We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Therasia Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Les Sables Noirs(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eros Hotel(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conti(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eolian(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Garden(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Rojas(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orsa Maggiore(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aura(Isola Vulcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveller rating
780
185
55
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
185
55
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother islandsour honeymoonil capperostunning viewslong journeywine listinfinity poolmichelin star restaurantmain restauranthalf boardpool sideregular shuttle busgin and tonichotel shuttleamazing locationwelcome drinkthe staff were incredibly friendly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at Therasia for 10 nights as part of our honeymoon having spent the first 4 nights in Taormina. We flew from Gatwick with British Airways to Catania. It was about 1 hr's drive from Taormina to the port.

We got the hydrofoil over to the island of Vulcano which takes about 45 mins. When we arrived we were picked up at the Port by the Hotel's shuttlebus. It takes about 5 mins to get to the hotel (you can walk it but be wary of the hill!). As we approached the hotel, it reminded us of Jurassic Park, it was just fanastic being in the middle of the volcanoes with the sea ahead of it. There is a electric gate at the hotel which made us feel very safe. There is volcanic rock and sand everywhere which we just loved.

When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed as the photos really do not do it justice! It was a lovely quiet oasis of calm and relaxation. The receptionist was very friendly (although not our favourite, Roberto that day!) He showed us to our room which was a deluxe double seaview. We were not disappointed at all!!! We had a beautiful double room with large terrace and perfect sea and island views. It was ideal. Again, champagne and little sweet treats awaited us so we enjoyed those. There is a minibar in the room which has very limited drinks in it. These are complimentary. No alcohol though! We were able to use it for our own drinks. There is a safe in the room, use of which is free.

The bathroom was out of this world, huge with two sinks and our window looked right out over the sea. There were lovely fluffy robes and slippers.

We were staying on a B&B basis and breakfast was of a very high standard each morning and beautifully presented. There was all of the usual suspects - cereals, breads, cheeses, hams etc and some bacon and scrabbled egg if you fancied that. You could have some fizz or wine if you wished as well.

The infinity pool is amazing. We spent a lot of time relaxing by the pool and it was lovely to sit on your sunbed and look out to sea. There is also a smaller pool beneath it with jets. There are also some more sunbathing areas heading down to the sea. You can get in to the sea via the steps but there is also a private beach which unfortunately we didn't venture to. The pool attendant Ninni was so friendly and made sure we got a good spot each day and was happy to put our umbrella up for us. You get towels from him as well. He told us when the jellyfish were out so as not to go in to the sea.

We ate in the restaurant a few times. Only one of them was open as there is supposed to be a restaurant and then a grill as well. We have to say that we did find the food overpriced, but what else would you expect from a 5* hotel?! You do get a complimentary starter from the chef each night which was nice. You could have the whole 4 course meal if you wished and there was plenty of seafood on offer along with steaks etc. We would say however watch your bill. One night I ordered the seabream from the menu which was 18 Euros. I was however charged 35 Euros being the per kg price as it was fish of the day! We had changed it in the restaurant but on checkout this had not been updated! My husband had ordered the steak one evening, but was brought a plate of cold roast beef with rocket. We sent it back as the Maitre D had even asked him how he wanted the steak done! There were two on the menu which led to confusion (as with the fish!). I was a bit annoyed that evening as whilst the staff were apologetic, there was nothing given to us to say sorry and I ate my dinner whilst my husband waited for his to cook! There is a extensive wine list to choose from. We sat outside one night and enjoyed a superb view of the sunset. It is just fantastic to watch!

We ate at the Gazebo Bar for lunch a few days as well. This was also nice with salads, toasties and seafood on offer. It also does icecream which was very tasty! The barman Giussepe was our favourite, he was good fun and makes superb cocktails!

We had a cocktail on our last night at the Faraglione Bar - 15Euros each but have to say well worth it to watch the sunset and enjoy the vast array of nibbles which were brought out to us! A lady sings and plays the piano there too so it is lovely and relaxing.

We did a trip to Stromboli and Panarea. We booked it through reception and got the boat at 1.30pm from the Port. It was a long day and we weren't back til nearly 11.30 but it was lovely to see the other islands. We also got to see Stromboil errupt which is a must!! Such an experience we will never forget!

There are a few volcanoes to climb on the Island and my husband enjoyed this. The other thing you must do is the mudbaths if you can stand the smell of sulphur. It is only really noticeable around the mudbaths area down at the Port. It's about 3 Euros for a mudbath and shower. You are only supposed to stay in for 20-25 mins and apparently the mud has skin healing properties. The smell was a bit much but at least we can say we did it!

The town, Port Levante is nice. it is quite small but there are plenty of nice boutiques and shops on offer. Most importantly, we found the supermarket. It's on the road up to the Grand Crater. There is also a pharmacy. There are a few restaurants. We tried a pizzeria one night and it was lovely except we were the only ones eating in and felt a bit odd! Our favourite restaurant was Vincenzino's which we frequented on several occasions. We can recommend the pepper steak! It was a favourite with the locals as well and the staff were so friendly. We enjoyed a few drinks at the Faraglione Bar and the Stevenson bar at the front. We loved the Stevenson as you get to enjoy their nibbles on offer for free!

The only thing we have to say that annoyed us about the hotel was the amount of kids. We have nothing against them, but Citalia do not allow kids at this hotel. We did feel that it is an exclusive resort and should be reserved for couples. There were a lot of Italian families who turned up for a few days with their kids who were very badly behaved and shattered my peace and quiet around the pool! One boy even decided to go to the toilet by the side of the smaller pool before he got in with no clothes on. I was not impressed with this and neither was my husband. The other pool attendant was not on that day and he didn't seem to be bothered to tell the family off. There is absolutely nothing for kids to do at this hotel. It is best reserved for couples with small babies or parents with teenage children.

We also enjoyed free internet use whilst at the hotel although there is no booking system for it so if it's free, go for it!! There is plenty of carparking and you can hire cars from the Port if you wish. The roads are tiny and reminded us of Guernsey.

So all in all, we had the perfect honeymoon and would definitely go back to Vulcano. We are not sure if we could afford Therasia again as it was expensive but we would love to go back one day!!

Room Tip: Book a seaview
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for a week in early June 2011 and were very happy with our stay. The hotel is very pleasing to the eye, very well kept, comfortable rooms, wonderful views, marvellous large infinity pool - often had it to ourselves - staff are polite, helpful and discreet. The buffet breakfast was very adequate but we did not have dinner in the hotel - I am a vegetarian and the menu was, for me, a bit limiting, especially at the hotel prices. In a country like Italy a vegetarian can do very well indeed in the local restaurants so we ate in Porto Levante in the evenings - perfectly reachable on foot although we often took the shuttle bus. We spent some of our time by the pool but also made a number of trips to the other islands as well as exploring Vulcano and, interesting though they were, it was always with pleasure that we returned to the peace and quiet ( in this season anyway) of the Therasia. The hotel looks out over the sea to the other Aeolian islands and I can't think of a more beautiful setting. We travelled with Citalia and all arrangements went off without a hitch.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Therasia for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon in Sicily. The Therasia is beautiful, with one of the best sunsets I have ever seen. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very nice. This is the best hotel on Vulcano, with a great pool and modern decor. Vulcano is a sleepy island so this is the perfect place to relax. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking to relax at the pool and go to the beach, bring a lot to read as there are limited activites but is a gorgeous location.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bostontraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed here with my daughter (aged 19) as part of our holiday to the Aolian Islands and Taormina. After a very disappointing stay on Lipari, we moved on to the Therasia: they were wonderful and we were finally able to relax: staff were helpful, the manager showed us round himself, the room was lovely, with a big balcony, drinks were great - very nice cocktails, alcoholic and non-alcoholic, food was excellent and breakfasts really good. Others have said they found the dinner menu very limited - it is short, but really good and it does change. We had no problems - and it was well-prepared and presented - looked and tasted good. And, if there was nothing one wanted, they suggested alternatives or amendments to the menu to accomodate that. There is also a bar / snack restaurant by the pool and in high season, 2 restaurants.
When we arrived, our agency had neglected to endure a room with a bath - not just a (very good) shower: as I have arthritis, I need a bath to soak in and this was an essential requirement requested of the agency in advance, made when we booked, but not passed on (not the only error they made). As soon as we told the reception staff, they arranged a room transfer - and we ended with a wonderful room, with sea view, balcony - and bath... And - despite this not being their mistake, they id not charge more for the superior room.
The pool - an infinity pool, was beautiful and the views from hotel and rooms was superb.
We did not use the spa, so cannot comment on this.
Vulcano does not have much nightlife - we did not go out in the evening. We did a day tour with the (at the time) only cab which we really enjoyed. There are quad bikes and cycles to hire for exploring and boats to the other islands daily, water sports etc. We took the long day trip to Stromboli, staying for sunset - well worth doing, watching the volcano there smoke and fire as darkness fell. The Vulcano volcano is also active and was smoking away too rather impressively. There are also sulphur-smelling medicinal hot mud pools on the island - look horrible, but many seem to think them excellent . The hotel has a courtesy minibus to and from the harbour. On one day, we had missed the minibus from the harbour aftrer being out exploring, but one of the hotel drivers was taknig back a party in their larger coach and ran over to us and invited us to join them - I was surprised and impressed he recognised us as we had only been there a day then, but we really appreciated it and not having to wait and it seemed to be typical of the hotel - the staff were helpful and wanted to enhance our stay. The hotel has day trips on a yacht, but the weather was not great during our stay and this was not available - would definitely do this next time.
It is not cheap - but, having stayed at other hotels for more money with far less enjoyment, I think it was worth it.
For a really relaxing break, in a beautiful place, I recommend this hotel whole-heartedly.
We loved the atmosphere of the hotel, the comfort and everything about it. We would both happily return any time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sirius-Clari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

A 4 night stay at the Therasia formed part of our 2 week holiday in Sicily. We went onto Taormina for the rest.

We loved this hotel which exceeded all our expectations. The hotel website photos do represent the reality. Our room was huge, stylish and beautifully furnished. The views are stunning. The hotel is situated away from the port/town area (as well as the sulphur fumes) and has views of the sea and other Aeolian islands. We upgraded to a deluxe double for the front sea view/terrace and it was worth every penny. The hotel looks new, is well-maintained and modern, the service from all staff we met was exemplary and the attention to detail very welcome, (ie we were offered welcome drinks and pastries awaited us in our room on arrival, the complimentary (soft drink) mini-bar and bottled water in our room were replenished daily).

All extras (ie drinks, dinner) at the hotel are charged to a room tab payable on departure. I was impressed that this was entirely itemised (which should be the case but often isn't) and accurate.

I had only 2 irritations. The first was that the second of the 2 hotel restaurants (the more casual one with a wider and more varied menu) was not open during our stay. Unfortunately, the menu of the main restaurant was very limited (the main courses did not change the 2 consecutive nights we ate there and were, with one exception, all fish). The service was excellent, wine list great and views amazing but 2 nights there was enough for me to exhaust my choices from the menu. The other restaurant should have been open for guests - this was end June/beginning July after all- indeed the hotel room information indicated that it would be open June - September. It was an issue for me because the choice of restaurants in Vulcano itself is quite limited so I would have struggled to find any variety if my stay had been for longer.

The other irritation was minor, that the sea-deck was not open. Work seemed to be going on there but again, this is summer season and it should have been ready for guests.

The hotel operates a regular shuttle bus to the main port/town area although it is easily walkable. Vulcano itself has a limited appeal certainly for the evenings but we did find a few decent enough restaurants and bars during our stay. There are regular hydrofoils/ferries to the other islands (ferries take alot longer than hydrofoils) and these are worth a visit.

A word about getting to Vulcano which might help. The buses/trains from Catania airport to the port of Milazzo (where you pick up the hydrofoil) were very limited because we travelled on a Sunday. We were going to book a private car (through Citalia) but ultimately booked a private taxi for a fixed fee via the hotel which was substantially cheaper than the Citalia car. The hydrofoil takes about 40 mins and the hotel shuttle bus will collect you on arrival in Vulcano. If you book the transfer via Citalia be aware that they can only book ferry tickets (not hydrofoil). This was a problem for us as the ferry crossing takes 1.5 hours and we would have had to wait 4.5 hours at the port for a ferry (as opposed to 20 mins for the hydrofoil) because it was a Sunday! Best to check the timetable online so you can plan (Ustica lines).The hotel arranged the transfer for us (all by email) and were great.

I will definitely return for a longer stay to this hotel. If you want some relaxation with amazing views and luxury thrown in then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews