We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tarkarli - MTDC and Southern Konkan's best kept secret !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarkarli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTDC Resort Tarkarli
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarkarli
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Tarkarli - MTDC and Southern Konkan's best kept secret !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had a chance to spend 3 nights at the MTDC Resort in Tarkarli during early February. One of the few properties, MTDC has on the beach, besides Ganpatipule. Tarkarli has got to be one of the best locations MTDC has....great spot - powder white sands, cottages doting an almost private beachfront lined by 'Suru trees', it almost has everything going for it, if you are wiling to overlook the quality of the cottages - toilets, cleanliness of the rooms, bed spreads etc.
It is the perfect place for families, couples and even solo trips. Very peaceful, far from the hustle bustle of little Malvan (about 6 kms away), you could spend your mornings and early evenings resting on a hammock, hearing the sea waves and birds perched on the trees.
The restuarant although fairly decent on the food quality requires a lot of improvement when it comes to the service attitude of the owners. Most evenings we found it pointless to visit the restuarant, as they said they had only 'toast with bread or jam' to serve.
MTDC surely needs to get its act together as the location is the main draw however the room and restuarant quality requires a big facelift and definitely is not creating the best impression with visiting foriegners.
Lastly we saw no effort by the staff to promote any activity at or near the resort by way of awareness. Tarkali by itself, has everything going for it, by way of its sheer beauty, location and holiday moood, but would require MTDC to spruce up the facility in the near future to continue ensuring it will remain a tourist draw.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 119, closer to the beach (hop, skip, jump).....one of the closet located to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarioB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    145
    71
    21
    19
See reviews for
168
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We visited Tarkali beach during August 2010. We stayed at MTDC resort. It was really a nice and peaceful beach. As usual MTDC selects the right place for their resorts and it is no different. We have visited lot of beaches of India and my wife select it best of the lot in consideration of location with peace and less disturbance. As per MTDC is concern they have to concentrate about the room service and cleanliness of the rooms.
You will get here lot of option for sea food. Nearby attraction is boating on the ocean for viewing dolphins and water sports. You can try for scuba diving. Finally I recommend this place as a great location for relaxation and peace.

Room Tip: A/C delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malaymahanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

On the way from Goa to Mumbai we decided to spend the day time at Tarkarli beach. we booked this hotel only for day time. The resort is located very close to tarkarli beach. Cottages are surrounded by palm trees. The huts are in konkani style, rooms are good but toilets are not that clean. We had our lunch in their restaurant , we liked the konkani food with very low price. The beach is really virgin, i hardly found 2-3 families on the entire beach. Overall the stay was comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Must choose a konkani style hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raj20982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This place has the monopoly of government's reach, hence they make this resort. But it is indeed a good one and the experience is satisfying. The view from location is beautiful as the sand is white and pure. A good beach place to visit with friends, family or couples.
The service is standard and rates are fine. The rooms are just okay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Tarkarly beach is wonderfull . MTDC resort is good place to stay. If u dont want to stay in AC room then room 103 is fine. Service staff is co oprative. But room-service for food is not available cattring staff is not so co-oprative. Mtdc is very good place

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RupDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurangabad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

visited in the first week of dec. 2011... what a site!!!.... very pleased with the location of resort.. sea is hardly 100 meters away....booked kokani a/c cottage but it was not working, after inquiry came to know most of tourist belong to our category .. bamboo boat house was little too far.. but had unique experience in staying in. room no .123 which is sea facing first floor room.. is ultimate.. beaches r clean.. had a mesmerising morning and evening with silent noon and mysterious night.. though the serviece is average,, just for ambience i till advocate to stay at mtdc resort.

Room Tip: Bamboo boat house room no. 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manishmalanionly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We visited Tarkarli and stayed in the MTDC resort in Sept 2011. We reached there on a Thursday and the resort was empty. It wasnt until the weekend that there were more groups of people checking in. Like all MTDC resorts, this needs to be booked in advance.
Pros: - 1) The AC cottages are in the front, facing the beach. so when you open your window, you can hear the sound of waves.
2) The managment seems to have worked upon many of the common points that were complained about in online forums..eg Telephone facility in room, re painting where reqd, etc
3) Location of the resort is simply Amazing. there are also a couple of resort owned huts bang on the beach to relax or simply do nothing

CONs:-
1) Food esp Dinner takes time - atleast 30 mins from time of booking. standard rates wer about 110 (approx per thali.) If you are a good eater, the limited thali was insufficient
2) Quality of beverages- tea. coffee was very average and it was better to have the same outside.
3) Being 'Off season' the houseboats were not avaialble, but that also meant lesser crowds.

Overall it was a good place and value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the AC rooms they are beach facing..! esp Cottage 9/ 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank swetamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarkarli
5.2 km away
Hotel Sagar Kinara Malvan
35.9 km away
Hotel Konkan Crown
Hotel Konkan Crown
#3 of 4 in Sawantwadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
22.0 km away
Hotel Lemongrass
Hotel Lemongrass
#1 of 1 in Kudal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Neelam's Countryside
Neelam's Countryside
#1 of 2 in Kankavli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.2 km away
Sun 'n' Sand Holiday Home
6.7 km away
Maachli Homestay
Maachli Homestay
#1 of 8 in Kudal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Resort Tarkarli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Resort Tarkarli

Property: MTDC Resort Tarkarli
Address: Malvan Sindhudurg District, Tarkarli, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Tarkarli
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarkarli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mtdc Resort Tarkarli Hotel Tarkarli
Mtdc Hotel Tarkarli
MTDC Resort Tarkarli Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing