We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 34 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2017

My partner and I stayed at The Last Straw Cottage in early November. We hired a car locally at Nelson airport and found our way to the cottage with ease. The reality certainly matched the reviews and description of the property and then some. We loved it here for the quietness, privacy and the absolute attention to detail that had gone into making this place a real home away from home. The grounds are spacious, there are a number of well working bikes to choose from, and the BBQ and setting made for a lovely al fresco dinner in one night. There was still a bit of a chill in the air so we made use of the firewood and the open fireplace which made for cosy evenings inside.
The whole cottage is very spacious with 3 generous bedrooms, a big bathroom with shower and a separate bath and the kitchen is very well stocked with cooking implements.
There is a big PaknSave in Richmond, about 15 minutes away, and a smaller Four Square minutes down the road in Brightwater so topping up on provisions was simple.
The breakfast supplies included with the rental were also very good and a couple of other welcome perks of a bottle of wine, chocolates and muffins were thrown in, and very appreciated.
Lynne came over to see how we were getting on, they live a field away, and we had a good long chat with her. It is evident that she takes pride in making sure that guests have a very welcome stay here and tries to ensure that all things are thought of to ensure that outcome.
We definitely intend to return as there is still a lot of things we want to do in the area and with friendly owners, great accommodation and a wonderful location there is much to recommend.

Room Tip: It is a cottage so take your pick, they are all lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RMKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

This was by far my favorite accommodation of our trip to the South Island. This private residence was so remarkable. The owners left us farm fresh eggs, fresh oj and muffins as well as plenty of other options in the pantry. The location is beautiful and the history behind the house is so interesting.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Trusting a travel agent that you've never met to arrange accommodations for you half way around the world can be a bit unnerving! So when we pulled up to the Last Straw cottage, I was so pleasantly surprised! This cottage was so unique, perfect and comfortable, I really hated that we only had two nights here. After a long day of traveling, the cottage was such a welcome site. The home was stocked with absolutely everything you could need, including ample provisions for breakfast. The owner stopped by one evening to say hello, and it was very evident that they put their heart and soul into this cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank germmt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2016

This is a really fantastic place to stay and I would endorse what everyone else has already said. Staying here feels like staying in a real and very comfortable home in a very quiet area in the country. We only stayed for two nights and did not want to leave. Everything was perfect. The supplies for breakfast were more than adequate and included fruit, cereals, yogurt, bacon, eggs and muffins. There was also a welcoming box of chocolates. The garden is lovely and included a croquet set as well as the usual garden furniture and barbecue. Do stay here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2016

Wow! This beautiful house was built by the owners fifteen years ago. Just look through their photos to see how much love and care was put into the unique build and the huge garden in which it sits picture postcard perfect! Owners Lynne and John are delightful and couldn't have been more helpful in helping us plan our five day stay with family including young granddaughter.

The country cottage is all mellow wood, comfy settees, beautiful beds and drapes, but all very comfortable and relaxing in a peaceful farm setting, cows in the next field.... The cupboard and fridge were full of essentials, plus fresh eggs, bread and Lynne's muffins when we arrived. It felt like coming into a well loved home and not a holiday rental. Lynne and John live over the field in another house they built but were always around to help with any queries or problems(though we had none of those!)

We had a wonderful stay. it was perfect for us to meet up with family. The only slight drawback was the lack of a dishwasher and only one bathroom ( but this had a wonderful shower and roll top bath). These weren't problems in the slightest and we wouldn't hesitate to go back......a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SusieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews