We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful and peaceful apartment in the heart...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of IL BELVEDERE

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Exclusive Riccardo's cafe. A walk from the house
Elegant bar 'Gipas' close by
House just behind this main Cathedral
One of many beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
14Margot
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very, very disappointing”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I wouldn't advise staying in this accommodation. I have booked hundred of places over the years with cold, damp, cracked cups etc and it has never bothered me, but this was on a new level of discomfort. We booked to stay there in April. We arrived and the apartment reeked of damp like a church crypt. We put the heater on expecting it to blow away the damp. Unfortunately the wall heater did not work and the one in the bedroom had no plug. We were freezing all night as the weather was still cold and rainy. Worse than the cold was the pervasive damp. The bed was actually damp and almost soggy. The toilet paper was wet, there was water on the inside of the windows. The next morning we contacted Francesco, the local person to ring if there are problems. He came over and said he couldn't fix the heater that day but he would get someone the next day. We couldn't face another night in the cold and damp, so booked into a B&B. The engineer came to look at the heater and said there was a major problem and it couldn't be fixed. We ended up staying in the B&B all week paying another 400 euros on top of the 200 we had paid for the damp apartment. We were perfectly polite about it all, and Francesco commented that we were so to the owner.
We decided to give the owner the benefit of the doubt and rather than write a bad review or report her to Trip Advisor, we thought we would try and come to an agreement. We proposed 2/3 of the fee in a refund as we hadn't been able to sleep there for 6 of the 7 nights. For the next few weeks she either ignored our emails or agreed to a refund but did nothing. Eventually we contacted Trip Advisor and they said the could not do a refund as we had entered into direct negotiations with the owner and not them. Bad move to try and be fair to the owner. At one point the owner came up with the incredulous story that her 'manager' had paid out B&B. I pointed out how impossible this was and offered to produce the receipt made out to us. Anyway we've never received a penny back from the owner and the lesson learned is don't try and do things the nice way. As I said, I've been in some pretty basic holiday places but never as bad as this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The clod, damp and no heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
I am really sorry that you feel this way. I have to say, unfortunately, if one person out of ten is declaring the false just because is trying to get a refund, it is not really nice. It was indeed an unusual rainy and thunder storm week for Ostuni. We did all we could. Till we arrange a close hotel. It was my priority and the managing agent's intent to make the client happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat Y
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful and peaceful apartment in the heart of Ostuni old town”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Ostuni old town is a very peaceful and romantic place, full of beautiful views, stone flagged streets, plants and tiny bars and restaurants. It is also kept meticulously clean - not something that can often be said in Southern Italy! As this apartment is in the centre of the old town, and is accessed off one of the narrow winding streets, it is perhaps unsurprising that it has many of its qualities. The interior, which has recently been refitted to a high standard, combines original features with modern conveniences. There is a small balcony at the front, and a roof garden with particularly stunning view, although it was a little windy to spend much time there when we visited. We enjoyed our time at Il Belvedere immensely, and were very impressed with the helpful attitude (and perfect English!) of Francesco. As our hire car broke down, we arrived in Ostuni well after midnight and very stressed. Francesco was very sympathetic and helpful, took us to the apartment with our bags and helped get some milk for our daughter from the restaurant opposite. Full marks all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the roof garden
Liked least: Nothing major
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjw2000
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great apartment in a beautiful town!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This apartment is right in the middle of the historical part of Ostuni. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby, but it is still pretty peaceful. The view from the rooftop is amazing and you are just a short drive from the beach. Bari and Lecce are also quite near and make a nice day trip. You'll need a car to get around the area, but you can't park next to the flat. (If you have mobility issues access to the old part of Ostuni is not easy in general.) There is parking nearby, however.

The apartment itself was in good condition and clean, and Francesco who met us there was really helpful if we had any questions. We happened to have freak thunderstorms when we were there which did cause a small leak, but the owner and Francesco were apologetic and even offered us alternative accommodation. I'm sure that will be fixed after our visit.

In short, we had a great time here and were happy with the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
My dear, Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a great time. Thanks for being such good guests! Looking forward to have you again with no thunder storm!! x Graziella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
My dear, Thanks a lot for your beautiful review. The last week of July, I replaced all the outdoor furniture. I'm looking forward to see you again of course with a 10% discount. Many thanks! I wish you a beautiful end of 2013. x Graziella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No cleaning products supplied for the kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crowborough
Reviewed 18 January 2013 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: None at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapest
Reviewed 3 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2012
Katalin, you're really welcome. I'm glad you had a great holiday!! I love my guests and it's part of my Southern Italian culture to be helpful as much as possible. :)
You meant to rate the studio VICOLO 63828. Anyway, it's under the same management. No problem ;) Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing