We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of paradise”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kim C
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed September 28, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Azure Heights is just one of the most gorgeous places we have ever stayed. We arrived in the dark and what a treat we had the following morning when we saw the stunning mountain panorama which was the backdrop to the infinity pool and the village of Sfaka. The accommodation surpassed all expectations. Our first impression was that it was spotlessly clean and homely, extremely well equipped and there was a very generous "welcome pack" of food and drink. Our son and his girlfriend, who became his fiancée while we were there, joined us for the first week. He spelt out his proposal in stones and candles on the patio while we were there - such a romantic setting! Some good friends flew out for the second week. All our guests absolutely fell in love with the place.

Anne and Peter are the most fabulous hosts and whilst they live on site are not at all obtrusive, but are available to lend a guiding hand if you need one. Anne is a masseuse and can sort your aches and pains out. Peter is a gifted pianist and can play any tune you can think of (without the music). They are both very warm, caring people and they did everything they could to make our stay so memorable. Their family is completed by their three well trained and friendly rescue dogs and a very handsome cat. We have never had dogs at home, but we loved having the animals around and they certainly enhanced our time there.

By day, we spent a lot of time in the beautiful infinity pool, just bobbing around mesmerised by the majestic mountain view. By night, we loved to sit out and stargaze at the Milky Way. The outdoor living space was fantastic with three large patios all with comfortable seating, a pretty and very scenic pool area and a shady BBQ area with picnic style table. When we could tear ourselves away, we used to head down the winding road into Mochlos for lunch and a swim in the sea. Mochlos is a very pretty and unspoilt village with 5 or 6 excellent tavernas, a small supermarket and a couple of tasteful gift shops. It was so relaxing to sit and have a long lunch looking out over the turquoise sea to the little island of Mochlos. We mainly ate there in the evenings too, although there are a few other good tavernas just a short distance way. Dimitri's was our favourite place in Mochlos, but we never had a bad meal anywhere. Sometimes, we would head off for a swim at Tholos beach , about a 20 minute drive way - again very unspoilt with one good taverna ran by George who runs around like a headless chicken trying to serve everyone! We did venture a little further afield across to the south coast for a swim in the Libyan sea which was delightful. We also took our friends to Plaka, near Elounda where we visited Spinalonga Island, the former leper colony, made famous by the book "The Island". There were lots of other places to visit on our "to do" list, but we are saving them for next time.

We bade our farewell to Anne and Peter and their furry friends with a tear in our eyes, certain that this is one place we shall definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience created by the owners
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2011
What a wonderful review. We are so delighted that our guests found everything to their liking and especially the little fishing village of Mochlos with it's tavernas, quaintness and charm....and still unspoilt. We would like all our guests to want to return....that is the answer to getting it 'right' which is our priority.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisondag...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery, fantastic facilities, and genuinely friendly hosts, loved it!”
Reviewed September 9, 2011 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Azure Heights in July 2010 with our 17yr old daughter. From the moment we made contact with Annie and Pete the owners, we felt like friends. They were incredibly helpful with the booking, directions and advice about car hire. The property is about 2 hours from the airport and in a quiet part of the island but not difficult to find. The location is a quiet village in the hills/mountains over looking the valley. No words can describe the beauty of the view from the villa. A short drive will take beach lovers to a quiet resort where you can find nice bars and restaurants. There is a bar/restaurant you can walk to but the walk back is up hill, which would not suit everyone. We enjoyed many days just by the pool looking out over the valley watching the eagles soar. On the days we ventured out we found many places worth a visit and Annie and Pete were great at recommending where to go. Within 40 minutes drive you will find the larger resorts such as Agios Nikolaos which has many nice bars, shops and worth a visit, especially to the marina. On from there a visit to the Island of Spinalonga, a former leper colony, made famous by the book The Island, was possibly my favourite day trip.
Although the owners live on site, do not be put off by this. They really are lovely interesting people who will give as much attention as you want and need and leave you alone to do your own thing. We happened to get on with them well and enjoyed their company for drinks on a few evenings. We loved listening to Petes stories of his life as a musician in many locations around the world and were treated to his piano playing skills. Annie is a gifted yoga teacher and also offers massage and a range of other therapies. All of these are on offer if you want them.
The appartment/villa is equiped to a high standard and we felt very much like it was home from home. There were all the basics there on arrival including washing up liquid, cling film etc. A generous welcome pack was also waiting for us. We have had many self catering holidays and have never had so much provided.
We have recommended this holiday to friends who have also enjoyed it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and infinity pool looking at the view
Liked least: we would have liked a closer bar to walk to at night
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2011
We are delighted that the guests felt it was like 'home from home'. We hope we have struck the right chord and getting a review like this is very gratifying. It is also wonderful to get recommendations and return guests which shows that the recipe is working. The scenery and places nearby are the bonus for which we cannot take claim but consider ourselves and our guests very fortunate to be in this lovely area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool.
Liked least: We didn't like anything least it was all perfect.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2011
This review is so charming we are at a loss at how to respond. So special to hear that a teenager found so many sweet and lovely things to say about virtually everything. Although we are off the beaten track as it were, there is much here to offer all age groups which is fundamental and especially where teens are concerned, it is reassuring to parents to know that they didn't pick the wrong spot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Modiano49
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent return visit”
Reviewed July 16, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and have have come to Azure Heights for the past three years. We love the location - the rugged and mountainous eastern Crete. The property overlooks mountains and a lovely valley of olive groves, which provide miles of hiking leading down to the seaside town of Mochlos. Annie and Pete are wonderful hosts, and now dear friends. We will return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2011
We are proud to have 'return' guests as this endorses our aim....for guests to want to come back to us and this beautiful, unspoilt part of Crete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajadwhitt...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise!”
Reviewed July 3, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Warm and kind hospitality from the owners. Property outstanding along with views and pool, especially watching eagles soar overhead. Helpful advice from owners regarding local cuisine and points of interest and which beaches best to visit. Rooms very clean, spacious and linen changed every three days. Extremely well equiped kitchen. Choices of three patios all offering spectacular views to enjoy breakfast, mezzes at lunch and a glass of wine in the evening star gazing. A fantastic holiday with a mix of chilling and exploring and forming new friendships with the owners and their extended furry family whom I feel I have known all my life! We will definately be returning next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2011
We are so delighted that these particular guests enjoyed their stay as one of the two sons who came, had just written his final for his degree in Ecology.....and they were fortunate enough to capture the Griffin eagle on film and to see the magnificent eagles overhead. We sent them to uncharted territory as it were, to swim and they relished the fact that they were the only people on the beach! We look forward to their return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylbryn
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Azure Height excellent accommodation”
Reviewed June 27, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and we're welcomed enthusiastically be Annie and Pete and the 3 dogs.

The arrival pack was both practical and extensive in terms of content. Llywelyn was given a range of DVDs to watch - which he thoroughly enjoyed. The beds were so comfortable, and views from the balconies were amazing. Annie provided us with information about places to go and see and we loved the rural idyll and pace of life in Sfaka and Eastern Crete. A car is a must to sample the area, and coming back to Azure Heights at the end of the day was always a pleasure.

Annie and Pete invited us for drinks one night and Annie cooked us a lovely meal on another night. Really genuine lovely people. Will definitely visit again in the near future. Thanks for giving us such lovely memories.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2011
How really satisfying to get such warm comments. As mentioned before in response to mail from guests to TripAdvisor, we do try to be of help, without being intrusive and our main aim is for guests to want to return to this beautiful part of Crete and our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 12, 2011 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jun 2011
Our priority is to help make our guests feel 'at home'. We would like them to leave with the thought of wanting to return....sooner than later. As well as having the place to relax and unwind, the pool to dip into, there are several places of interest in the area, which can be explored at leisure....thus adding another dimension to their holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing