We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sonnalm
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Almrausch(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trattlerhof(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$161
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$257
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kaerntnerhof(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchheimerhof(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$195
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Praegant(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$160
US$152
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonnenheim(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Die Post - Ronacher(Bad Kleinkirchheim)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
68
33
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
33
8
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 111 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2016

This was our 2nd stay at Sonnalm Hotel.
Great location (easy access to two main ski areas), comfortable rooms (there were 3 of us and there was enough space), kind and helpful staff, very good food (we had extended half-board), free parking, ski-storage, free WiFi in the room (not the best possible signal strength in our room, though -but this is not a problem), useful spa area...
Generally we are very much pleased with our stay and would like to come again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nenad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

The strength of this 4 star hotel is the friendly staff we found during our stay. they are nice and very careful about customer's needs, made us feel like be at home.
Hotel rooms are spacious and clean
the dinners are served in Gourmet-style courses, good presentation but the taste and quality could be better. A well done local cuisine would be more appreciated. Although the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank z9ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2016

The hotel was OK - the food was excellent

We stayed for a week - we had 3 days free and went skiing, which is convenient from the hotel - the skiing is good for a long weekend, but you'll have done all the pistes a couple of times by then - so if you thrive on variety, it's not the resort for a full week.

Breakfast was good, mid afternoon snacks perfectly acceptable and the 6 course evening meal was fantastic.

The outdoor pool is open for a few hours in the evening - it's part of a small spa with sauna , steamroll & hot tub. The dress code is ambiguous - the pool seems to require appropriate swim wear, but the adjacent sauna & steam room are mixed - with a number of guests choosing to go naked, some even removing their swim wear to enter the sauna.

The staff were very friendly & helpful - we were the only english guests the entire time we were there - they ensured we had an english menu for every dinner and made every effort to help us, despite us speaking zero german.

We flew into Ljubljana and hired a car - it's about a 90 minute drive & free parking at the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlWallace6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2016

I brought my family to this hotel for a 1 week holiday across new year. The hotel is nicely located, close to town centre and to one of the slopes (one major lift basically across the street). Parking space is available at the hotel and across the street at the start of the lift.

The hotel looks fairly traditional in carinthian style, lots of wood and carpet. The room was nice and spacious, with a very large window and a balcony overlooking the mountain. The room was a bit warm, especially for sleeping; the beds were comfortable, less so the pillows. A large duvet would have been nice for the double bed as opposed to the two single duvets. Room cleaning was fast and efficient.

The facilities of the hotel were fairly good, with a lift, a restaurant, a bar area (not exactly a "young ppl's bar" admittedly), ski storage area with heated boot shelves and a spa. The spa comprised a warm outdoor pool, a jacuzzi, a steam bath, two saunas of different temperatures, a freezing cold pool and massage facilities.

Traditionally, saunas and steam baths in Austria are towel-only facilities and this hotel made no exception. However, for foreign tourism reasons, swimming costumes were tolerated in the facilities, which made it ever so difficult to explain to a child why there was a mix of dressed and undressed people running around in the spa, and why one should insist on using the facilities undressed when dressed is also accepted. Dressed and undressed areas of the spa should have been divided by a door, clearly marking the towel-only areas, and rules should be enforced. Frankly, when I book a 4-star hotel with a spa in Austria, I expect to be able to run around naked in certain well defined areas, without being placed into embarrassing situations by the mismanagement of the spa rules.

We were on 3/4 board, which was generally nice. Breakfast was spot on, the early afternoon snack also quite appropriate: there was always excellent meat broth, accompanied by some type of meat to nibble on and a dessert. The broth would have some pasta or other garnishing such as small beignets to be added. One day they were out of pasta well within the snack time, and while it was OK for us to have the broth on its own, it was not OK to see local guests being offered beignets as an alternative. This was one of the numerous occasions in which the staff serving at the restaurant made us feel subtly uncomfortable, which by the end of the week left us with quite an unpleasant feeling about the service.

The dinner was the main meal of the day, and offered a good variety of food with a choice among three main courses. Maybe a bit too much too eat, also considering that the food was of a high standard and the tendency was to finish everything on the plate.

The real shocker came when we discovered that water is not included in the 3/4 board and is sold to you in 0.7 litres mineral bottle format at the shocking price of 4 Euros per bottle - yes, that's approximately three times the price of petrol depending on the country. Albeit knowing that one does not generally ask for tap water in Austria, we decided that this was simply a ripoff, and started to ask for jugs of tap water instead. Once most of the tables started following our example, the service staff scuttled to introduce a charge for "Kleinkirchheim wasser" at 3 Euros per litre - yes, that's twice the cost of petrol, again depending on the country - for tap water. 4-star hotel, 3/4 board, premium prices because of the dates, extra surcharge because of new years eve (on top of the premium prices)... I mean, seriously???

So, was it bad? No, not really. Was it good? Neither, really. Would I recommend it to someone else? Maybe, perhaps not. Would I go again? I think not, sorry. A luxury hotel is not about what facilities you have at your hotel, it's about how pampered your guests feel.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davide K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2015

Swimming in the outdoor pool before an excelent breakfast, then wonderful hiking in the Carinthian alps. In the afternoon relaxing in the spa and sunbadthing, before a realy delicious 5 cours dinner. Alle the staff are professional, smiling and very helpful. Each morning you get a small "newspaper " at your breakfast table with hiking tips, the weather forkast and suggestions for excurtions and lokal happenings. The room was spacious and you get a bathrobe and extra towels for use in the spa and outdoor sunbeds. A perfect week! "Alles super! Wir kommen sehr gern wider!!!"

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svanhild2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews