We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Victorian Verandaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian Verandaz
Ranked #2 of 123 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had been to Victorian verandaz during February 2nd week. We really enjoyed the stay there. The main highlights : Amazing hosts - Mrs Diana and Mr Thimmaiah , nice and clean rooms and bathrooms ; splendid Estate stay , good Coorgi food .

Right from the time I started enquiring Mrs Diana regarding the stay I really got a very good response . We were 2 couples visiting Coorg and all 4 of us were very excited about the trip. After seeing the homestay we were glad that we booked it. It is beautiful, serene and calm . If you plan to visit coorg and would not prefer to go for any nearby sghtseeing and just relax in the Homestay ,it would be a perfect getaway from the city. We wanted to go for all the sight seeing because it was first time we were visiting Coorg. Had we stayed in the homestay for longer time we would have enjoyed it even more.

Food was good. Breakfast was what we liked the most. Mrs Diana prepared Kadamputtu for breakfast which was delicious.There was also bread butter and Jam for breakfast. They serve both veg and non vegetarian food, but since we are pure vegetarians we had informed her at the same time of booking. For dinner we had Akki Otti ( Akki roti) , Curry, Ghee rice, Stuffed Capsicum and Alu (This was really tasty) and Gulab Jamoon.
The way the dining table was arranged by her was even more impressive.

Mr Thimmaiah took for a plantation tour on both days and we were spellbound to see its beauty.

Overall Highlights of the estate :
1) Cozy, Clean and neat Bed and Bathrooms
2) Great "verandah" to chat and enjoy the serene atmosphere during free time.
3) There is a small stream flowing in the estate which later forms a small and beautiful water falls within the estate and its a fun to go there in the mornings . You ll have a good trek :)
4) You will get to see different types of coffee plantations and Mr Thimmaiah will explain about every tree/plant in his estate with such a lot of interest.
5) Finally, the best thing we liked about the stay was the hospitality and friendliness of Mrs Diana and Mr Thimmaiah. They were very polite and friendly throughout.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms and both rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaitraSantosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Really nice to know we made your holiday a memorable one. Glad you enjoyed the trek and the waterfall on the Estate. Like you mentioned, when you stay on an Estate, you should reduce your sight-seeing and just put your legs up an relax on the property itself with countless cups of coffee!!!!

We hope you will be back to do just that. Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    37
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
151
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2011

When my childhood friends & I wanted to take a weekend break this Dec , we decided to go to Victorian Verandaz in Coorg . This was my first experience in a Homestay and I was pleasantly surprised to say the least .
The approach from Mysore was smooth and comfortable since the roads were in good condition . The main house is in the middle of a beautiful estate run by Mr Thimmaiah & his charming wife Diana { who are 5th generation owners ]. Its a typical Coorgi Heritage bungalow with spotlessly clean rooms [ with TV & attached bathrooms ] . Meals are served in the cozy common dining area under the supervision of Diana . The cuisine is mainly Coorgi ,using local ingredients , vegetarian food is also available on request .The tariff is reasonable .
The hosts are friendly and service warm . Mr Thimmaiah took us on a tour of his vast estate where they grow predominantly Coffee , Cardamom & Pepper . There is a lot of history associated with the estate including antique Samurai swords , writings & a century old pulping machine.
The best part of the trip was the peaceful natural habitat which was a break from the hectic pace of Bangalore . The estate is sprawling & lush & the view from the top of the house is a green expanse
I recommend Victorian Verandaz to anyone who wants to just chill & do nothing in a serene unpolluted countryside atmosphere .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loknathkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Travelling with Childhood friends you normally have a good time any place you go!!! But Thankyou for this special mention of Victorian Verandaz. Yes, we do have a lot of History & Traditition to back us and we love Good people who appreciate our efforts. Will look forward to see you sometime in the Future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyderabad
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2011

It's more than two months we'd been to coorg but our memories are still fresh. Our stay was for two nights and three days.....but couldn't get enough. It was our first time to coorg and that too a homestay and we enjoyed every moment of our stay.The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Food was simple and tasty.... couldnt ask for more. without any second thought victorian verandaz will be the place to stay for us. The credit goes to Mr & Mrs Thimmaiah for their wonderful hospitality and also their beautiful property.I still cannot get off my head the wonderful sounds of the forest at night. We simply loved the place. Nature lovers will really enjoy the victorian verandaz.
Thankyou Thimmaiah & Diana for giving us such a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konetihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Beautiful is an amazin word to describe a HOMESTAY. Thankyou and you are welcome to visit us whenever you get that weekend off. Have kept that fruit bowl in rememberance of your stay with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I was visiting Coorg for the 1st time & came to know about Victorian Verandaz through tripadvisor. While I had also enquired with other places, the kind of response & help I got from Mr. Thimiah, the owner made me choose this place & we were not disappointed at all. Right from the moment we entered, Mr. Thimaiah & his family welcomed us really warmly & made us extremely comfortable. Rooms were comfortable, cozy & right in the middle of the estate, where one can have amazing views of the estate. The most important part of any homestay experience are the hosts & Mr. Thimiah & his wife played really gracious hosts to us. We had a great time walking along the estates, sitting in the verandah, relaxing , reading & sipping fresh coffee from the estate. When he came to know it was my anniversary, he went out of his way to arrange a cake & special dinner for us. I would definitely visit this place again & would recommend staying here for a true Coorg experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anurag_mittal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thankyou for your review on Victorian Verandaz. Will love to have you back here for your next anniv. You guys were great company!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Our stay at Victorian Verandaz was definitely one very blissful and perfect
holiday.

The estate homestay experience more perfect than what we imagined, it did
in fact exceed our expectations.
The place is amazingly comfortable & everyone is so hospitable. The estate
itself is gorgeous, and to be surrounded by such breathtaking beauty was
amazing - am still in awe of the spectacular view of the lake below from one
of the hilly paths on the estate!

My husband and me were travelling together. After 1 year of our marriage it
seemed like we were back on a honeymoon . It made me fall in love all over
again.
It is a beautiful place and I was so sad when I left this place.
Will be back again sooooon. Totally worth every penny I paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Its been 10 months since you stayed with us and we sure are lookin forward to have you with us in the next 2 months time - coz thats what you said when u left, that you will be back in a Year's time to VV to celebrate your 2nd Anniv!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our baby was making his first trip at 8 months and we chose Coorg as the destination. We stayed at the Victorian Verandaz and loved every minute of our stay. The rooms and the loo were impeccably clean. We didn't hesitate a minute to set the baby crawling on the floor. The hosts, Dianna and Thimmaiah, were very cordial. The meals and the coffee were just awesome.

We would certainly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
As much as our guests are anxious to meet their first time Hosts and never sure if they will like them or not when they meet, we, as the Hosts also wait for our first time guests with a lot of mixed expectation. We are glad your Baby was as comfy @ Victorian Verandaz as you were. We look forward to you commin back here and thankyou for the lovely pics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The last time i visited Madikeri i stayed at a hotel in the midst of town, and did enjoy my stay. On my second visit my friend suggested "Victorianverandaz", and it was WOW!!!! simply the best!!!. Staying in the midst of a coffee estate is something else.The place is comfortable and spotlessly clean.And If you are interested in Bird wacthing, cycling ..or one who just likes the peace and quiet , this is the place for you.
My kids had a gerat time too, as there's lots of space for them to play. We had a great stay.. thanks to the Thimmaiah's who were the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25Dev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thankyou. Makes us feel just 'GREAT' when our guests make a comment as good as that!!!! We would love to have you spend another time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
11.7 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 23 in Madikeri
432 reviews
12.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 23 in Madikeri
1,395 reviews
9.7 km away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,714 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
6.3 km away
Notting Hill Homestay
Notting Hill Homestay
#1 of 123 in Madikeri
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Verandaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Verandaz

Property: Victorian Verandaz
Address: Modur Estate | Kadagadal, Madikeri 571248, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verandah is typical of British colonial architecture. It allows us to enjoy the outdoors in a protected manner. We get to relax and enjoy the scenery, without being troubled by sunlight or rain.Victorian Verandaz is a pretty little cottage with a lovely verandah in front. It is designed for guests to rest and play in safety and comfort. This cottage is tucked in next to a planter’s bungalow. A bungalow that has played host to Coorg’s bold and beautiful for over a 100 years. Coorg aristocracy, British officials, army officers and planters have gathered here many a time. To discuss state affairs, hunt and feast.Victorian Verandaz is built on top of a slope and offers a view of thickly wooded slopes. Surrounding it, is a typical coffee plantation with lakes, a nursery, drying yards and the sounds of Birds.Let Coorg slow your heartbeat and make your mind sit back and rest in relief. Unwind in the pleasant climate at 4,200 feet. We extend you a warm welcome to Victorian Verandaz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victorian Verandaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing