We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful stay with views on the atlantic ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Au Roi Gradlon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Audierne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

the room was splendid with a big terrace with view on the beach and the ocean.
Great value for money. The restaurant was very good, but I recommend only to take breakfast and dinner eventually separately; we had half board and could not choose the food. Nevertheless the food was excellent !

Room Tip: TRY to make reservation for a room with balcony; they are superb with very good beds and also a brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleendebakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you so much for commenting on your stay with us.
Half-board does induce some limitation, as it reduces the choice of our guests to a specific menu that changes every day. Having said that, we do offer an alternative under the form of our "Terroir" menu which is proposed when the day's menu is not to our half-boarders' liking. And you are right, complete freedom can be achieved by not going for half-board, and deciding to eat in whenever you feel like it. We are very easygoing on that point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Our stay at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon could not have been nicer. The view of the coastline and lighthouses from the ocean-facing rooms is spectacular. At night, you can hear the surf on the beach just below. The rooms are somewhat small, but are well-equipped, and the view more than makes up for it. The restaurant, which specializes in seafood, is excellent. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MerionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Great hotel with views on the beach. Person at the reception could have been more friendly (honestly, what does it cost???) but the hotel, restaurant and breakfast were so enjoyable that I still give a 5 stars. We had dinner there as well and boy was it a great service and great food.

Room Tip: views, on the beach, great restaurant,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiker2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We came across this place whilst exploring and I'm so glad we did. The food was amazing, the service fantastic and the views are lovely. Would recommend you book as they were very busy. Menu was varied and we all had different meals and every one of them was lovely.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you so much for your kind comments.
They come as reward to our dedication to do well.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

its a superb location. Hotel itself small, and somewhere closer to motel in status. Its clean and friendly, and continental style breakfast well laid out and plentiful.

Downsides:
Photo in Publicity shot is misleading - which is probably why its a long distance photo... No genuine balconies, apart from the top floor of 3-4 rooms actually get dedicated balconies. (2nd floor have french doors, but balcony rail is right in front of it. first floor is restaurant). Without this, you only get a window view, and not quite the luxury experience.

Wifi is free - but you will struggle to get anything but a really slow connection. (we tested it online to see speed, and its really really low when you compare to what you get at home).

Restaurant - its ok for breakfast (though price is a lot for what you get, but you pay for ease I guess). Definitely don't dine there at night, as its more like an old peoples home (lacks character and charm). More like dining at Faulty Towers but with management that have better manners.

Location: its best selling point is its location to beach. downside is that its the wrong end of town. (so, if you want nothing but beach, its great. If you also want to have a bar, visit the harbour, or have a choice of seaside restaurants and eateries, you are 10 minutes drive away).

Stayed: July 2016
Thank MPM_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This was our second trip and we loved it again. Had a balcony which had wonderful views along the beach and the swimming was great. The restaurant looks out over the beach and it serves a very good breakfast

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CEBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are already working on making your third visit as enjoyable as the two previous ones...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Very good seafood and good service in the restaurant.
Hotel facing a beautiful beach in Audierne's bay. Just a small issue: the rooms are not very soundproof. Very well positioned to do jogging on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Audierne
1.1 km away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#4 of 5 in Audierne
132 reviews
2 km away
L' Auberge du Cabestan
L' Auberge du Cabestan
#5 of 5 in Audierne
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
#4 of 10 in Douarnenez
282 reviews
13.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
#1 of 3 in Pouldreuzic
213 reviews
30.9 km away
Le Poisson d'Avril
Le Poisson d'Avril
#1 of 2 in Guilvinec
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Roi Gradlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Roi Gradlon

Address: 3 Avenue Manu Brusq, Audierne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Audierne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Audierne
Price Range: $103 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Au Roi Gradlon 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Au Roi Gradlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing