We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vibeke M
Lynge

Outstanding service

Review of Hotel Engel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 27, 2024
Fantastic service, service minded staff, a clean and cozy room and restaurant with delicious food and drinks. My husband forgot his suitcase and later on the same day the hotel sent it with UPS. We will be back next time we drive down to Provence.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$97
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Hotel Engel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Hotel Engel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$114
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Hotel Engel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Schöner geräumiger Speisesaal.
  • ZenHotels.com
2.1 km from Hotel Engel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Hotel Engel
Free Wifi
Free parking
gartenterasse
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Hotel Engel
Restaurant
Bed
    1.8 km from Hotel Engel
      2.1 km from Hotel Engel
      Free parking
      Pool
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      2.4 km from Hotel Engel
      Facade/entrance
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      0.5 km from Hotel Engel
      View more hotels in Kappel-Grafenhausen
      Reviews (86)
      Filter reviews
      86 results
      Traveller rating
      47
      35
      2
      1
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      47
      35
      2
      1
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 86 reviews
      Reviewed May 22, 2019

      Hotel Engel is just perfect in all aspects for a night stay from our Europa Park visit.
      It is just around 5 km. away and about 9 mins by car. The room is pretty well clean and quiet with free bottle water.
      The Restaurant served fresh and very delicious foods in a big serving plates with super friendly staff/team. And the Prices is affordable from drinks to salads to main menu to desserts.
      Breakfast is inclusive and was all completely set-prepared very nicely. You can actually have so many coffee as you like, right at your table as it is served personally in a big white porcelain coffee pot by their warm smiling staff.
      Parking is available at the back for all hotel guests and the hotel has in 3 languages Info book in every room from Deutsch to English and French.
      A big Thanks and compliments to Frau Brunner who acknowledged and confirmed our room reservation even only by Phone. She is very accommodating as well as Frau Arenz. We are very satisfied and very happy.
      Highly recommended and we´re coming back again soon.

      Date of stay: May 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank 314Haha
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed August 6, 2017

      We stayed at this hotel 2 days. It is conveniently located 15 km from Europa-park, and it is a traditional hotel with a well served breakfast. The rooms were cosy and with a lot of space. It has a small lift for luggage, which is very convenient, and also a kids corner behind the stairs, where small kids can read, play games, and do other stuff.

      I recommend it for families that are travelling to Europa-park and have a car.

      Date of stay: July 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank mfragozo
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 27, 2017

      Engel is a nice small family owned hotel with nice rooms and a good breakfast.
      The internet is pretty well and free.
      To the hotel belongs also a restaurant with a small menu but in good quality.
      In the holiday season it is better to book some time in front because it is fully booked quite often.

      Room tip: There are single rooms (small) double rooms and family rooms available. Make sense to book a double as single also by more space.
      Date of stay: August 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank berndh342
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed October 12, 2016

      Overall we liked this hotel. Very clean and quiet room, friendly owners. Free parking. Good WiFi. Restaurant Angel is awesome, highly recommended. The only thing we didn't like is a breakfast, a very small amount of all.

      Date of stay: May 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Ira L
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed August 3, 2016

      Located close to the French border we chose this hotel for convince. Our room was not fancy but sufficiently large and clean. Excellent WIFI at 12.89 MBPS provided good video streaming on our devices. Our standard room had a small flat screen TV but no hot water pot or mini bar cold storage. As prices are not expensive you should consider an upgrade if you plan to stay longer than one night.

      The restaurant was closed on Friday night so we did not eat there but were told by several locals the food was excellent. Our breakfast reinforced this opinion with a nice German style buffet and eggs to order. Most impressive is we were personally served by this very very friendly owner wearing his white starched name embrodered uniform. He was definitely the most friendly hotel owner we met during the two month trip.

      Yes we will come back and stay here again

      Room tip: Ask for room in back overlooking parking lot or upgrade room which are good value
      Date of stay: July 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank U3678PRrichardb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews