We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveller rating
710
512
200
74
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
512
200
74
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsuperior roompiano playerpool areahotel guestscliff topbeautiful beachlovely hotelhalf boardrock formationsdirect accessbar pricesbed and breakfastvisited this hotelsuperb locationgreat facilitiesevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2018

Great position near beach with spetacular views from upper floors. Public areas and pool surround excellent. Alvor harbour and town a 20 minute walk or 5 minutes taxi ride. Plenty of good dining options in charming town.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank delfrey2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Gestor at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear Mr."delfrey2015",

Thank you so much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.
We are truly humbled by your generous compliments. 
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next trip.

Best regards,
Tiago Pais
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018

The hotel has lovely beach access and the grounds are beautiful and well kept, but the ‘delux’ room was tiny and hardly 5 Star. The garden view was overlooking the hotel entrance roof.
The bar food was of real poor quality.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Gestor at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear Mrs. "Eva J",

Thank you for choosing Pestana Alvor Praia and we appreciate that you took the time and effort to share your experience with us and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. I have shared your constructive feedback with my team as we continue to strive to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. When your travels bring you back to the Algarve, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Tiago Pais
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

We have been to Alvor many times before and decided on this trip to stay in this Hotel.
From check-in to check-out it was a lovely experience with very friendly and helpful staff.
Stunning location with ideal beach access.
Breakfasts are great with a huge choice each morning.

The charming Alvor village is a 5 minute taxi ride away.

We had a sea view room on the top floor which offer fantastic views and was a sun trap for us to sit in when our 2 year old was having his afternoon nap.

Would definitely return, but the price for the same room at the same time this year seems to have increased by roughly 50%!!

Room Tip: Top 2 floors give great ocean views, upgrade to this if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Ian M,

We truly welcome and thank you for your very descriptive feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Pestana Alvor Praia and hope to be able to welcome you again aboard and share theses moments with you by the coast of the Atlântico.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Tiago Pais
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

This was the 3rd year at the Praia , already going again July / August 2018 , wont stay any where else at the moment in the Algarve . Recommended to friends and just booked again for them again for their 3rd year . Great facilities , Garden Rooms are the best .
Great facility for Family & Friends whilst I am out cycling all day .
Do use the restaurant for Breakfast , again very good service & choice .
No doubt you do get what you pay for , there is no doubt the Praia is one of the best facilities I have stayed in and the best i have stayed in on the Algarve

Stayed: August 2017
Thank jimt1964spalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Dear jimt1964spalding,

We truly welcome and thank you for your very descriptive feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Pestana Alvor Praia and hope to be able to welcome you again aboard and share theses moments with you by the coast of the Atlântico.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Tiago Pais
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Have stayed on several occasions as a couple before but this was the first time we had been as a family of four with two young children in July 2017. Booked a costly sea view suite (families with two children or more have to book suites even though fold up beds can fit easily in other large rooms) expecting a room with proper single beds for the children. Two fold up beds had been placed next to the balcony doors and squeezed in next to the sofa in a separate room from the main bedroom. We should have checked on the type of beds before booking so fair enough. Sea view suites are on the corner of the hotel with the bedroom window having a view of the car park! Living room balcony was large with an ok sea view but also directly above the roof of the swimming pool and the vents from what looked like kitchens. However the main concern was that the balcony was unsafe for children. It had two large built in beds with a piece of Perspex on the corner section leaving a large gap between the balcony rail. If children had climbed on the beds and stood up they could have fell over. After several hours of conversations with several members of staff after travelling for about 7 hours (agreed that Monica , the guest relations manager was brilliant) we were moved to a lovely refurbished superior sea view room, with no safety issues and a spectacular view on the opposite end of the hotel. One double room but with ample room for two extra fold up beds.

Holiday was fabulous from then on. Hotel staff were more than helpful, very friendly. Lovely small kids club for the children when they wanted to go, with super friendly staff. The indoor pool is a great addition and only really gets used by the kids club for an hour in the afternoon as far as I could tell. Good equipment in the gym with towels and a fruit filled water cooler. Outdoor pool with a great view over the amazing long stretch of beach and great little restaurants on the beach. There is an advertised policy that pool beds cannot be reserved but unfortunately all beds had towels on them by 8.30am every morning. Pool bar and a gorgeous cake, bakery and ice cream shop. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of food including made to order pancakes, waffles, omelettes and eggs and the addition of a pianist on a grand piano. Quiet refurbished bar downstairs with access to the gardens and terrace. Only 5 Euro in a taxi to Alvor town where there are many lovely fish restaurants particularly Adega de Alvor. We would have loved to return this year with grandparents and my brother as well, however as we are not allowed to stay in a superior sea view room and instead have to book a suite which we had so many problems with, we will instead be trying the Pestana Alvor South Beach.

Room Tip: Superior sea view room on a high floor.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Hoffmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Dear Mr. Hoffmum,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Alvor Praia and we appreciate that you took the time and effort to share your experience with us and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. I have shared your constructive feedback with my team as we continue to strive to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. When your travels bring you back to the Algarve, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Tiago Pais
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews