We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique luxury that goes way beyond the usual B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esvres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Moulins de Vontes
Ranked #3 of 4 Esvres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at Les Moulins de Vontes. The accommodation is really well furnished to the highest of standards with exceptional character. Our hosts were totally charming and helpful without going over the top. They speak excellent English (they have lived in London and New York) and booked a really good Auberge for us to eat at on the first night and then provided crockery and cutlery for us to use in one of the watermill wheel houses (nicely equipped for guests to use as a lounge/reading room) for our picnic (as the temperature had dropped making the outdoors not viable). I'd recommend this premium of premium B&B's to anyone wanting a great, characterful, high quality alternative to upmarket hotels in the heart of the Loire!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Although a little difficult to locate, this picturesque B&B situated on a tiny island in the Indres River has to be one of the most stunning places I have ever stayed in. The hosts Odille and Jean-Jacques speak excellent English and our 'Lieutenant's' room on the first floor of the converted mill was exceptionally clean, beautifully furnished and spacious. The exquisite views, gurgling river, lambs, ducks and geese felt like we were staying in a scene from Wind In The Willows. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to the old mill, ask for the Lieutenants room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Almost suspended in the middle of the Indres river, the only privately owned river in France. The setting is matched by the warm and charming hosts. A magical place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TriptheLifeFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks in rural France. We had a wonderful time, but all-time best accommodation prize goes to Moulins de Vontes and the very special owners. Everything was perfect: the location is truly dreamlike, the welcoming drinks at the waterside, the Oriental room with spotless bathroom, the gracious breakfast (in the characterful main house because of the weather), but most of all their genuine hospitality. It was like parting from friends! The price is actually very reasonable for what you get, sharing a priceless experience. I truly think the negative reviews must be read in context. We cannot wait to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: they are equally positioned, one above the other in one old mill building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I recently returned from a fabulous 3-weeks in central France and our five nights at the Moulins de Vontes is now among our all-time favorite places to stay anywhere in the world. Odile and Jean-Jacques are fascinating, accomplished people, sharing their paradise with guests in a gracious, friendly and straight-forward style. They could not have been more helpful or more interesting.
We stayed in the spacious, beautifully furnished, squeaky clean, first-floor “Lieutenant’s” room with windows that look up and down the Indre River and to the other two mills. As others have noted, the soothing sounds of the flowing river and total isolation from any other sounds (but morning birds) assured us the most restful nights’ sleep we can remember. Of course, our near total exhaustion every evening also contributed to our deep sleep. The Moulins is perfectly centered for touring with Amboise and Chenonceaux each about 40 minutes to the east, Villandry and Usse about 40 minutes to the west, Loches and Montressor 30 minutes south and Tours about 40 minutes north. Etc.
The mid-April weather was chilly so Jean-Jacques built roaring fires for us on the ground floor of the center mill every evening for my wife and me to make picnic suppers from charcuterie and other treats we gathered during the day. All washed down with excellent local Vouvray, Sancerre or Bourgueil. Breakfasts of still-warm croissants and breads, homemade jams, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee were also indoors on the splendid and sunny ground floor of the largest mill where Odile and JJ live upstairs. And this paradise across the Indre River is wrapped in pristine, woodlands for as far as the eye can see. Our phones’ Google GPS brought us directly to the Moulins’ gate which otherwise may not be so easy to find. This is one of the world’s truly magical places to stay. We will not forget our first visit and we are already making plans to return.

Room Tip: Reserve early and stay as long as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We spent three nights here out of two weeks in France. From the moment of our arrival, our happy, energetic, and outgoing hosts, Jean-Jacques and Odile Degail, made us feel as though there was no wish that could not be instantly granted. Their fluency in English certainly made our lives simpler. Their restored mill complex on the Indre River is self-contained and private, a haven of quietness with room to roam and beautiful views in every direction. We were so happy there that with Odile's help, for two of the three nights we created a picnic beside the river instead of dining out.

Rooms and baths are spacious, spotlessly clean, and cross ventilated. You sleep in perfect quiet and wake to sunrise and mist rising from the river. Breakfast is plentiful and of the best quality.

Every one of our hosts' thoughtful suggestions for sightseeing was spot on. This is an excellent central location from which to go north, east, or west into the chateau and vineyard regions of the Loire Valley. We could easily have filled several more days, and we felt sad to leave -always the highest compliment for a lodging.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, one directly above the other, and there are no bad choices. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTWNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have just spent the most wonderful stay at a truly breathtaking location. We took all three rooms and was made very welcome by our host and his family at their home.

The pictures do no do this justice and immediately upon arriving there was a sense of calm and tranquility I have seldom found elsewhere and I can not wait to return very soon for a longer stay.

Great hosts, interesting warm and friendly. Relaxing, welcoming and not rushed.

Can't recommend enough.

Mike, Sue and our guests..

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichealB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Moulins de Vontes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Moulins de Vontes

Address: rue des Moulins, 37320 Esvres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Esvres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Esvres
Price Range: $135 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Les Moulins De Vontes France/Esvres, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing