceful place away from Christchurch where we live. When we drove up the drive towards the cottage we were overwhelmed with the beauty, serenity and peaceful surroundings. Our daughter immediately fell in love with the horses in the paddocks surrounding the cottage. We continued through to the last gate and arrived at the cottage. We were literally speechless as we approached the cottage it was like something out of a fairy tale story! Having had the opportunity to travel to Europe we had never come across anything like this in our travels. As we entered the cottage we were greeted with the most outstanding vase of roses, fresh muffins and a sense of how on earth were we ever going to be able to leave this place. From the kitchen to the dining and living areas, it simply felt like home. Beautiful decor, immaculately presented and inviting in every way. Upstairs was an extension of homeliness and exquisite taste. Every detail had been taken care of and nothing had been overlooked. There was so much to do, magazines to read, the daily newspaper was dropped off, outdoor games, lazing in the deck chairs. We also had fresh towels supplied which we never used, the owners went far beyond the call of duty to make our stay unforgettable. We can assure anyone who wants to experience pure serenity and exquisite accommodation, that you will not be disappointed staying at the Last Straw Cottage, in fact you will be working on how to get back!! We can not recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the last straw cottage for a week last winter. It was a fabulous place with pleanty of breakfast provisions with 3 bedrooms (2 queens), a large kitchen, very comfortable loungeroom with TV, DVD, CD player etc, bathroom and laudry together with plenty of breakfast provisions (milk, juice, cereal, fresh eggs and muffins) provided by the loviliest of hosts. We watched Pukekos and bunny rabbits frolic on the lawn in the mornings and stocked the fire at night with plenty of firewood provided. We had the whole run of the place and found the bed in the southern bedroom the most comfortable. The house is very nicely appointed to almost 5 star level, and the price is most reasonable considering you have three bedrooms in total. The bedding is changed every few days and if you need more breakfast provisions just ask. From memory they even provide a daily newspaper.There are loads of magazines to read, games to play with and there are some nice horses on the adjacent paddock who are very friendly. If you want a break away from the ratrace this is the place to come. You are only 20 minutes drive or less to Nelson, with Richmond only about 10 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: We found the Queen bed in the room on the southern side of the house the most comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have tried to book Last Straw Cottage a number of times over the years but it has always been full so I was thrilled to finally book a 2 night stay here in March. It was all I expected and more. A beautiful property in stunning countryside with everything you could want.

The kitchen is really well stocked, with full breakfast provisions provided as well, including bacon. There is a barbie, a herb garden, a laundry, 3 beatifully decorated and ultra-comfortable bedrooms, TV in the living room and the main bedroom, a claw-foot bath and walk in shower in the bathroom and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The bathroom has big fluffy towels, robes, slippers and lovely New Zealand made shower gel, shampoo etc.

We had visits from Pukeko and saw rabbits in the paddocks next door. Lynn left us blueberry muffins on arrival and popped in the next day with two delicious passionfruit custard slices. There was also a box of chocolates for us. Everything has been thought of here, it is all beautifully and tastefully done and we absolutely loved our two days here. Whilst it is very rural and off the beaten track, you are only a 20 minute drive from Richmond and a little further on to Nelson itself where there are supermarkets and restaurants. However, we loved the cottage so much we ate in both nights so we could enjoy the peaceful, beautiful surroundings. A gem of a place. Fabulous hosts. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms, two doubles and one with two single beds. All beautifully decorated with good quality bedlinens.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews