We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
94
66
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
66
16
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 184 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We booked this hotel for 5 days. On arrival we could barely get in the room because the door stuck to the floor.The room was dark and depressing with only one small window in the bathroom. The shower was rusty, paint was peeling, and there was a smell in the bathroom. The air conditioning wasn't working. The bed covers looked old and drab. Then we went to look at the pool. It was surrounded by dead weeds (The lady said the weather had been bad but the grass had been long gone and even the weeds that at one time were growing luxuriantly were now crisp!)and very old sun lounges. The fact that there were no dinners was disappointing
Within an hour we had booked a masseria not far away for the remaining days even though we still had to pay for this place, and they had green grass.
Also Masseria L'Olive no longer has anything to do with surrounding olive trees - the lady said "we just rent the hotel".
This place needs alot of work to bring it to an acceptable level.
If you are desperate, the mattress was good and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrea i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

It was a charming experience staying in the Masseria and it is so tranquil. The pool was wonderful and the loungers were usually unoccupied. The staff were wonderful. They provided a fantastic shuttle service to nearby beaches, Ostuni city and the railway station. In the evenings, they usually provide shuttles to Ostuni. In the evenings when they do not, they either take you to a restaurant on the beach or they provide a 'typical' Apulian meal which consists of about 8 courses and is an amazing experience. The staff also recommended some great restaurants and made reservations for us. They also did nice little gestures such as providing a bocce set for my son to play with.

We stayed for 10 nights and were originally put in a small cramped room as our room was not ready and there was an issue with the drainage which meant there was an unpleasant smell for a couple of days until it was cleaned up. We were moved to a much larger room but the shower wasn't as good as the other room's and was cold on a couple of occasions. There were also issues with wifi during our stay.

The little things mentioned prevent me from giving it 5* but I would definitely return. It is so relaxing and peaceful. Domenica and her team, especially Angela, make you feel like family.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days in September. Collection from the airport was on time and Angela was on Reception to greet us and get us a beer and nibbles - very gratefully received.
Unfortunately the weather was poor during our stay so we didn't get to go to the beach but instead Angela kindly dropped us into Ostuni and collected us after a few hours.
No evening meals were available but we were dropped at a restaurant as part of our half board deal.
The outside areas are pretty and pool area lovely but the double room was very small and wifi did not work whilst we were there.
I would recommend the Masseria as it is value for money and friendly staff do 'make' a visit for me but do pay the extra for a larger room.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank enuguevander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days. The staff are very welcoming and the hotel enjoys a lovely position deep in the countryside. The public areas are pleasant and the pool area very good. There are several good beaches close by, and the hotel arranges transport to one of these regularly, and also arranges transport to and from Ostuni several evenings a week. But, and it is a big BUT, our room was a great disappointment and nothing at all like the pictures in the on-line publicity or the hotel's own brochure. The door only opened about 45 degrees which was a constant nuisance. There was very little storage and no drawers where we could store clothes - we lived out of our suitcases. The fridge did not work - I reported this but nothing was done. The shower tray had been painted (!) and was peeling. The tiny window high up in the bathroom was the only one that opened. Other rooms may be better - but ours - Camellia - should be avoided at all cost especially at the price - over 100 euros per night. Be warned also that you are required to pay the bill in cash, and that you also have to add 15 euros local tax to the bundle of cash you hand over.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trudie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2015

The Masseria is a welcoming, family-run traditional Valle d'Itria olive grove farmhouse. We had a double room with an adjoining twin and a large terrace in front. The shutters were excellent and the bed very comfortable. The lovely owners put a TV in the twin room (there was already one in the double) for our children. It was very clean and we had plenty of room. There are books and guide books in the restaurant, and wifi. When we arrived they brought us tea and cake - very welcome!

Food: Although there was no dinner service when we were there the breakfast was definitely the best we had in Puglia. As well as yoghurt, cake and fruit/fruit salad there were cornetto, croissants, several kinds of ham and salami, cheese, rolls, french toast, biscuits and boiled eggs. We had great pucce (sandwiches) at Gnam Gnam in Villanova one lunchtime, and ate dinner at the Ciccenada Fruit Bistrot, Osteria Monecelle and another place that was unbelievably great and I have completely forgotten the name of. Oops.

Location: It takes about 12 minutes to drive into Ostuni (although keep a careful note of exactly how you drove into town, there are multiple roads out that look very similar especially in the dark and we ended up in Montalbano, Villanova and even further south by accident on a number of occasions). It's about a 5 minute drive to the quiet Pilone 2 and secluded Pilone 1 beaches. It's an easy drive to Alberobello, Locoratundo, Martina Franca and Castel del Monte (head for Cortado).

Downside: It is very near the SS16 and you can hear the traffic in the courtyard during the day (although not on Sundays, which was nice). The rooms were completely silent though and the Masseria had an air of calm and quiet. The pool wasn't open when we were there.

Overall, although not glamorous the Masseria is homely and pleasant, and very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews