We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what it said on the packet!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Muneca

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Terrace in April
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Terrace in April
Lounge
View from terrace towards Gibralta and Africa
Lounge
Terrace
Main Bedroom
Lounge seating area
Towards the Kitchen
Dinning Area and Kitchen
Dinning area
Dinning area looking towards the lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Bathroom
Terrace
View from the Terrace towards Gibralta and the Med in the evening light of May
Muel trains still 'clip clop' past the door of the casa
A somewhat different meaning to 'painting the house'
2nd Bedroom
El Hacho de Gaucin
A corner of the Lounge
Lounge with open fire
The setting Sun overEl Hacho de Gaucin
Looking toward the coast from the castle
Back to work - a glimpse of a different time on the lane leading to the house
A local bar - Pajuelo Bar
1st May
Running with the bulls in Gaucín on Easter Sunday
In the evening above Gaucin looking towards Africa
Coming down from the Catle
La Fructuosa restaurant Gaucín
In the early morning sunlight of February above the clouds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gaucin, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Jayne M
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what it said on the packet!”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We arrived late in Gaucin after a long flight, drive and shopping in Estepona which we knew well. Augustina could not have been more welcoming and helpful throughout our two week stay in this most comfortable very Spanish apartment. We had everything we needed and were often glad of being on one level. The owner Philip had been most prolific with information sent to us about the property and location before we arrived. However, the brand new microwave 'foxed us' for a while. Both bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. The views from the main terrace across the hills to Gibraltar were breathtaking. We walked up to the castle to wonderful views across the whole area. We were captivated by the pretty cemetery and were warmly welcomed in local shops and the computer centre. We knew the coastal area well but enjoyed driving up into the hills. Being February it was often cold but the log fire was well stocked and the apartment was always warm. We even had heated blankets on both beds which were most welcome.

We enjoyed our stay in Gaucin - showing us an inland area of Spain which proved to be most beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from this height.
Liked least: The cold offered at this height.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
264julie
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely rental in lovely village”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was our 4th stay in casa Muneca and we had a great time as expected. The apartment was comfortable and warm and we had a paricutularly sunny January. The owner Philip was helpful and easy to communicate with as was his housekeeper Agustina who looks after the rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DjordjeZi
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second stay at Casa”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Philip did everything to organise it well while Augustina did everything to comfort us. Big thanks! Weather was much bather than expected and we enjoyed sunny days at beginning of January 2015. The clear weather made it possible to se Gibraltar, Mediterranean an hills in Morocco from terrace.We arrived on New Years Eve, were here and attended carnival on Gaucin streets on 5th of January and we celebrated Orthodox Christmas Eve at casa on 6th of January. We found Casa Munecea in great shape again and he'd a nice comfortable stay. We felt very welcomed an like visiting holiday home of close friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
1 review
“A fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This little house defiantly surpassed our expectations in every way. Lovely house, extremely well furnished with everything you could wish for and with a sense of perfect ambience. Fantastic location, really fantastic; close to the centre of the village on a narrow pedestrian street. Sit on the terrace (what a view) and chill out with a glass or more of wine and gaze down over the countryside to Gibraltar then over the Med to the distant mountains of Africa; it’s impossible to believe that you can see ships moored near Gibraltar 30 or more miles away. Sit on the terrace as evening approaches and see sunsets of vivid colours and watch as the distant lights of Tangier start to twinkle in the distance. Great local facilities in Gaucin and an excellent base to visit the other lovely villages. We stayed in Gaucin for the first time and this house has absolutely guaranteed a return visit. Highly Recommended. A car is essential as you also need to get there from the airport and its ideal for visiting the villages nearby and towns like Ronda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chilling out on the terrace
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavo1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authentic, well equipped village house with amazing views - a gem”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Gaucin is a gem of a place and somewhere that it is tempting to keep to yourself...but that would not be in the true spirit of traveling. There are fantastic restaurants and some great little bars, cafes and tapas places. Walking in the area is fantastic and it is a good base for exploring southern Spain though you will need a hire car to get to Gaucin and around the area. You will also need to be pretty brave to tackle the winding mountainside roads but it is well worth it!

The house is fantastic and you can simply spend many hours on the terrace/balcony looking out at the views all the way to Africa. It is well equipped and the locally based house "manager" is very nice and easy to contact if there were any problems.

Tips - restaurant El Lateral is wonderful
- There is a restaurant/bar down a side street that has a sign outside that looks like a UK kebab shop sign. Don't let this sign put you off, inside the place is wonderful, tapas is excellent and cheap and there is a lovely courtyard to the rear.
- Gaucin's village wide wifi does not work well so do not rely on it for making arrangements you will also not get a data signal on most mobile networks though there are a couple of internet "cafes" in the village.

The owner Phillip could not have been more helpful and provided lots of useful information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DjordjeZi
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“better than expected!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I would like to thank to owner Pnilip for unforgettable pleasant stay at his casa. Everything was just as or even better than expected! I certainly hope to visit Gaucin again. Felling of staying in casa Muneca was as we were in over one home or in home of a close friend. That is what makes it so different from other rental homes and what made over stay so pleasant. Great it was really! Best regards to Augustina as she did great jobb! Will shurely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wives from the property are unforgettable
Liked least: everything was ok
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable lovely house in a wonderful location with stunning views”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

We had a fantastic fortnight in this lovely, homely casa with its spectacular views and gorgeous sunsets. We had stayed here several years ago soon after we got married and vowed to return again as there were so many things about the casa, Gaucin and this part of Andalucía that we loved then and still love now. We loved the way the casa had been modernised but still retained its immense charm and the wonderful view from the terrace still remains as jaw dropping and if that was not enough there's the awesome sight of Eagles! soaring overhead. In the evening sitting on the terrace with a glass (or two) of wine, watching the sun sink slowly over the mountain, twilight starting to fall over the Mediterranean, with the lights of Tangier starting to twinkle in the distance, it hard to imagine a more enchanting and beautiful place to be. Wished we could have stayed longer in this magical place but for sure we are going to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing