We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Last Straw Cottage
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My partner and I stayed at The Last Straw Cottage in early November. We hired a car locally at Nelson airport and found our way to the cottage with ease. The reality certainly matched the reviews and description of the property and then some. We loved it here for the quietness, privacy and the absolute attention to detail that had gone into making this place a real home away from home. The grounds are spacious, there are a number of well working bikes to choose from, and the BBQ and setting made for a lovely al fresco dinner in one night. There was still a bit of a chill in the air so we made use of the firewood and the open fireplace which made for cosy evenings inside.
The whole cottage is very spacious with 3 generous bedrooms, a big bathroom with shower and a separate bath and the kitchen is very well stocked with cooking implements.
There is a big PaknSave in Richmond, about 15 minutes away, and a smaller Four Square minutes down the road in Brightwater so topping up on provisions was simple.
The breakfast supplies included with the rental were also very good and a couple of other welcome perks of a bottle of wine, chocolates and muffins were thrown in, and very appreciated.
Lynne came over to see how we were getting on, they live a field away, and we had a good long chat with her. It is evident that she takes pride in making sure that guests have a very welcome stay here and tries to ensure that all things are thought of to ensure that outcome.
We definitely intend to return as there is still a lot of things we want to do in the area and with friendly owners, great accommodation and a wonderful location there is much to recommend.

Room Tip: It is a cottage so take your pick, they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RMKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016

This was by far my favorite accommodation of our trip to the South Island. This private residence was so remarkable. The owners left us farm fresh eggs, fresh oj and muffins as well as plenty of other options in the pantry. The location is beautiful and the history behind the house is so interesting.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Trusting a travel agent that you've never met to arrange accommodations for you half way around the world can be a bit unnerving! So when we pulled up to the Last Straw cottage, I was so pleasantly surprised! This cottage was so unique, perfect and comfortable, I really hated that we only had two nights here. After a long day of traveling, the cottage was such a welcome site. The home was stocked with absolutely everything you could need, including ample provisions for breakfast. The owner stopped by one evening to say hello, and it was very evident that they put their heart and soul into this cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank germmt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

This is a really fantastic place to stay and I would endorse what everyone else has already said. Staying here feels like staying in a real and very comfortable home in a very quiet area in the country. We only stayed for two nights and did not want to leave. Everything was perfect. The supplies for breakfast were more than adequate and included fruit, cereals, yogurt, bacon, eggs and muffins. There was also a welcoming box of chocolates. The garden is lovely and included a croquet set as well as the usual garden furniture and barbecue. Do stay here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Wow! This beautiful house was built by the owners fifteen years ago. Just look through their photos to see how much love and care was put into the unique build and the huge garden in which it sits picture postcard perfect! Owners Lynne and John are delightful and couldn't have been more helpful in helping us plan our five day stay with family including young granddaughter.

The country cottage is all mellow wood, comfy settees, beautiful beds and drapes, but all very comfortable and relaxing in a peaceful farm setting, cows in the next field.... The cupboard and fridge were full of essentials, plus fresh eggs, bread and Lynne's muffins when we arrived. It felt like coming into a well loved home and not a holiday rental. Lynne and John live over the field in another house they built but were always around to help with any queries or problems(though we had none of those!)

We had a wonderful stay. it was perfect for us to meet up with family. The only slight drawback was the lack of a dishwasher and only one bathroom ( but this had a wonderful shower and roll top bath). These weren't problems in the slightest and we wouldn't hesitate to go back......a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SusieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Our family of 6 adults spent the last nights of our vacation is this amazing cottage, and it was truly the icing on the cake. We were greeted with every comfort imaginable, including fresh eggs, juice and muffins (which were scrumptious by the way). We had planned several trips while we were in the area but found it very hard to tear ourselves away from the cottage. The kitchen was fully equipped and all living spaces were spacious and comfortable. Sadly we did not have more time to spend with our engaging hosts. Next trip maybe? We are all dreaming of returning some day.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015

This is a lovely, comfortable property, kitted out with everything you could need, in an ideal location, close to everything yet just far enough away to provide the peace and solitude you want on a holiday. When you add in the welcoming hosts you just wont want to leave. We can't rate this property too highly - it contributed significantly to what was a great holiday in the Nelson/Tasman region.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Last Straw Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Straw Cottage

Address: Mt Heslington Road, Brightwater, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Brightwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Brightwater
Price Range: $233 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Last Straw Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing