We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
14
49
14
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
49
14
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 82 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Maxim hotel 18th May.
First impression, not bad, when we were shown to our room we were devastated, the carpet was filthy, the bed linen was stained, the shower curtain had mildew at the bottom, ( I have photographic evidence of all these points)
The breakfast next morning was fairly good, however this was ruined by the demolition of the check in counter which was extremely loud, with power tools operating six feet from our table ( again I have a video of this ) When we pointed out our concerns to the receptionist she shook her shoulders as if she did not understand.
Would we stay here again? Not in a million years.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank jrscott47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Maxim. The host made me feel very welcome. The Hotel has a modern feel. Free Wi-Fi signal very good, breakfast also enjoyable. the location is good in close proximity to the main street and the seafront restaurants. The Hotel is also bicycle friendly offering secure storage. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a really good hotel in a really nice place.

It is a small family run hotel and the husband and wife are really friendly and speak good English.

The hotel is clean and tidy. The bedrooms are really smart and modern. They have good quality beds/bedding. Really good bathroom and TV with quite a few English speaking channels.

Breakfast is a really good continental type. Great selection including: bread, croissants, spreads, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, drinks etc.

It's location is great being only a 100 yards from the main street/front where you will find the shops and restaurants and the coastal tram service.

We paid 75 Euros (£63) for B&B. Really excellent value.

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 101, 102, 103, 201, 202 and 203 have a balcony which faces the sun in the afternoon and evening.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Calais is a pretty horrible spot so De Panne is not a bad place for a stop if you are taking a ferry from Calais in the morning. It is about a 40 minute drive.

We stumbled upon this place. Our single rooms were actuall like small doubles. We got them for 50 euros per night each, including breakfast.

The place was clean and comfortable. It was central and the staff were really nice. A good choice and far better than some of the other local hotels we looked at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stopped here on our way to England (so as to catch the first ferry out) and were delighted with this place. Big spotless room, friendly service and even a bottle of sparkling wine in the room as it was Valentines Day. The meal in the restaurant was superb and we plan on coming back very soon!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews