We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Au Roi Gradlon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Audierne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This was our second trip and we loved it again. Had a balcony which had wonderful views along the beach and the swimming was great. The restaurant looks out over the beach and it serves a very good breakfast

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CEBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are already working on making your third visit as enjoyable as the two previous ones...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2015

Very good seafood and good service in the restaurant.
Hotel facing a beautiful beach in Audierne's bay. Just a small issue: the rooms are not very soundproof. Very well positioned to do jogging on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Five years ago, we had one of our best ever holidays staying at the Hotel au Roi Gradlon. We had enjoyed blue skies and sunshine for a whole fortnight, so we were slightly anxious that a return visit might be a disappointment. We need not have worried.

This June we spent two marvellous weeks in this hotel, with perfect weather (only two cloudy days). The family-run hotel is still a wonderful place for an outstanding holiday. Last time we had a room on the top floor with an outside terrace and thought nothing could ever equal that experience, of being lulled to sleep by the sound of waves breaking on the beach below. Our room this year was on the second floor, the type called “Ouessant”, which all have a large window looking out to sea. Room 28 was at the end of the corridor and had big windows on two sides, giving a panoramic view of the beach and sea to the south and west. The beach, Le Trescadec, like the whole of the bay of Audierne, is an amazing stretch of fine white sand. This view is absolutely breathtaking, and if the weather hadn’t been so good we could have happily spent more time inside surrounded by the ocean. Going to sleep to the rhythm of waves breaking on the shore is a perfect way of relaxing.

The room was both peaceful and exhilarating, with the stunning views and a bright, unfussy décor in blue and white. There was plenty of hanging and storage space, a wardrobe, cupboards and drawers, two chairs, a big flat-screen TV, and the double bed was comfortable. Leading off from the entry corridor were a separate toilet and a spotlessly clean bathroom, with a cupboard that easily held all our many toiletries. The accommodation felt almost like a small apartment or suite.

Our bedroom was on the same floor as the restaurant, which also has a panoramic view. Breakfasts were generous, with a choice of delicious bread, croissants, jam, cheese, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, dried fruits, etc., as well as fruit juice, teas and coffee. We chose to eat dinner there every night. There is a wide selection of dishes, particularly seafood, and gorgeous desserts – though most evenings I went for a selection of the superb cheeses, mainly local, with the always delicious bread.

The hotel is about a mile down river from the centre of Audierne, on the beach of Le Trescadec. Audierne itself is an active fishing and pleasure port, not a tourist resort, and so it has a variety of local shops, where you can buy practical necessities, and a few café-bars and small restaurants, as well as four excellent crêperies. It has the charm of an untouristy town where local people still live, where you can sit with a coffee or glass of wine and watch the boats on the river Goyen. It is also a great centre for exploring some ravishing countryside and coast, with a wealth of history to be discovered.

The proprietor-manager, whose family have owned the hotel for very many years, is extremely friendly, efficient and attentive to the needs of guests. All the staff are good-natured, helpful and welcoming, and we were made to feel very much at home there. I would happily go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view, on either the top floor (with terrace) or 2nd floor (large windows).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Thank you for this comprehensive reporting following your stay.
As you stated, Au Roi Gradlon has been run by the same family for the last 50 odd years, and even more if we take into account the restaurant-only era. It makes a huge difference. We can build on the foundation laid by our elders and look far ahead when planning the future of our hotel. Its is extremely gratifying to hear that returning guests perceive our dedication and our will to get better while preserving the soul of this venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We have been coming to Audierne for 8 years now staying almost opposite the Roi Gradlon which always looks rather grand. We hadn't eaten there until now as the previous picture menus did not look inviting and dishes were rather pricey for lunch. However the formule du midi tempted us in today and we had a very pleasant experience - I enjoyed my boeuf parmentier and although we had a giggle about it,(as we had bought a tin of them for a quick supper one night! ) my husband found the grilled local sardines delicious. The sea view is of course a bonus especially as we have enjoyed many a walk along that beach looking up at the restaurant!. The new young waiter and waitress were cheerful and welcoming - good to see and the overall atmosphere and service was calm and efficient. What more could you want on holiday! Perhaps a small bar in the evening to enjoy the same view? We tried once before to have a drink there but were shown into a small living room overlooking the road! Something to think about as there are not many places along the front to enjoy an aperitif with such a wonderful view. Hopefully we will be tempted by a different menu in August when we next return.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank frenchfan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I stayed here before a few years ago and really liked it. This time it was a chilly grey wet Friday night in April. The heating didnt work in the room despite asking for it to be turned on at reception. it was so chilly in the room I couldnt face having a shower in the morning. In retrospect I should have gone down to reception that night and asked for another room with functioning heating but I was by then trying to retain heat by staying under the duvet!! I couldnt get their wifi to work on my phone despite trying in several different places in the hotel including right at reception. Strange as I was got wifi in other places in Audierne the same day with no problem. So, returning home the next day to fast easy internet access and a lovely hot shower in a warm bathroom was an enormous pleasure. Waste of 67 euros. Trying to think of something positive, the bed was comfy and clean. Perhaps will try airbnb next time.

Room Tip: Stay at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank langoustinevivante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

This is a first class hotel,ideally situated to the town of Audierne. The restaurant overlooks a fabulous beach with marvelous sea views. All the staff are most friendly and welcoming, serving great food to suit all tastes including the most wonderful seafood.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank briantill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a fantastic hotel, especially if you get a room with a balcony. The view of the beach is stunning, and we spent a very lazy day during our cycling holiday just chilling out on the beach and swimming and admiring the view. The food was nice, especially the moules frites, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Audierne
1.1 km away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#4 of 5 in Audierne
132 reviews
2 km away
L' Auberge du Cabestan
L' Auberge du Cabestan
#5 of 5 in Audierne
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
#4 of 10 in Douarnenez
282 reviews
13.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
#1 of 3 in Pouldreuzic
213 reviews
30.9 km away
Le Poisson d'Avril
Le Poisson d'Avril
#1 of 2 in Guilvinec
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Roi Gradlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Roi Gradlon

Address: 3 Avenue Manu Brusq, Audierne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Audierne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Audierne
Price Range: $103 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Au Roi Gradlon 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Au Roi Gradlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing