We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional property and hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esvres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Moulins de Vontes
Ranked #3 of 4 Esvres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at Les Moulins de Vontes. Odile and Jean-Jacques were gracious, generous, and extremely helpful hosts. The atmosphere was romantic, tranquil, and idyllic. The Oriental Room was exquisite and I loved their gaggle of geese! We truly out-did ourselves in finding this wonderful location for our final nights in France.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had high expectations for this b&b but somehow it disappointed. It is a little hard to say why: the buildings are fabulous and the room was decorated with care (the Lieutenant's Room). The grounds and setting are tranquil and almost magical. It could have been the perfect stay, but somehow it was not.
Partly it was probably due to the fact that we expected to be able to have a picnick in the room with the open fire as mentioned in one of the other reviews. Despite mentioning this whilst making the reservation, once we were there discovered that the room in question was really no more than storage room and the open fire could not be used.

But more than that I think the strange and somehow unfriendly attitude of the owners coloured our stay. Maybe we caught them on a bad day…

At 140 euro a night incl breakfast I will not recommend this b&b, however I would not necessarily advise against it either. Such a shame as the setting is stunning.

Room Tip: Lieutenant's Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernwehalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We spent 2 nights & wish we could have stayed a little longer to make the most of this magical place. Odile & Jean-Jacques were very welcoming and made us feel "at home" on our arrival. As did the menagerie of geese waddling around the grounds.

The "Lieutenants Room" was very spacious, spotless & comfortable with windows on 3 aspects to best enjoy the beautiful scenery. The continental breakfast was delicious & plentiful. The only minor drawback is that there are no restaurants within walking distance, but there are several available a mere 10-15 min drive away & the restaurants Odile & Jean-Jacques recommended were excellent. They had great local knowledge and advice for us to enhance our visit.

If you want an away-from-it-all watery idyll, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boatbum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at Les Moulins de Vontes. The accommodation is really well furnished to the highest of standards with exceptional character. Our hosts were totally charming and helpful without going over the top. They speak excellent English (they have lived in London and New York) and booked a really good Auberge for us to eat at on the first night and then provided crockery and cutlery for us to use in one of the watermill wheel houses (nicely equipped for guests to use as a lounge/reading room) for our picnic (as the temperature had dropped making the outdoors not viable). I'd recommend this premium of premium B&B's to anyone wanting a great, characterful, high quality alternative to upmarket hotels in the heart of the Loire!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Although a little difficult to locate, this picturesque B&B situated on a tiny island in the Indres River has to be one of the most stunning places I have ever stayed in. The hosts Odille and Jean-Jacques speak excellent English and our 'Lieutenant's' room on the first floor of the converted mill was exceptionally clean, beautifully furnished and spacious. The exquisite views, gurgling river, lambs, ducks and geese felt like we were staying in a scene from Wind In The Willows. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to the old mill, ask for the Lieutenants room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Almost suspended in the middle of the Indres river, the only privately owned river in France. The setting is matched by the warm and charming hosts. A magical place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TriptheLifeFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks in rural France. We had a wonderful time, but all-time best accommodation prize goes to Moulins de Vontes and the very special owners. Everything was perfect: the location is truly dreamlike, the welcoming drinks at the waterside, the Oriental room with spotless bathroom, the gracious breakfast (in the characterful main house because of the weather), but most of all their genuine hospitality. It was like parting from friends! The price is actually very reasonable for what you get, sharing a priceless experience. I truly think the negative reviews must be read in context. We cannot wait to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: they are equally positioned, one above the other in one old mill building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Moulins de Vontes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Moulins de Vontes

Address: rue des Moulins, 37320 Esvres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Esvres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Esvres
Price Range: $135 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Les Moulins De Vontes France/Esvres, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing