We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveller rating
726
531
210
78
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
531
210
78
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view piano player superior room indoor pool hotel guests evening buffet beautiful beach lovely hotel half board rock formations the cliff bar prices visited this hotel bed and breakfast great facilities steam room buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2018

This was our 3rd visit to the Alvor Praia and it still has issues that really shouldn't be there for a relatively expensive hotel.

Firstly the bathrooms really do need a good clean and sort out, with black mould around the edge of the bath, on the tiling grouting and around the shower screen. The shower leaked past the screen and the bath waste was slow to drain.

The room air conditioning had an offensive smell which wasn't sorted despite complaining twice to reception. Luckily in our second week we didn't need the air con on.

Whilst reception staff did get maintenance to look into the air con smell and also the faulty door lock there is no acknowledgement or apology for the problem.

We were on half board and found the food to be generally good quality, but they really need to sort out the menu and improve the selection. Out of 8 dishes one night 2 were rice but with nothing else that went with rice and dishes frequently labelled or easily identified.

The sun chairs on the beach are now not controlled by the hotel, so no longer free. However at 13 Euros a day for 2 chairs and a shade are very expensive, we only paid 6 Euros in Spain earlier in the year.

The good points for the hotel remain, its stunning location, good swimming pool, clean rooms with very comfy beds and good local restaurants along the boardwalk to Alvor, good breakfasts with plenty of choice. There are plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas around the pool and decking area and pool towels are provided and can changed as often as you like.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaA3, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do take guest feedback very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve upon guest experiences. We will certainly share your feedback with the relevant heads of department to ensure maintain the highest standards are maintained at all times.
When your travels bring you back to the Algarve, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.


Best regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

I was on a group golfing holiday last week in this hotel. The room I shared was spacious, clean and comfortable. Towels were generously provided twice daily - showers were part of recovery from a long day on the golf course!
The breakfast was extensive but Maria's fresh omelettes to order were one of the best I ever had - delivered with an angelic smile irrespective of the numbers pressing for her fare. The waiters however did not have the same delivery of service and to get "boiling" water for tea was impossible. Waiter-standards were not the best and a request for any item led to some delay. The barmen in both the pool bar and the hotel bar left much to be desired. However, the reception staff were excellent and could not have been more friendly or helpful. This hotel is one the best hotels we as a group ever stayed in and we have been going to Spain and Portugal for over a decade.I would have given 5 stars but for the mixed staff attitude to clients.

Room Tip: Spectacular sea view rooms available
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank frankos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaA3, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you in Pestana Alvor Praia again, in a near future.

Kindest Regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PestanaA3, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is definitely not what we expected. We’re here to celebrate an anniversary and wanted to make this special. We paid extra for a superior room, expecting a decent view and instead we’re facing the roundabout at the front of hotel lobby area and see a parking lot of cars. We asked to switch rooms and all they did was move us down the hallway to view another row of cars. In addition to the room not being what we expected, the service was also subpar. No one was in front to greet or help with bags. We booked through Agoda.com and when we called agoda to try to cancel, they stated they couldn’t because they needed to get in touch with the hotel. When we asked the hotel to cancel, they said they couldn’t because it’s up to agoda. We’re in a loop and seriously unhappy with this place and can’t get out of our reservation. We are forced to stay here tonight until another manager comes in the morning “to see what she can do”. The receptionist said they were out of rooms with good views but we looked online and saw they were still available. It would have been fine if we were expecting a standard room at a 3.5 star hotel but we just came from Pestana Palace in Lisbon and know what a true 5-star experience is. The booking sites are very misleading and you don’t get what you think you paid for. Don’t book this place if you’re expecting luxury. And definitely don’t go through Agoda.com because they cant help you!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaA3, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We do take guest feedback very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve upon guest experiences.

The allocation of the rooms is based upon the vouchers that the hotel receives, and the room type reserved is the room allocated to the guests.

The upgrades given to guests that wish to change to a different room type, have an extra charge.The upgrades are done upon availability of the Hotel.

The Pestana has different brands within the company, Pestana Palace in Lisbon is Collection/Luxury Hotels, and Pestana Alvor Praia is Hotels and Resorts Brand.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Pestana Alvor Praia again and assure you of our team's dedication to serving our guests to the best of our abilities.

Our best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We stayed here at the end of August for a week with our friends and had a most enjoyable holiday. Although the hotel is on the outskirts of Alvor Town it is in a beautiful location and you can walk along the boardwalk into Alvor which we did every day and night. Alvor itself is a beautiful town with loads of lovely restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view - well worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaA3, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Algarve and to the Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews