We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for heart and soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great for heart and soul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Very good resort located in beautiful surroundings, good food, wonderful spa with a great massage therapists, nice easy horse with a great instructor. Nice and helpful staff at the hotel. After spending a few days, you feel refreshed in body and soul. We will certainly go back to Antico di Scansano to get new forces. We highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace overlooking the lovel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweden22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    254
    61
    17
    13
See reviews for
92
368
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel as part of a cooking class that was organised by a organisation called Cooking Vacations. The hotel itself was quite okay but I am not sure what the rates are to just stay there as a normal paying guest and whether is is good value in that respect. I had a package deal which included cooking classes and meals. I was disappointed in the meals as we only could choose from a menu that really didn't change for the 6 days I was there and so the food became boring in the end. This trip worked out too be about 500.00 US per day and I really couldn't see the value. The cooking lessons ended up being a bit farsical as the chef, who was the cooking instructor wasn't there for the second 2 days of lessons. The cooking classes were way too basic and really just a waste of time. I was very disappointed. When I contacted Cooking Vacations on my return to Australia, they were unhelpful and uninterested in the problems that I encountered. I would not recommend doing any holiday arrangements with this organisation. They get you to sign all this stuff before you go which states you have to contact them from the hotel, at the time of any problems, which is not really an ideal thing to be doing, especially when you are trying to make the best of things. As for the hotel as a stand alone destination. It is in a lovely area that I hadn't travelled to before in the Maremma region of Tuscany. Depending on the actual stand alone rates it is probably a reasonable place to stay. The staff were certainly considerate and friendly. There is a day spa connected to the hotel and the rates for treatments seemed reasonable, although I didn't have any of their treatments. There is also a riding school attached to the hotel which I probably would have been interested in but the riding was only in the mornings at the same time as the cooking classes.
I would probably recommend this hotel to friends but I would definately not recommend and holiday organised by Cooking Vacations!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina di Campo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Very friendly and efficient services. Beautiful location with a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. Excellent food. We will be back. Thankyou
302CDLI

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesareditel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We spend a pleasant week in one of the apartments in Borgo degli Ulivi.
Nice view, nice staff etc

But..
- the kitchen "area" (if you can call it like that) was really small.
- the bed in the living room incomfortable - my daughter had some problem sleeping on it.
- But the worst thing were the insects.. especially near the pool (I think it was due to the horses..).
- the prices in the restaurants a little too high. Very small portions (during the day in the bar at the swimmingpool) . It's a pity beacause the food is really good

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marghe_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is an excellent place. We had a room with a balcony, looking out over the valley. It was beautiful. The restaurant was excellent as was the service. Were we to be in the area again we would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed in the apartments beside the hotel. They are lovely, clean, and very suitable for us as we have 3 children under 10. They have 2 pools and also horseriding on site which my daugher did every morning. I will definitely go back there. The village of scansano isnt great.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

Just spent 7 nights with two friends and can't say enough about the whole place and the staff. We rode horseback three days, cooked three days and used the spa. Horses were very well cared for and great to ride in the stunning countryside.Our guide, Paulo, is friendly, knowledgeable and fun. The chef Leonardo led us threw 5 kinds of homemade pastas & sauces, 5 soups and 5 desserts. It was a real adventure and then you could relax in the excellent spa. Marta, Antonio and all the rest couldn't do enough to make us happy. Food and wine great. We did not like La Cantina in town, very snooty and food not as good as not so chic La Rufrilla which has two spots and Eugene does interesting local foods. Went to all the local hill towns, a local olive oil factory and met a fellow who took us to watch him prune his trees. Fabulous people and scenery, food, wine and many wonderful memories! Would go back later in the spring for real wildflower sights and in the fall, too hot and dry in summer. Rooms and amenities were also top notch!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank blazer741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scansano
15.4 km away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
9.3 km away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
13.2 km away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
36.4 km away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
33.4 km away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano

Property: Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Address: Localita Castagneta SNC, 58054, Scansano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Scansano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embedded in a fascinating countryside and close to the old village of Maremma, you will be guest of the four star Resort Antico Casale di Scansano, which emerged from the restoration of an ancient farm, in Tuscany. In the hotel, the spa is based on the oriental ideal of harmony between body and mind. You can discover the secrets of Maremman cuisine (the resort offers also cookery course), while enjoying an unforgettable horseback riding adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antico Casale Di Scansano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing