We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
34
16
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
16
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife great wifi ferry terminal minute walk dukes studio balcony
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 64 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and two children stayed in a little studio room at the back of Mikes residence. It was quiet and a three minute drive from the main part of town. The room itself was very basic, but we were out all day and only made breakfast there. We had no kettle or toaster so boiled water on the stove and grilled the bread! My biggest complaint was our bed. It was so hard and the pillows were like rocks. It's time for a new mattress Mike! The room was clean and Mike and his wife were very helpful. Mike would drive you anywhere to get things. He organised our car rental and also our boat trip to Santorini. These rooms are cheap so you get what you pay for. If you are not after luxury and are not planning on spending your time in the rooms then they are ok. The best thing was sitting outside of an evening and watching the sun set. Just beautiful. My children loved playing with the cats as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the front as they have their own verandah.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrie22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Australia
4174
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Rooms Mike are in a few locations but I stayed in one very close to the port at a very reasonable rate. I had a great room with a double bed, stove for making coffee, a balcony and wifi. Mike is a very friendly guy and will help with anything you need. He is easy to find. When you get off the boat, turn left and you will see his sign, He's usually sitting outside one of his rooms there.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We would like to thank Mike and his wife for being so helpful and friendly during our stay in paros.We chose the appartments just out of town as we knew the area and we were not disappointed.Quiet pretty appartment with beautiful sunsets overlooking Delphini beach.Mike and his wife were always there if we needed anything.
Thanks a lot and hope to see you next year !
Pippa Cyrille Callie and Mani

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipparobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, Pippa Cyrille Callie and Mani. we will look forward to see you again!
Mike & Fotini
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great location, you can see the rooms from the Port and you are close to everything. Supermarket, bakery, tavernas etc etc. Very warm welcome from Mike who let us check out late the following day as it wasn't busy.
We stayed in a studio which was well equipped with a lovely little balcony for enjoying a sunset drink. A little dated but clean and comfortable.
The kind of place we could have stayed for weeks when we were backpacking. Perfect for a night or two, would probably move further out of town, and closer to the beach if staying longer than a few days now that we are no longer backpackers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninjacat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike" Paros, Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2012

First, the good. Beds are comfortable, balconies are nice with drying racks for clothes. There are kitchenettes with hotplates, and good aircon. Bookshelves are filled with travelers left books and guides in English. The location is very good, close to everything and one block off the harbour. Rooms are spotlessly cleaned daily. Mike himself is very welcoming and always around. He tells you about the best things in the area, will always advise if asked and even helped us book tours and other things. He even gave us a fairly good deal on 2 smaller rooms, not just one family room which was a welcome break from the kids. You might now be wondering why I'm giving this place only 3 stars. Let me explain.

It wouldn't be a 5 simply because it doesn’t have the amenities. It’s in an alleyway with nice balconies, but you are still tucked away behind abandoned and boarded buildings. Room fixtures are dated and varied. Room 7 was the worst shower we’ve had on the trip, where hot water would unpredictably shut off completely. That same bathroom’s sink would sporadically pulse a quick gurgle of water for 10 minutes after it was shut off, which is annoying when you are trying to sleep. In contrast, room 5’s bathroom was beautiful, and the BEST shower we’ve had on the trip.

As the title indicates, there is absolutely no wireless, which for us was a big deal. We rely on it, and it’s so common through Europe we’ve stopped asking. We’ve even stayed in mountain huts in Austria with wireless! It’s everywhere but here. If you ask Mike, he’ll say no problem just use the public wireless, accessible by walking 2 blocks to the dock! Obviously this is inconvenient, made worse by the fact that it’s so weak to be almost useless. Talking to townfolk, everyone seems to know this but Mike. You can get around this by going to one of the many internet cafes but again, massively inconvenient and unnecessary in this day and age. You may think this is not a big deal if you're here to get away from it all for a short time, or are 79 years old and don't knows the interwebs. For the modern long term traveler who relies on wireless to check out restaurants, research the next location or simply to communicate back home, it was exasperating. I would have rather not had a pillow than not have wireless. Mike needs to invest in a system, and it’s inexcusable that an accommodation of his repute does not have this basic amenity.

All this would have been 4 stars (like vancity8 below me) if it were not for the fact that he decided to get workmen out to fix the building’s front door without telling anyone (well, not us anyway). For the entire stay, my kids had to walk through a messy, cluttered construction area to get into our rooms! Worse, very loud jackhammers and hammer drills started early in the morning and lasted until the afternoon. On the last day of our stay, it woke us at 8 AM! A good morning 100 decibel blast to the head. I’d understand if tourism here was year round, but it closes down in 3 weeks. How is it Mike cannot wait until guests are not inconvenienced to fix the door, which is never locked anyway? I’m sorry, but this demonstrates a lack of caring and concern for his guests that is frankly inexcusable, and certainly unacceptable.

There are a glut of good, centrally located accommodation in Parikia. Right now (September) the owners meet the ferries and clamber for your business. Many places are cheaper, yet have pools and are close to the excellent public beaches. Most importantly, if you make the effort to talk to some locals on this island, you'll find them at least as friendly as Mike. It’s for this reason we love Paros and hope to return, but it won't be here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you very much for your comment. We we get knowledge from every single review so we will be improved and of course, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
"Rooms Mike" Paros, Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews