We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first night treat”
Review of Terral Gaucin

Terral Gaucin
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: LUNCH TIME: TEMPORARELY CLOSED. OPEN from 13h. SALADS, TOASTS & PORTIONS : We have a wide range of differents options to have a light lunch or just quick bites while you relax in our terrace or inside the restaurant. EVENING RESTAURANT: From 8:00. We offer a tasting menu:4 starters each and paella y dessert. 25€. Or 4 starters each and a main course of the menu and dessert. 30€. Or you can eat a la Carte: Lobster and fish cake, Smoked sardine salad, Baby beans fried, Timbale of milk lamb, Duck leg confit with orange sauce,Oxtail raviolis,Cod loin confit etc. El Lateral Restaurant is situated in the centre of the stunning pueblo blanco of Gaucin, in the Serrania de Ronda(Malaga). We specialise in Mediterranean cuisine with influences of traditional cooking from the North of Spain.The restaurant has a terrace for alfresco dinning, overlooking a pretty plaza with fountain. This is the perfect place to be to soak up the atmosphere of the village.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Gaucin with no knowledge of where to eat and found this lovely little restaurant where the staff were so friendly and we indulged in their tasting menu where we had three delightful tapas style starters followed by a delicious veal steak and a delightful pudding coffee and PX to finish.
A wonderful Spanish chardonnay eased it all down .
Our hostess added another PX to finish off a truly wonderful first night.
We enjoyed it so much we went back the next night and had the taster menu again albeit with a different main dish.
We are living in Gaucin for five weeks so will definitely be back here.

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keniata, Propietario at Terral Gaucin, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Its a pleasure for us that you enjoy our cuissine. It´s a great motivation to read reviews like yours.
Thank you very much and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

There were seven of us staying in the Gaucin area and we stopped here because another restaurant we were considering was closed. Service was excellent, ambiance fantastic, and most importantly the food was incredibly delicious! Lola was our waitress, she spoke a bit of english and was a real pleasure! Carlos, the chef, prepared wonderful meals for us all. We essentially had the place to ourselves on a tuesday night and while the price was higher than we had spent previously, it was well worth it! If you want a delightful meal at a great value, this is the place!

Thank Stay734302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keniata, Propietario at Terral Gaucin, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Tkank you so much and thanks to all your party for your nice review. A pleasure to have you in "Lateral" and that you enjoy our cuissine and ambience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

After spending some time in Gaucin, we made it to the highly recommended El Lateral and had the most amazing meal - maybe top 10 in my life. The restaurant is in a tucked away corner in the charming town of Gaucin, offering outdoor seating on a quiet plaza perfect for a night with great weather. After many meals of standard tapas, El Lateral provided excellent Spanish cuisine with sophisticated tastes. We enjoyed their watermelon gazpacho with jamon ice cream (just try it - so worth it), delicious goat cheese, some of the most flavorful and fresh paella, and fig flan to bookend the night. Besides the wonderful food and atmosphere, the friendly staff was accommodating and exceptionally kind - especially to us tourists. Would take a day trip back to Gaucin in future trips simply to enjoy this town and restaurant.

Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keniata, Gerente at Terral Gaucin, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for your comments. we are happy that you and your friens enjoy the food and the restaurant. We hope to see you again son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant whilst staying near Gaucin. It is situated in a pretty square the ambience was bustling. Four of us had 3 courses each. The lamb, the pork cheeks, and the ravioli were absolutely delicious. Service great. Wine perfect. Fantastic menu, we all ordered different things and each dish was wonderful. If we lived closer we would frequent this restaurant often. It is clear a lot of thought and attention to detail goes into the cooking here. Best meal we had all week. In a week of great food! Shame we didn't try the paella!
A must visit!

Thank jolly333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keniata, Propietario at Terral Gaucin, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy that you enjoy our menú. A pleasure to have you in our restaurant, hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Fantastic food, impeccable service. Having eaten in all the 'top' restaurants in Gaucin this summer my husband and I returned here on our final evening as we felt this is by far the best. There is an excellent choice and everything is expertly cooked and beautifully presented. The service was fauldeathetless, not rushed as we experienced in one or two places. We will be back again next year.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 19CKD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keniata, Propietario at Terral Gaucin, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terral Gaucin also viewed

Gaucin, Costa del Sol
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Terral Gaucin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing