We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Au Roi Gradlon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Audierne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The location is wonderful. The beach is right outside and the view is great. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The only problem is, that there is no elevator in the hotel, so its probably not suitable for people that have difficulties with stairs. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet good. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SigurveigHj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
Au Roi Gradlon is physically unfit for a lift. Being built on the beach, its foundations follow the natural curve of the dune it sits on. Consequently, there is no vertical line between the top and the lowest floor. Fortunately, we have 3 rooms at reception level for our guests with walking difficulties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

A great find. We know the area well but had never stayed here. The rooms are impeccably clean and well appointed - OK a bit small- but we did not feel restricted on the 2 rainy days we had during our stay. Our rooms with sea view balconies (each complete with 2 deck chairs, a parasol, a table and 2 chairs) overlooking the bay of Audierne and the beach are great and give a constant changing view with the rise and fall of the tides and the activity of boats in and out of the harbour. The staff here are all very friendly and knowledgeable about the excellent meals served in the restaurant. The buffet breakfast is generous and both the seafood and other dishes served at lunch and dinner are really fresh and tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay - a mixture of many nationalities were our fellow guests which made it very congenial. The patron speaks fluent English whilst the staff have a good grasp of our language too, which is helpful for non French speakers. We love the place and have already reserved our stay for 2018!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with balcony terraces on the top floor best. Road side rooms could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you very much for your very kind comments.
Truly, our rooms with terrace are not the largest in the hotel, especially when compared to our panoramic rooms, but being able to fully enjoy the benefits of our mild seaside breeze partly compensates for the relative lack of inside space.
We are glad that you appreciated our services overall and we look forward to welcoming you again next year, as I know that arrangements have already been made for your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

the room was splendid with a big terrace with view on the beach and the ocean.
Great value for money. The restaurant was very good, but I recommend only to take breakfast and dinner eventually separately; we had half board and could not choose the food. Nevertheless the food was excellent !

Room Tip: TRY to make reservation for a room with balcony; they are superb with very good beds and also a brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleendebakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you so much for commenting on your stay with us.
Half-board does induce some limitation, as it reduces the choice of our guests to a specific menu that changes every day. Having said that, we do offer an alternative under the form of our "Terroir" menu which is proposed when the day's menu is not to our half-boarders' liking. And you are right, complete freedom can be achieved by not going for half-board, and deciding to eat in whenever you feel like it. We are very easygoing on that point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Our stay at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon could not have been nicer. The view of the coastline and lighthouses from the ocean-facing rooms is spectacular. At night, you can hear the surf on the beach just below. The rooms are somewhat small, but are well-equipped, and the view more than makes up for it. The restaurant, which specializes in seafood, is excellent. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MerionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Great hotel with views on the beach. Person at the reception could have been more friendly (honestly, what does it cost???) but the hotel, restaurant and breakfast were so enjoyable that I still give a 5 stars. We had dinner there as well and boy was it a great service and great food.

Room Tip: views, on the beach, great restaurant,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiker2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We came across this place whilst exploring and I'm so glad we did. The food was amazing, the service fantastic and the views are lovely. Would recommend you book as they were very busy. Menu was varied and we all had different meals and every one of them was lovely.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dir_RG, Gérant at Hotel Au Roi Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you so much for your kind comments.
They come as reward to our dedication to do well.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

its a superb location. Hotel itself small, and somewhere closer to motel in status. Its clean and friendly, and continental style breakfast well laid out and plentiful.

Downsides:
Photo in Publicity shot is misleading - which is probably why its a long distance photo... No genuine balconies, apart from the top floor of 3-4 rooms actually get dedicated balconies. (2nd floor have french doors, but balcony rail is right in front of it. first floor is restaurant). Without this, you only get a window view, and not quite the luxury experience.

Wifi is free - but you will struggle to get anything but a really slow connection. (we tested it online to see speed, and its really really low when you compare to what you get at home).

Restaurant - its ok for breakfast (though price is a lot for what you get, but you pay for ease I guess). Definitely don't dine there at night, as its more like an old peoples home (lacks character and charm). More like dining at Faulty Towers but with management that have better manners.

Location: its best selling point is its location to beach. downside is that its the wrong end of town. (so, if you want nothing but beach, its great. If you also want to have a bar, visit the harbour, or have a choice of seaside restaurants and eateries, you are 10 minutes drive away).

Stayed: July 2016
Thank MPM_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Audierne
1.1 km away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#4 of 5 in Audierne
132 reviews
2 km away
L' Auberge du Cabestan
L' Auberge du Cabestan
#5 of 5 in Audierne
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
#4 of 10 in Douarnenez
282 reviews
13.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
#1 of 3 in Pouldreuzic
213 reviews
30.9 km away
Le Poisson d'Avril
Le Poisson d'Avril
#1 of 2 in Guilvinec
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Roi Gradlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Roi Gradlon

Address: 3 Avenue Manu Brusq, Audierne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Audierne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Audierne
Price Range: $103 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Au Roi Gradlon 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Au Roi Gradlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing