We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda La Herriza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Although this hotel is a bit difficult to get to due to the mountain roads it is well worth the trip. It has a beautiful setting with lovely grounds and a clean pool. Our room turned out to be a small villa with a cool and comfortable sitting room and a light and airy bedroom upstairs. The hotel was very quiet when we were there which for us added to the charm. We ate there once and the meal was very good but quite pricey (but we found prices everywhere had risen) Thestaff were friendly and helpful. The hotel specialises in weddings so everyone was busy getting organised for a big one the day we left, so it was a little noisy that morning. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    36
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
33
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

If you are looking for luxury and bright lights then this is not the hotel for you. We drove for over two hours from Seville to reach the Hacienda, and had to stop at a garage to ask for directions as the sign posting is very poor and the location was not recognised on our sat nav. However, we were looking for a 'get away from it all' three nights in Spain, and I can say that the mountain scenery was beautiful. Our first impression as we drove along the drive was not ideal as you access the property from the rear, and not as per the images you see online. Please could the hotel mend the broken fences around the parking areas? First impressions count! Once parked we walked through to the 'houses' you do see online, and we were booked into one of these. It was clean and I would say quite rustic, but this is reflected in the price. The welcome from the Spanish staff was excellent. Breakfast was basic and dinner was very good, honest, well portioned fare. If you are looking to get away from it all and relax by the pool, then this is for you. This is not luxury, this is rustic, but it has a charm all of its own.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countryadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We arranged an Andalusian cooking class through cookingholidayspain.com. The class included a small group demonstration by the lead chef Marco and we participated in the preperation process. A salad, Spanish tortilla, paella, and tiramasu were all prpqrd and paired with stunning Andalusian wines. The setting was beautiful, the food was great, and the company divine. I highly recommend this excursion and this location.
P.S. the drive is a little harrowing, but the result is well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

So... where do I start? We are currently on honeymoon after the most fantastic wedding held at La Herriza.

From the outset the hotel staff (David in particular) could not have been more helpful. Organising a wedding from the UK in Spain was never going to be an easy feat but David answered every email, phone call, text in his usual calm, relaxed manner. Every problem was overcome (eg. the photographer cancelling 3 weeks before the event) and every request fulfilled.

The day itself was magical. The staff worked tirelessly to make the venue look stunning. The ceremony itself was on the lawn under a beautiful tree overlooking the valley, the courtyard was transformed into a stylish dinner venue and the hotel itself housed the party.

The food was also amazing. A suckling pig roasted all day in the courtyard and provided a wonderful, relaxed meal.

And another mention to the staff... They made everyone feel so relaxed and welcome. Even at the end of the night after a 20 hour day they were still smiling and joking with the guests.

So to sum up, thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our wedding such a special day. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and, like many of the other guests, will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tww2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

A delight to arrive here after the drive through the concrete ribbon development of the Costa. The drive up to Gaucin is a pleasure and the peace and beauty of the La Herriza restorative. Enjoyed the swimming pool and the staff were helpful and welcoming. We stayed in unit in the courtyard with sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. All well equipped .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We had such a wonderful few days at your beautiful hotel, all our wedding guests are still raving about it, the area and the beauty of it all. I would like to thank you very much for the way in which the day itself went, it all went so smoothly and everything was executed to perfection. You have a wonderful team of staff. The small amount of rain only added to the entertainment of it all! Irish and UK people are never bothered by rain, we cant be as we have to put up with a lot of it!

the hotel rooms are rustic, the decor is lovely, the way the hotel is set out, is wonderful, cant wait to go back for our anniversary, truly amazing views, stunning scenery, perfect. keep up all that good work

dympna and derek, uk

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dee504019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

After a long road trip from Seville and through the pueblos blancos of andalucia we arrived at this isolated Hacienda in the middle of the sierra ronda.Finding the hotel was not an easy feat as the address is in Gaucin but actually it is more than 5 k"m past Gaucin coming from Ronda and off the "main road" with very basic signage showing the way.But when we arrived we were enchanted at this amazing hideaway.We received a "cottage" - small living area with TV lounge downstairs and 2 bedrooms upstairs.Airconditioning provided heat (necessary!) and the bathroom /shower was adequate although rather tight.The restaurant provided a chef's menu - everything we had was superb and freshly made on the spot! A 3 course dinner was 25 euro per adult and the host & chef went out of their way to make something special for our duaghter!.Classical music playing in the background,a superb wine list and mountain views from the picture window made for an enchanting evening.My wife wanted a massage for her back and the hotel obliged to book a local masajista for 10 am the next morning.Breakfast buffet was included in the extremely reasonable price of the room.
All in all despite the difficulty in finding the spot the Hacienda Herriza is well worth the effort - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
4.8 km away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
4.6 km away
La Fructuosa
La Fructuosa
#1 of 4 in Gaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
31.0 km away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
30.4 km away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
33.7 km away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Herriza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Herriza Hotel

Property: Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
Address: Crta. MA9300, km. 4.7, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Herriza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda La Herriza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing