We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveler be aware!”
Review of Rooms Mike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms Mike
Ranked #27 of 53 Parikia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I called Mike to book a quiet studio with a balcony, 3 beds, kitchen, and wifi. He sounded like what most foreigners would think was Zorba the Greek renting rooms. He assured me that he has exactly what I want and requested that I put a deposit for him on his bank account. I did. We arrived at 2am and met his son who took us to a shabby ground floor 2 bed room situation, without a window, not to mention balcony. The sheets and pillow cases were worn and had turned gray. Must have been white once..The size of the sheets was wide enough to cover a toddler, not adults. The pillows and mattresses were hard as rocks and bumpy. They hurt and had a bad smell to them. The towels were very old and seemed dirty although washed. The pot and pan were washed but burned and badly scratched. It was very noisy,since so close to the main street, while Mike had passionately insisted that the place was dead quiet. There was a neon sign that flashed a bright green light in the room all night. And no wifi. We managed to sleep for a couple of hours to be awakened by Mike and his friends smoking and loudly talking right outside our door. I complained and he moved us upstairs to a room with shared facilities. He said we would be the only ones using bathroom number 3. But, it was occupied every time I tried to use it. The first time I found a woman in it showering. She said she had moved out but came back to rinse a little bit. Early next morning we were again awakened by Mike and his wife, smoking and talking loudly in the shared kitchen. I complained and he told me I must be one of those people who are never satisfied and always find something to complain about. I explained that these rooms have nothing to do with what we had agreed on. And so he moved us again around the corner. Wifi this time! Totally outdated, noisy, rags for towels, narrow sheets, bumpy, hard as rock pillows and mattresses, and no kitchen really, just a refrigerator with a small electric cooking feature. No sink and absolutely no room except for the top of the refrigerator. Again, burned, very old pot and pan. His cleaning lady would wake us up daily to ask if we want to give her the garbage. She never in a week changed the sheets or towels. She said that was what Mike told her to do. The air condition leaked inside the room and there was always water on the floor. We walked carefully not to slip. We looked for other rooms without luck, since it was a big holiday for the Greeks, around August 15, and the island was mostly booked. We had wasted one week of our vacation being cheated and used. And so we move again. This time on our own.
We are now in one lovely, spacious studio, surrounded by garden . Outside our windows, there is an endless blue. Beautiful flowers sneak inside our room. We hear birds and the wind. We just finished one amazing spaghetti with tomatoes and basil from the garden. On the balcony there is a wooden table big enough to sit 5 people. It is quiet and lovely. Our beds and towels are soft and clean. All that with 5 euro less than Mike's. The lady who runs it is discreet, polite, generous and friendly. We know that in a couple of days we will forget this awful experience. To be cheated, lied to, and used on our vacation out of all times. Well, life goes on. Let's learn from our mistakes. Friendly does not mean honest.

Room Tip: In a Greece, make sure the host understands that you expect to find the room you booked free upon ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Labrini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment. We apologize for the ugly experience in our lodgings. We get knowledge from every review so we can improve on the needs of our visitors!
Mike Rooms - Paros Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Mike and his son are both absolutley dedicated to their guests needs. I felt like a family member being welcomed home upon arrival and pick up from the ferry. They set a gold standard for hospitality.
I stayed in the rooms closer to the port (rooms mike) in a quiet room as opposed to the ones around the block (studios mike). Location is perfect, next to shops and a short walk to the restaurant strip. The rooms are simple and basic, albeit a little dated and needing a fresh coat of paint, but justified buy the value for money. The bed sheets were a little worn. I stayed in room 3, which had a toilet and shower/sink combination which was tiny, but there is also a larger full size bathroom available for room 3 next to the kitchen. In the larger bathroom having a properly hot shower with decent water pressure was fantastic.
There is sadly no wifi in the rooms near the port, but mike immediately provided me with the details for wifi at his second accommodation around the corner (the studios) which was excellent. This was a bit inconvenient but the level of hospitality was again so great that I didn't mind.
Would defiantly stay again, but would request to stay in the studios as opposed to the normal rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again at our refreshed studios!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at mike's rooms again 2 years after the last time. Mike couldn't be more friendly and helpful. We stayed again in the rooms close to the port, which is so convenient. Nice balcony with a view of the harbour and very clean. As with all the rooms we have stayed in there seems to be a strange variety of cutlery, crockery and pots and pans, but adds to the charm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisePlymouth_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and two children stayed in a little studio room at the back of Mikes residence. It was quiet and a three minute drive from the main part of town. The room itself was very basic, but we were out all day and only made breakfast there. We had no kettle or toaster so boiled water on the stove and grilled the bread! My biggest complaint was our bed. It was so hard and the pillows were like rocks. It's time for a new mattress Mike! The room was clean and Mike and his wife were very helpful. Mike would drive you anywhere to get things. He organised our car rental and also our boat trip to Santorini. These rooms are cheap so you get what you pay for. If you are not after luxury and are not planning on spending your time in the rooms then they are ok. The best thing was sitting outside of an evening and watching the sun set. Just beautiful. My children loved playing with the cats as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the front as they have their own verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrie22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Rooms Mike are in a few locations but I stayed in one very close to the port at a very reasonable rate. I had a great room with a double bed, stove for making coffee, a balcony and wifi. Mike is a very friendly guy and will help with anything you need. He is easy to find. When you get off the boat, turn left and you will see his sign, He's usually sitting outside one of his rooms there.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank willynillyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We would like to thank Mike and his wife for being so helpful and friendly during our stay in paros.We chose the appartments just out of town as we knew the area and we were not disappointed.Quiet pretty appartment with beautiful sunsets overlooking Delphini beach.Mike and his wife were always there if we needed anything.
Thanks a lot and hope to see you next year !
Pippa Cyrille Callie and Mani

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipparobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, Pippa Cyrille Callie and Mani. we will look forward to see you again!
Mike & Fotini
"Rooms Mike"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great location, you can see the rooms from the Port and you are close to everything. Supermarket, bakery, tavernas etc etc. Very warm welcome from Mike who let us check out late the following day as it wasn't busy.
We stayed in a studio which was well equipped with a lovely little balcony for enjoying a sunset drink. A little dated but clean and comfortable.
The kind of place we could have stayed for weeks when we were backpacking. Perfect for a night or two, would probably move further out of town, and closer to the beach if staying longer than a few days now that we are no longer backpackers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninjacat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsMike, Ιδιοκτήτης at Rooms Mike, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment, we will be glad to see you again in our refurbished rooms!
Mike & Manos
"Rooms Mike" Paros, Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parikia hotels
3.1 km away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
0.9 km away
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments
0.6 km away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Siroco's Rooms and Studios
0.7 km away
Livadia Hotel
Livadia Hotel
#7 of 53 in Parikia
103 reviews
1.6 km away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#10 of 46 in Parikia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Mike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Mike

Address: | Paros Main Ferry Dock and Marina, Parikia, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Parikia
Price Range: $39 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a sun terrace, Rooms Mike is situated in Parikia, 70 metres from the Ferry Dock, 100 metres from Archaeological Museum of Paros. Church of Ekatontapyliani is 100 metres from the property. 2-3 minutes walking distance to center, stores, super Markets, bakery and Paros grocery Local market. 100 metres form bus & Taxi station, 200 metres from the Beach. Free WiFi is offered throughout the property and free private parking is available on site. There is also a kitchenette, fitted with a refrigerator, TV and A/C. There is a private bathroom with a shower in every unit and balcony with sea view of the port and Parikia bay. The nearest airport is Paros National Airport, 9 km from the property. Free transportation form the port and Airport shutle with a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rooms Mike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Mike Paros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing