We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
587
158
42
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
158
42
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin and tonic deck restaurant pool area quirky hotel on arrival sea view the breakfast area fabulous hotel on a half board basis pestana alvor the ground floor fantastic stay the hotel manager short walk fried eggs small fridge lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 813 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

My wife and I enjoyed a great week here. Nice staff but not in your face, lovely bedrooms with funky décor/furnishings - contrary to some reviews we found the beds very comfy but we do prefer a firmed bed and they are firm - but had good nights sleep each night. Had a treat (sparkling wine, marshmallows and melted chocolate) for anniversary and Chocolate cake for wife's birthday which was a nice touch. Nice un-crowded pools and great access to beach - recommended.
Only minor gripe was could not get used to the coffee (bitter) - but not an issue in scheme of things.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro C, Manager at Pestana Alvor South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Carl W,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, nothing makes us more happy than realize your satisfaction!

We hope you visit us very soon,

With my best regards,

Pedro Ramalhete de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Ideal hotel for quiet & relaxing beach holiday. Great service with good range of restaurants and cafes nearby. Will be pleased to return again during 2019. The accommodation and views of the beach and sea stunning.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro C, Manager at Pestana Alvor South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Adrian,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

We hope to see you again the following March!

With my best regards,

Pedro Ramalhete de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Such a wonderful experience, the hotel shimmers like an Art Deco ziggurat painted by Hockney. Staffed by courteous and attentive souls who cared for us beautifully from the (most welcome) gin and tonic on arrival to follow-up emails after we arrived home to try and retrieve an inexpensive souvenir that our daughter lost during her stay. The swimming pools are fabulous and the star of the show, never overcrowded and scrupulously clean. The associated seafood restaurant, just a hop away, makes planning an evening meal a simple joy if you'd prefer not to walk into Alvor town. A special mention for the manager, Pedro, who can often be seen doing the rounds and checking on the well being of guests during their stay. Hands down the best hotel in Alvor, if not the Algarve as a whole. Magical.

Room tip: All rooms are great but it's nicest to overlook the pool.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro C, Manager at Pestana Alvor South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Chrisherbert,

WOW, what a fantastic review, it makes our day to realize that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We do hope you come back soon.

With my best regards,

Pedro Ramlhete de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Spent 10 great days in this hotel at the beginning of June. Young friendly staff who endeavoured to make our stay as pleasant as possible and organised a driver to bring us on a day trip to Silves. Offered a welcome drink on arrival. Room kept clean at all times. The breakfast area was lovely - modern with bright colours. Hotel has access to beach and boardwalk. Would definitely recommend a stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro C, Manager at Pestana Alvor South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for your awesome review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope we can offer you another welcome drink soon,

With my best regards,

Pedro Ramalhete de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Pablo,Pierre and the team
Once again my husband and I had a very relaxing,peaceful and enjoyable time with yourselves.
Hotel is clean and well maintained.
We visited the adjacent sea deck restaurant this restaurant has not improved over the past two years when have visited before, and on our next visit we not not be dining there.Bruno is fantastic his English is very good as is his service skills,he is polite and well mannered.
Pablo and Pierre you were always visible making sure everything and everyone was good and having a good time without being intrusive,Thankyou for granting our request which just added to our holiday.we hope to visit again see you all soon.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kyleattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro C, Manager at Pestana Alvor South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Kyleattie,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, it makes our day to realize that you were so happy with us.

We hope that you visit us again very soon,

With my best regards,

Pedro Ramalhete de Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews