We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Lago(Cavriglia)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping Orlando in Chianti(Cavriglia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
B&B L'uliveto sul Chianti(Cavriglia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$450
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Hotel(Montevarchi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$90
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Valdarno(Montevarchi)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel il Viandante(Terranuova Bracciolini)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Michelangelo(Terranuova Bracciolini)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
112
80
40
11
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
80
40
11
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful placestayed for nightsaustintuscanyweddinghilltranquilitywinery
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 271 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

A most amazing place. The service is impeccable, the staff delightful and the scenery and gardens are simply stunning. The food is excellent, my favourite being the homemade croissants at breakfast. Everyone should visit this place at least once. It will touch your heart ❤️

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at Villa Barberino numerous times. With each visit it gets better. The food is excellent, especially the Panna Cotta. The setting is beautiful. The service is the best I have encountered on my travels. My compliments to the owner Tiziana who made sure we had a wonderful week.
Esterita Austin

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank esterita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Reading some of the poorer reviews, I am glad we cancelled. My tip - read every last word about this place, otherwise you find you don't get something that you thought you were going to, in our case Air Con which was a pre-requisite for our 3 year old. Our search via booking.com for 6 people in one room (air con, pool flagged as necessities) suggested Villa Barberino - pictures looked great, all was booked. Didn't feel the need to pay extra for the cancellation flexibility. Mistake. Confirm comes through - no mention of no air con in the 3 bed apartment. Happy days we love Tuscany so were all set. 3 days before departure and 4 days after the free cancellation cut-off e-mail comes through specifically stating that there is no air-con in this apartment. We tried to cancel and the hotel were having none of it, offering an alternative of 3 different rooms to split us up, or some fans!! Booking.com initially agreed with us, but they soon changed their tune (read their small print as well cos they don't care one iota either). I pointed out to the Hotel that if they'd informed me before the cut-off for cancellation that the apartment didn't have air con then that was my issue, however 4 days after the deadline was not on. The hotel lied and stated that they notified me before, even when I presented them the e-mail they ignored the facts. Despite categorically stating that we were not going to stay, I was charged - and then they had the cheek to debit my account before we were actually due to arrive! So €1300 down the drain, booking.com's view? Not our problem take it up with the hotel. So my view would be given how they treated us - find somewhere else - if you really must stay here (after all the pictures are amazing see Joao S), read every single word about the place and read every single word on your hotel search t&c's as well.

Room Tip: Thousands of other places in Tuscany
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBarberino, Direttore at Villa Barberino, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Mr Chris B,

we are sorry that you left this review without sleeping in our venue.
You reserved through Booking.com an apartment for 6 people for a week in the high season.
According our procedures, we sent you a message to inform you and remember you the check-in time, the time for breakfast and dinner.
We sent you also a summary regarding what you had reserved.
We don't consider correct the allusion you made against us, where it seems that we send the messages after the cancellation cut-off.
The messages with the information are sent some days before arrival, because it is a nonsense informing guests regarding breakfast when they reserved.
Moreover, it can happens that guests don't remeber anymore what they have reserved and which conditions, that's why the reminder.
When you reserved through Bookijng.com you acceted the conditions of it...
Villa Barberino is equipped with air conditioning, that's why it came up in your research results. If you had read carefully, you would have noted that rooms sold on Booking.com are equipped with a/c, but the apartments sold on Booking.com not.
We proposed to you some fans, and we assured you that the degrees became lower.
In addition, we gave you the opportunity to reserved at the same price an apartment for 2 people and an apartment for 4 people with a/c. These apartments are in the same building, one is on the gound floor, one in the first floor, there is only a stair between them!
We are very sorry about your review but we know that we are clear, fair and transparent.
Best regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

You can stop looking, book here! My husband and I enjoyed a magical stay at Villa Barberino. From sunrise to sunset, the grounds and rooms create a special Tuscan ambiance that takes you away. The service is warm and attentive. The meals are spectacular. The dinner menu contained several special, seasonal Tuscan dishes. Try the Ribollita and a glass of house made wine. Breakfast was also delicious. Curl up next to the fire and look out the window to the gently rolling Tuscan hills, or slowly stroll around the grounds, you'll never want to leave and be wistful, for these times when you do.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful pictures of the hotel and the rooms when you book your room, however when you arrive there you realise it's all a big big lie.
Not worth the money, not worth the travelling time!
If tou ask for a complaints book, the answer will be "we don't have one"!
If you complaint about the cleanliness of your room, you're wrong, because the room it's clean every day and "a little bit of dust it's not a problem".

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank João S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana G, Proprietario at Villa Barberino, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Mr Joao,

we are sorry that you didn't appreciate our structure.
We would like to remember you that we were very flexible with you, because you reserved on May with a prepaid rate and an invalid card. We kept the reservation even if you should have provided a valid credit card in 24 hours, instead you provided it only after 3 weeks.
We showed you 2 double superior rooms and gave you the opportunity to choose between them. Pictures' rooms are visibile on Booking.com, where you had booked.
Rooms weren't dusty, they are rented every day, especially now that it is high season.
Therefore, every day the housekeepers clean them.
We never had the complaints book, it is the first time that someone ask for it, considering that reviews are left online, as you have done now.
Best regards,
Villa Barberino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews